$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First trip to Chicago
Cleveland, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Great First Trip to Chicago

Hotel was in an excellent location for access to downtown Chicago. The room was a good size with large bathrooms. Hotel was very clean. Definitely cheaper places to stay in the same area, but for the quality of the hotel, not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Business
Manilla, Iowa
Dec 3, 2012

Great Room

I couldn't have been happier with this room!. It had an awesome view and the ammentities were great. The staff was also wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runci
Business
Kent, Ohio
Nov 26, 2012

good for lover to go and shopping trip

I'm so satisfied with the location, which's great. The bus stop is jusr right to the gate of the hotel and a starbucks located just next to the hotel. The hotel itself is a historical site, amazing arcitechture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Barneys New York

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwinn412
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental

All in all this was a lovely place to stay because of the terrific location on Michigan Avenue. However, just because it is a historic building I don't think it should look run down. It definitely needs some updating. The carpet in my room looked filthy and they had no slippers in the room so I had to keep my socks on. The carpets and walls in the hallways looked old and in need of some updating. My room was small but I did have a lovely view of the Wrigley Building which I enjoyed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the sightseeing trolley right in front of the Tribune Building which is next to the Intercontinental.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taylorres
Business
Saraland, Alabama
Nov 25, 2012

Family getaway

Positives: The hotel employees went out of their way to make us feel right at home. My younger daughter found a hole in a dress and in a jacket, that she had brought to wear to a Broadway play. The hotel concierge had the dress and jacket mended at no charge and got in done within an hour on the day before Thanksgiving! /The concierge arranged for a large group of us to eat at the local Cheesecake Factory without a wait. We found out that the concierge could often make a call, and with a business card from the concierge, many of the restaurants would give us priority seating. Housekeeping sent us extra linens and a roll-a-way bed within minutes of our requests. The dine-in service was awesome. The hamburger from the Michael Jordan restaurant was AMAZING! Our older daughter said it was the best burger she had ever eaten. Our deluxe room in the older part of the hotel looked and smelled brand new and was much larger than the rooms in the newer part of the hotel (where our daughter stayed with her kids). Downsides: Free Internet in the room would have been nice, but I was able to access the Internet for free in the lobby downstairs, so I honestly cannot complain. The room was rather warm even thought we turned the AC all the way down to 65 degrees. It also took us a few nights to get accustomed to the frequent sirens on the street from the local fire station. (A humming air purifier unit or noise machine could help with that situation.) Otherwise, I can only rate this hotel as the best of the best. It's the best hotel we have ever stayed at, and I loved the fact that people were able to stay with their pets! Visiting with the dogs in the lobby was always a plus for us :)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to Ginos. Their pizza was cold. Giordanos and Unos had much, much better pizza. A 30 minute ride to Hot Doug's for a Chicago-style hot dog or to Fifty-50 for a 4 courser sandwich iswell worth the distance. Use the CTA public transportation system. We were able to travel all over Chicago for little money, and you can call their 1-800 number to get specific instructions on how to get from one place to another. The people we met on the bus or on the L were more than helpful and kind-hearted. There are many things to do for FREE in Chicago. I would highly recommend a meeting with a Chicago Greeter. They are volunteers who will take you around town and brief you about most all of the history. The best part is that the Chicago Greeter is a FREE service. I was more than impressed with the all the places that our Greeter took us to visit. We would have never experienced all that we were able to experience without the Greeter's inside tips. She spent almost 3 hours with us and showed us many of the cities most beautiful attributes - many of which are overlooked by the uninformed tourist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaygeeh
Business
Newport News, VA
Nov 23, 2012

Best Location

The hotel was close to everything that we wanted to go to. The only thing that irritated us was that we had to pay for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conference traveler 2
Business
New York
Nov 19, 2012

great

really comfortable, really clean, overall great stay; all the basics in the room (coffee maker, blowdryer), comfortable bed; lots of restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNYBOY55
Business
CHICAGO
Nov 5, 2012

Great Location, Classy Place, but.....

Everything was perfect but a couple times when we came back to the room...it smelled.....we opened the window and it went away quickly but there must've been some problem with the vent or the toilet because we'd smell it right when we opened the door then it would go away quickly. Otherwise the place was outstanding! It didn't bother us just an odd quirk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is on this block except a convenient store although there are a few nearby Walgreens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Husker Fan
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 22, 2012

Great Hotel!

The only thing that was irritating - a BUSY weekend and only one concierge to answer guest questions. I found myself standing in line for what seemed to be forever to answer a very simple question. Other than that - very pleased with everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanaW
Business
Gallatin, tn
Sep 18, 2012

Weekend getaway

Had a great time. Hotel location is great. Close to all the major shopping on Michigan avenue and also close enough to open air buses if you wish or close enough to walk to all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amamam
Business
New York
Sep 9, 2012

good hotel but .....

great location, great service, very clean. they charge 14.95 a night for internet which is ridicules , and they make hotel guests pay 12 $ for the gym . very much ridicules ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

michael jordan steakhouse. Tomahouk stake

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top