$181 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
233 reviews
Holiday Visit to Chicago

My husband and I stay at Hotel Intercontinental every Christmas when we visit Chicago. It's one of... See full review

  • Karen K.
  • Jul 7, 2015
Weekend Getaway

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect for my shopping getaway!... See full review

  • Nancy M.
  • May 15, 2015
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.
General
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, Chicago
Location

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Dining
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Rooms
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Highlights
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Policies
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baltimorean
Business
Baltimore
Mar 26, 2014

Bad soundproofing for high nightly rate

The room had two inter-room doors thats allows the room to be converted to a suite if needed. Unfortunately, these inter-room doors are not sound proof, I could hear every word of the guests staying in the adjacent rooms: "hold on, let me put my shirt" and "quit yelling at me," etc. At this nighlty rate, you shouldn't have to hear this at 1 or 2 in the morning. All amenities (internet, gym, etc.) are priced a la carte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Business
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akki
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

shabby

The furniture in the room is warn out and falling apart.I couldn't even sell it at a garage sale. Also was not told pool has been closed for months. Definitely won't go back. Raises serious questions about the brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city, MO
Dec 5, 2009

to small for four people

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 22, 2011

Run the other direction

I broke my foot the first morning of my vacation giving me plenty of time to sit in the hotel. The room was small and very cramped. The walls were so thin I could hear EVERYTHING the couple next door said and did. The food from room service was horribly overpriced with mediocre flavors. This was a one star experience at a four star price. Too many great hotels in Chicago to waste your money on this one, great location doesn't make up for this hot mess!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna V.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Stay elsewhere

This hotel does not even compare to other 4-5 star hotels in the area. We were first put into the grand tower and the room smelled very musty and it was very small. We called to see if there was a room with a separate tub/shower as I specifically called them after booking, they assured me their was. Needless to say we were lied to. We asked for a different room and had to pay $50 to upgrade to a room in the historic tower, which was larger but nothing to write home about. The shower was tiny, the tub something you find in your average apartment. Not to mention the walls are paper thin and we could hear a party happening either next to or above us. In addition to the overpriced room we paid $65 to park for one day and if you want wifi you have to pay extra. Bottom line, I've vacationed at many 4-5 star hotels, including others here in Chicago and I'd never stay here again, for the same price you can get much more elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here, stay at The Conrad

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara B.
Business
Arlington
Feb 18, 2015

Terrible Service

I booked the hotel from Thursday through Sunday, and unfortunately had a family emergency (notified Thursday night) and had to leave Friday morning. The hotel refused to refund my money for the Friday and Saturday nights I would not be there. In addition, they provided me a customer service number that was no longer in service! I will absolutely never stay with this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMHCB53
Business
Minneapolis mn
Feb 23, 2014

Disappointed

Have stayed at intercontinental hotels across the world and this by far was the most disappointing I was traveling with a child and arrived at 2...they didn't have our room ready until 5. The pool was deep and a lap pool so not ideal for kids. They charged $12 for the fitness center!?! Crazy! And they still charge for the Internet...get with the times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deathinvenice
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2013

mattresses date from WWII

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and an elegant exterior. The comfort of your room is another matter. The mattresses is our room were probably cheap to begin with and had not been changed for ages. You and your partner will find yourself rolling into the middle. The plumbing is also ancient. You can't get a steady temperature out the shower, so you'd better plan on taking a bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine bar downstairs is excellent.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Jul 6, 2008

not what you would expect

The Chicago InterContinental was a big disappointment. From the staff to the room this hotel is not what you expect from an InterContintal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top