$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First trip to Chicago
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Great First Trip to Chicago

Hotel was in an excellent location for access to downtown Chicago. The room was a good size with large bathrooms. Hotel was very clean. Definitely cheaper places to stay in the same area, but for the quality of the hotel, not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deathinvenice
Family
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2013

mattresses date from WWII

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and an elegant exterior. The comfort of your room is another matter. The mattresses is our room were probably cheap to begin with and had not been changed for ages. You and your partner will find yourself rolling into the middle. The plumbing is also ancient. You can't get a steady temperature out the shower, so you'd better plan on taking a bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine bar downstairs is excellent.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magsar
Family
ky
Jan 2, 2013

Magnificent!

Great location for shopping. Easy check in and check out. Pretty quiet for as busy as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giodarnos pizza,awesome but call ahead to order

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeckBeckkk
Friends
Houston, TX
Dec 25, 2012

Eh...

Great customer service. Housekeeping came everyday and politely asked what we needed. The day manager, Brisceieda I think her name was, was exceptionally nice and professional. Since we were transferred rooms due to the broken door lock we had, we needed to go back to our original room since we had forgotten something in it. Brisceieda helped with all of this and called engineering for assistant and made sure she was with us the whole way since they needed to fix the door for us to get in. She was patient about all of this and made sure we were satisfied with everything. Wifi was my BIGGEST problem. What kind of four star hotel doesn't provide free wifi? That is literally the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Even motels have free wifi. Me and my two other guests were even considering transferring to a motel for the wifi but couldn't since we paid for the hotel months in advance. During my stay here, I always had to run down to the lobby to us Starbucks' free wifi or Michael Jordan's Restaurant free wifi. We would also sometimes just walk to other hotels for their free wifi and would sit in their lobby for hours. That's just absolutely pathetic on the hotel's part, in my opinion. A sensored based bar. Seriously? Also another issue. Charges are held for removing any of their bottles and snacks for over 30 seconds. However, the paper that evens warns guests that was behind all of the bottles, so it was hard to miss. Like any other person, I picked them all up out of curiosity. I've paid for cheaper hotel rooms and received way bigger rooms than this hotel. If I had known how small the standard room was going to be, I would've never came here. It was seriously the size of Holiday Inn. I probably should've just stayed at a Holiday Inn. Rooms weren't much different from cheaper hotels anyway. Didn't provide any extra umpgh to make this stay worth it. Hotel was located in the middle of everything. Shopping centers, restaurants, parks, etc. a huge advantage. In the end, not worth it. I'm only giving it three stars due to exceptional staff. But then again, you would receive just as good of customer service as you would at any other cheaper hotel. I would definitely not stay here again on my next visit to Chicago due to the lack of FREE wifi and tiny room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
704TechGeek
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 20, 2012

It was Pretty Good

Pros- 1. Location is in the heart of the city and next to beautiful buildings 2. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful 3. Room was superior. Hence the Superior King Suite 4. Michael Jordan restaurant downstairs Cons - 1. A-La-Carter everything including internet 2. No self park - Valet is 24-Hr/ $57/night or Non Company self park $33/Night - Choose your Poison All in all the stay was good. The room was in perfect condition and had an incredible set up. Staff was great and very friendly. It was my first time in Chicago and I picked this location in a rush. Would have done more research and probably ended somewhere else. I am a simple guy that enjoys Free Continental Breakfast, parking that is free or within a decent number and not per night. IMHO it varies with every location that you are in. II'm not knocking the hotel by all means it was fantastic. I enjoyed my stay and everything was Above Par(I paid for it it better have been)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runci
Friends
Kent, Ohio
Nov 26, 2012

good for lover to go and shopping trip

I'm so satisfied with the location, which's great. The bus stop is jusr right to the gate of the hotel and a starbucks located just next to the hotel. The hotel itself is a historical site, amazing arcitechture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Barneys New York

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwinn412
Single
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental

All in all this was a lovely place to stay because of the terrific location on Michigan Avenue. However, just because it is a historic building I don't think it should look run down. It definitely needs some updating. The carpet in my room looked filthy and they had no slippers in the room so I had to keep my socks on. The carpets and walls in the hallways looked old and in need of some updating. My room was small but I did have a lovely view of the Wrigley Building which I enjoyed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the sightseeing trolley right in front of the Tribune Building which is next to the Intercontinental.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taylorres
Family
Saraland, Alabama
Nov 25, 2012

Family getaway

Positives: The hotel employees went out of their way to make us feel right at home. My younger daughter found a hole in a dress and in a jacket, that she had brought to wear to a Broadway play. The hotel concierge had the dress and jacket mended at no charge and got in done within an hour on the day before Thanksgiving! /The concierge arranged for a large group of us to eat at the local Cheesecake Factory without a wait. We found out that the concierge could often make a call, and with a business card from the concierge, many of the restaurants would give us priority seating. Housekeeping sent us extra linens and a roll-a-way bed within minutes of our requests. The dine-in service was awesome. The hamburger from the Michael Jordan restaurant was AMAZING! Our older daughter said it was the best burger she had ever eaten. Our deluxe room in the older part of the hotel looked and smelled brand new and was much larger than the rooms in the newer part of the hotel (where our daughter stayed with her kids). Downsides: Free Internet in the room would have been nice, but I was able to access the Internet for free in the lobby downstairs, so I honestly cannot complain. The room was rather warm even thought we turned the AC all the way down to 65 degrees. It also took us a few nights to get accustomed to the frequent sirens on the street from the local fire station. (A humming air purifier unit or noise machine could help with that situation.) Otherwise, I can only rate this hotel as the best of the best. It's the best hotel we have ever stayed at, and I loved the fact that people were able to stay with their pets! Visiting with the dogs in the lobby was always a plus for us :)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to Ginos. Their pizza was cold. Giordanos and Unos had much, much better pizza. A 30 minute ride to Hot Doug's for a Chicago-style hot dog or to Fifty-50 for a 4 courser sandwich iswell worth the distance. Use the CTA public transportation system. We were able to travel all over Chicago for little money, and you can call their 1-800 number to get specific instructions on how to get from one place to another. The people we met on the bus or on the L were more than helpful and kind-hearted. There are many things to do for FREE in Chicago. I would highly recommend a meeting with a Chicago Greeter. They are volunteers who will take you around town and brief you about most all of the history. The best part is that the Chicago Greeter is a FREE service. I was more than impressed with the all the places that our Greeter took us to visit. We would have never experienced all that we were able to experience without the Greeter's inside tips. She spent almost 3 hours with us and showed us many of the cities most beautiful attributes - many of which are overlooked by the uninformed tourist.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaygeeh
Family
Newport News, VA
Nov 23, 2012

Best Location

The hotel was close to everything that we wanted to go to. The only thing that irritated us was that we had to pay for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conference traveler 2
Business
New York
Nov 19, 2012

great

really comfortable, really clean, overall great stay; all the basics in the room (coffee maker, blowdryer), comfortable bed; lots of restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top