$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
231 reviews
Sports get away weekend

We did not have the time we would have liked to enjoy the amenities. But it was a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Da Bears fan in NY
  • Sep 8, 2014
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue's architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago's incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timmm
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Place with Great Location

This Hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. The room was a little small. We would have liked it to be a little bigger but the location was perfect and the staff was excellent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gejas Cafe is a short taxi ride and is an awesome place for a date night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam777
Honolulu, HI, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Wife loved it

My wife loved the location on Magnificent Mile and the clean, well appointed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig across the street is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jughead74
Detroit, MI, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Definitely would do it again!!!!!

The InterContinental was located within walking distance of all the things we want to see or go to. Room was nice, staff was courteous, view was great. St. Patty's Day was a BLAST!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Plaza Mall, which has 8 floors to it, is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Mar 19, 2012

Great for St. Patricks Day

Didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we were always out. Was impressed with quick check in and check out. Room was very clean and room service was great. We were charged for taking two pops out of the refrigerator and we did not take anything. Awesome computer in room that helps you find anywhere from dining to attractions. Staff was very helpful. Was not impressed with connected restaurant Michael Jordan Bar. It didn't really seem that fancy, but it was a very very upscale restaurant. Ended up leaving there because we weren't aware of how high priced it is. I can't review on the food or drink, but definitely stay away from there if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avid Shopper
Raleigh, NC, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Awesome location!

idea for Michigan Av shopping. Close to restaurants and other attractions (Water Tower & Hancock).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akki
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

shabby

The furniture in the room is warn out and falling apart.I couldn't even sell it at a garage sale. Also was not told pool has been closed for months. Definitely won't go back. Raises serious questions about the brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bean780
Cleveland, OH, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Excellent Staff

The concierge and the front desk attendant were extremely nice and helpful. We arrived at 10:30 A.M. and were able to check in and get our room that early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia- Michelin star restaurant that isn't astronomically priced to eat at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jssk
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Perfect location for a fabulous weekend getaway. Arrived early and the room was ready. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and had a pretty view of lake Michigan. Walking distance to shopping, the park, great restaurants and night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satchmo
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jan 21, 2012

Expensive parking

Good value at this hotel, but parking is $57 per night, so figure that in to the equation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search