$217 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 NORTH MICHIGAN AVE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
339 reviews
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great, price, comfy bed

I stayed at the Inter Continental because it was on the Mile. I was worried it would be loud but it... See full review

  • Butterfly311
  • Apr 29, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI; Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Feb 1, 2013

Great Vacation

This was an excellent choice for a hotel to stay at downtown. Went over St. Patricks day and it was the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bean780
Cleveland, OH, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Excellent Staff

The concierge and the front desk attendant were extremely nice and helpful. We arrived at 10:30 A.M. and were able to check in and get our room that early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia- Michelin star restaurant that isn't astronomically priced to eat at.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jssk
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Perfect location for a fabulous weekend getaway. Arrived early and the room was ready. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and had a pretty view of lake Michigan. Walking distance to shopping, the park, great restaurants and night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satchmo
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jan 21, 2012

Expensive parking

Good value at this hotel, but parking is $57 per night, so figure that in to the equation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KrissyWy
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Honeymoon Getaway

My new husband and I decided we wanted to take a quick trip to Chicago for a night while we were on a vacation from work after our wedding on 12/31. I have always wanted to stay at the Intercontinental, and seen a great price, so we took it and left the next day for Chicago. Upon arrival, I asked the clerk if they had any upgrades, as we were on our honeymoon. She accommodated us amazingly, as we got up to our room in the historical tower and it ended up being a suite. It was gorgeous with a great view. We couldn't have been happier! We then had champagne, chocolate & strawberries delivered to our room compliments of the staff for our wedding. We also received free champagne in the bar, just because we mentioned that we had recently gotten married. I will always stay at the Intercontinental from now on when we choose to stay in Chicago. Very very nice, perfect staff and amazing location. 5+ stars all the way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA City Girl
SF
Jan 10, 2012

Sweet deal, lots of ++++

Good location, super friendly staff, & comfy bed, although the linens weren't anything special. The room was plenty spacious with a great view of the city. There was a touch screen concierge in the room, which was cool and Michael Jordans Chophouse was delicious. The 2 most disappointing things were the single ply TP. Come on seriously, a 4 star hotel scrimps on TP? And hearing the neighbors. We were staying over the NYE holiday, so maybe the people staying in the corner suite were just excited. But we heard what we thought was normal conversations. It didn't ruin the experience, I'm sure we had our lively moments too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The garlic bread with blue cheese @ Michael Jordan was a fabulous indulgene. The dessert menu had some unusual tasty treats too. Our big night out was at Naha, an amazing menu. If I lived in Chicago I'd frequent often! The staff was warm & so not pretensions.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaedw01
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Holiday Weekend Getaway

Great - upscale with a personal touch. Very nice warm atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MISMO
México
Jan 3, 2012

Excelent!

We had a very good time at the hotel because is just in a perfect Location of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHICAGO CHOP HOUSE

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly C
Crown Point, IN, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Be aware the pool is closed!

Everyone at the hotel was very nice, but that did not make up for the fact that the pool was closed and we were not notified ahead of time! The pictures of a gorgeous pool were one of the main reasons I chose this hotel, and apparently, it has been closed for some time. Other than that disappointment (and their failure to offer much compensation for that problem), I enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The lobby is very pretty. The staff was great. If the pool opens again (which they say may be in February), I would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary M
Western Springs, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Pool closed

I have the impression that the Intercontinental has everything to be a great hotel, but that we were given 2nd class service. First of all, our room was located near the service elevator all the way in the back. Why? Also, the closet door was broken. Why give us that room? Lastly, when we arrived, we were informed that the magnificent pool was closed until further notice. I would recommend staying at any of the other nice hotels on Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top