$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
235 reviews
Sports get away weekend

We did not have the time we would have liked to enjoy the amenities. But it was a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Da Bears fan in NY
  • Sep 8, 2014
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue's architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago's incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baltimorean
Business
Baltimore
Mar 26, 2014

Bad soundproofing for high nightly rate

The room had two inter-room doors thats allows the room to be converted to a suite if needed. Unfortunately, these inter-room doors are not sound proof, I could hear every word of the guests staying in the adjacent rooms: "hold on, let me put my shirt" and "quit yelling at me," etc. At this nighlty rate, you shouldn't have to hear this at 1 or 2 in the morning. All amenities (internet, gym, etc.) are priced a la carte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cubbies Fans
Business
Sanford, North Carolina
Aug 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, not traveler friendly

I was very upset with this hotel. I booked our trip months ago, and when we arrived for checkin on Monday afternoon we were sent to another hotel stating that there was a problem at the inter continental and that some of the rooms were messed up and they were full. they gave us $15.00 for a taxi ride over to the Sheraton and back to stay the night and pack up again and come back tomorrow. My room was already paid for at the Inter Continental for 3 nights. My husband and I were very upset. They tried to make it up to us by leaving an apology letter along with 3 apples and some water. Woo Hoo!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Business
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akki
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

shabby

The furniture in the room is warn out and falling apart.I couldn't even sell it at a garage sale. Also was not told pool has been closed for months. Definitely won't go back. Raises serious questions about the brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city, MO
Dec 5, 2009

to small for four people

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 22, 2011

Run the other direction

I broke my foot the first morning of my vacation giving me plenty of time to sit in the hotel. The room was small and very cramped. The walls were so thin I could hear EVERYTHING the couple next door said and did. The food from room service was horribly overpriced with mediocre flavors. This was a one star experience at a four star price. Too many great hotels in Chicago to waste your money on this one, great location doesn't make up for this hot mess!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMHCB53
Business
Minneapolis mn
Feb 23, 2014

Disappointed

Have stayed at intercontinental hotels across the world and this by far was the most disappointing I was traveling with a child and arrived at 2...they didn't have our room ready until 5. The pool was deep and a lap pool so not ideal for kids. They charged $12 for the fitness center!?! Crazy! And they still charge for the Internet...get with the times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deathinvenice
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2013

mattresses date from WWII

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and an elegant exterior. The comfort of your room is another matter. The mattresses is our room were probably cheap to begin with and had not been changed for ages. You and your partner will find yourself rolling into the middle. The plumbing is also ancient. You can't get a steady temperature out the shower, so you'd better plan on taking a bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine bar downstairs is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Jul 6, 2008

not what you would expect

The Chicago InterContinental was a big disappointment. From the staff to the room this hotel is not what you expect from an InterContintal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
May 30, 2011

Great location, not so great hotel

We were in Chicago for a two-night weekend stay to shop, dine and sightsee. While the room was o.k., it was on the smaller side. The most annoying aspect of this hotel is that everything is an extra charge -- wireless internet, the gym, etc. And parking was an astonishing $55/night. The hotel also had no lobby to speak of. The 5 or six chairs in the lobby were always occupied, and the lobby had the feel of a high-volume group tourist hotel. I would not stay here again. For the money, I'm sure I can find a better experience elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig, a wine and charcuterie restaurant across the street, was terrific.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top