$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

JW Marriott Chicago

4 stars
151 West Adams Street, 151 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
22 reviews
Great Hotel

Great location, nice room, comfy bed, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff - more or less all I... See full review

  • Bourbon DIngo
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great stay!

My son and I stayed for the weekend for a college visit. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a 5... See full review

  • College Tours Galore
  • Jul 14, 2014
A crackling lobby fireplace warms the space during the winter months at the JW Marriott Chicago, while dome-ceilinged ballrooms cast a glow over special events and business occasions. Designed by renowned architect Daniel Burnham, this 12-story hotel seamlessly blends elegance with comfort, from the rejuvenating spa and wellness center - VALEO - to the top-notch room accommodations. Treat yourself to innovative, seasonal Italian fare at The Florentine, or enjoy a late-night Chicago cocktail at the bustling Lobby Lounge. Swim a few laps in the indoor pool, or take it easy inside the relaxing whirlpool. Since undergoing a recent, comprehensive $396 million renovation, the JW Marriott Chicago is a fully modernized knockout.
Key facts
  • 581 guestrooms
  • 29 suites
  • 12 floors
  • Gym
  • Pool
  • Gift shop
  • Coffee shop
  • Restaurants: The Florentine and The Lobby Lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Concierge
Neighborhood
The JW Marriott Chicago is located at LaSalle and Adams, so it's right in the heart of the city's Loop District. When you stay here, you're just a short walk from the Willis Tower - formerly called the Sears Tower - and currently the second-tallest building in the United States. Have a picnic in nearby Millennium Park and catch a summer concert, or shop and dine at Water Tower Place, just a short cab ride away.
Hints and tips
All guest rooms are equipped with mini-bar fridges.

Visitors can also pay a little extra to kick start their day with either a continental or full American breakfast, with all the trimmings.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6324
Area served
Magnificent Mile
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 11.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.3 mi

Dining

The Florentine
Characterized by simplicity and paramount ingredients, the menu features seasonal Italian cuisine from Executive Chef Chris Macchia and includes an extensive antipasti selection, handmade pastas, wood-fired pizzas and other seasonal dishes.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby lounge at the JW Marriott Chicago offers a more casual experience, catering to hotel guests as well as financial district business clientele. Enjoy a selection of $5 appetizers and cocktails Monday - Friday from 5-7 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Chicago

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bourbon DIngo
Business
Sydney
Jul 14, 2014

Great Hotel

Great location, nice room, comfy bed, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff - more or less all I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Tours Galore
Business
Montclair NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Great stay!

My son and I stayed for the weekend for a college visit. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a 5 min walk from the Art Institute and Grant and Millenium Parks. Public transportation is nearby and even in a torrential downpour the Marriott staff did a great job of hailing cabs for a big crowd. There are also great restaurants within 10 min walk. The Florentine inside the Marriott is wonderful for breakfast (only meal we ate there). The lobby and common areas of the hotel are all lovely. Our room was beautifully appointed, spacious and had a large bathroom with double sinks, separate tub and shower. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful, including checking us in earlier than 3pm. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out free concerts in Millennium Park all summer long: gpmf.org

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Careful Consummer
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Had a great 4th of July stay

We had a family trip to downtown Chicago on 4th of July. Very close to Union Station and walking distance to Millennium Park and other stores. Very comfortable beds and blankets. Clean and modern bathroom was great. Pool had clean water and nice running machines. Would highly recommend any traveler to downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago's traditional thick pizza store, Giordano's and Willis Tower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jetjr
Business
round lake, Illinois
May 27, 2014

great stay!

Lobby was very nice when i first walked in. Staff very friendly. The room was great. Bathroom was nice and big. Their was a bathtub and a standing shower. I thought the room was gonna be alittle bigger but still a very enjoyable stay. The pool and hot tub were great. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abcdefghijklmnopqrstu
Business
Illinois
Apr 28, 2014

Convenient for Lyric Opera House

I was disappointed when they automatically put me and my wife into a room with 2 double beds. My reservation requested a king, if available. When I called the front desk, they said they did have a king room that they could move us to. The room was nice except for a stain on the duvet. In this day and age, and at the price they charge, you would think that internet would be an included amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

An easy walk to the Lyric Opera House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abhi11
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Feb 17, 2014

Average hotel at best, disappointing staff

One of the worst JWs I have stayed at, even the W across the street is much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessie0312
Business
La jolla
Jan 21, 2014

Love it

This hotel is very clean! But the location is not very good because it spends ten minutes to go to water tower area. I book a room with limited view and a room with nice outside view. But unfortunately I did not find any different between them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melony D
Business
Chesterton, Indiana
Dec 1, 2013

Weekend getaway

We arrived to hotel with very pleasant valet service. Staff very courteous. Hotel beautiful and very clean. Nice fitness area and pool! Only complaint is the beds and pillows were so hard and uncomfortable that I wasn't able to sleep and my husband was very sore. I would recommend this hotel to those who don't mind that or in future I would check to see if there are different beds available. We also requested an extra bed thru reservation and it wasn't in room. I did not follow up after check in; perhaps they may have been able to accommodate the request. I would have preferred to be located a bit further north.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penguin Joe
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Sep 3, 2013

friendly staff

Great staff, great location, great stay! Close to sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of value dining within two blocks, if you need a quick and cheap alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan's Bucket List
Business
Chicago
Aug 27, 2013

Family weekend getaway

Wonderful! The staff was very helpful and friendly. We used room serves one night and we where amazed on how fast and delicious our meal was. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for all to see and do within the city. Easy access to the buses and trains. Taxis where always available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top