$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of One South Franklin, One South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nuttyhiker
Business
Holland, Mi
Dec 23, 2012

Great girlfriend/shopping getaway

Perfect location for train, buses and walking while shopping downtown Chicago. Pleasant staff and very quiet rooms. Will definately stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bubsbarlow
Business
new hudson, mi.
Dec 18, 2012

Great Location near the loop. We could walk to major shopping areas.

The desk people were friendly. In the morning they helped me route out my destination for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gino's Pizzaria by the Magnificent Mile-Michigan Ave. Best deep dish pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyP
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 3, 2012

Weekend Get Away

The rooms were nice &recently updated. The beds were comfortable & the hotel was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFbde
Business
Chihuahua, Mexico
Nov 20, 2012

Good location to trip with friend

This hotel is very close to subway station. So I can go anywhere in Chicago easily. And also I saved money for rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kobrie
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 13, 2012

Great hotel and prime location!

Stayed at the La Quinta Inn for a couples weekend and the hotel did not disappoint. The room was much larger than I had anticipated and was very clean! The breakfast spread was not your typical continental breakfast. There was both hot and cold cereal, eggs, bacon, toast sausage etc. The business center was great for my boyfriend, who had to fax something into work while on vacation. And most important, the hotel was set in a prime location. A short walk to the Skydeck and Millennium park and a 5 min. taxi drive to anywhere else! My only complaint is that the gentleman who worked the nighttime duty was not very pleasant. We arrived late on a Thursday evening and he was not very kind while we checked in. I assumed maybe he was tired, but his attitude continued every evening. However, he was surprisingly more pleasant during the early mornings when other staff members were around. Other than that, it was a wonderful trip and I would stay at this hotel again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
syzw
Business
Champaign-Urbana
Nov 5, 2012

comfort place for short stay

I only stay there for a night but I found there is a great location with comfortable room. I'll definitely book the same place next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blacky7
Business
US
Oct 4, 2012

gateway

the hotel was nice and clean ; the room was very spacious, large bathroom and breakfast was included; it's close to transportation and good value for a stay in chicago; pets are allowed for no extra charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to theater district, but a bit out of the way for night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antje mein blondes Kind
Business
Belleville IL
Sep 16, 2012

Good Weekend

Very friendly staff. Rooms are clean. Location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Tower. Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Sep 12, 2012

Great downtown location.

Can't really beat the location. Just a block walk to the Loop (Washington & Wells station). That was a prime consideration for us. One of our party had never been to Chicago, so we appreciated the walkable distance to Grant and Millenium Parks, Art Institute, Michigan Ave., and trains. We were there primarily for a concert at Wrigley Field, and the red line station was just a few blocks walk. Positives include the aforementioned location, a clean room, helpful- enough staff (many of whom were very friendly and helpful when we needed directions or help getting around), very comfortable bed, nice, big, glass-walled shower, nice towels, and a really nice free breakfast. Negatives are, well, it's definitely not a luxury hotel. The king-bed room is smallish. The only toiletries are a bar of soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo (no brand I recognize). No lotion or fancy extras. Breakfast is generous and has a good selection: eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy on weekends, oatmeal, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, make-your-own waffles, juice, coffee, bagels, muffins, etc. But pay attention to the time. They serve until 9 on weekdays, and by 9:00 they've pretty much cleared it away--fast! It's very much a motel-like, serve-yourself arrangement with styrofoam plates and cups and plastic utensils. Not fancy, but a nice breakfast. That's a money-saver for those of us who would otherwise be eating out every morning. Speaking of eating out, bear in mind this is the downtown business district, not a good restaurant area. There are places to eat close by, but the best restaurants, especially for dinner are going to be outside of this area. Many of the casual restaurants close by don't stay open in the evening. But we had no problem walking several blocks or taking a train to other areas for eating out. I'd stay here again for the location and the breakfast, but kept having the feeling I was paying more luxury hotel prices and not getting much luxury. As long as you go well aware this is a La Quinta and not a fancy hotel, despite Chicago prices, you'll likely be satisfied with what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Walgreens a block away sells train passes. That can be a convenient way to bypass the bustle of trying to sort out options at the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elk1282
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2012

overall great stay

I stayed here with my family (3 adults) for 3 nights/4 days over August 2012. This hotel was perfect for us - great size room (small, but clean and not too compact), perfect location and helpful staff. the price was fair, especially for the location and value of the hotel. We walked everywhere and felt safe in the neighborhood at night. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the Chicago area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top