$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Feb 1, 2013

Great Vacation

This was an excellent choice for a hotel to stay at downtown. Went over St. Patricks day and it was the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Business
Manilla, Iowa
Feb 1, 2013

Great Vacation

This was an excellent choice for a hotel to stay at downtown. Went over St. Patricks day and it was the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom24boys
Business
Cincinnati OH
Jan 24, 2013

Chicago Intercontinental

Great place, and being in the city, I should have expected the expense of the city. However, parking for $57 a day is above the normal fees. Luckily, I will be expensing these costs, but cocktails and in room dining was also very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants are a short walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
German Descendant
Business
Ponte Vedra, FL
Jan 16, 2013

Great Hotel and Exceptional Location

This is perfect for the person who wants to be in the heart of Chicago at great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCBC
Business
Santa Rosa Beach, FL, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Retreat

Spent a new years eve trip here and it was very nice. The staff at the bar and lounge was amazing. The front desk was extremely nice and upgraded my room for nothing. The hotel is in a great location on magnificent mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retta May
Business
Dallas, texas
Jan 4, 2013

Highly expensive holiday

Not good for me. i was charged for everything that i am not accustomed to paying for especially in an upscale htoel like this. valuable lesson learned to stay away form the down town spots as the are far to richy for my blood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

on the Magnificent Mile you are close to everything and is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First trip to Chicago
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Great First Trip to Chicago

Hotel was in an excellent location for access to downtown Chicago. The room was a good size with large bathrooms. Hotel was very clean. Definitely cheaper places to stay in the same area, but for the quality of the hotel, not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deathinvenice
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2013

mattresses date from WWII

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and an elegant exterior. The comfort of your room is another matter. The mattresses is our room were probably cheap to begin with and had not been changed for ages. You and your partner will find yourself rolling into the middle. The plumbing is also ancient. You can't get a steady temperature out the shower, so you'd better plan on taking a bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine bar downstairs is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ from MN
Business
St Paul MN
Jan 2, 2013

Good, a lot to offer, but ....

Nice hotel, great location, beautiful pool. I like the Starbucks on the first floor. Gym is fine but they charge for it. Also don't they charge for in room WiFi - just go to Starbucks or Michael Jordan's Steakhouse to use it free. Rooms are nice but a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magsar
Business
ky
Jan 2, 2013

Magnificent!

Great location for shopping. Easy check in and check out. Pretty quiet for as busy as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giodarnos pizza,awesome but call ahead to order

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeckBeckkk
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 25, 2012

Eh...

Great customer service. Housekeeping came everyday and politely asked what we needed. The day manager, Brisceieda I think her name was, was exceptionally nice and professional. Since we were transferred rooms due to the broken door lock we had, we needed to go back to our original room since we had forgotten something in it. Brisceieda helped with all of this and called engineering for assistant and made sure she was with us the whole way since they needed to fix the door for us to get in. She was patient about all of this and made sure we were satisfied with everything. Wifi was my BIGGEST problem. What kind of four star hotel doesn't provide free wifi? That is literally the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Even motels have free wifi. Me and my two other guests were even considering transferring to a motel for the wifi but couldn't since we paid for the hotel months in advance. During my stay here, I always had to run down to the lobby to us Starbucks' free wifi or Michael Jordan's Restaurant free wifi. We would also sometimes just walk to other hotels for their free wifi and would sit in their lobby for hours. That's just absolutely pathetic on the hotel's part, in my opinion. A sensored based bar. Seriously? Also another issue. Charges are held for removing any of their bottles and snacks for over 30 seconds. However, the paper that evens warns guests that was behind all of the bottles, so it was hard to miss. Like any other person, I picked them all up out of curiosity. I've paid for cheaper hotel rooms and received way bigger rooms than this hotel. If I had known how small the standard room was going to be, I would've never came here. It was seriously the size of Holiday Inn. I probably should've just stayed at a Holiday Inn. Rooms weren't much different from cheaper hotels anyway. Didn't provide any extra umpgh to make this stay worth it. Hotel was located in the middle of everything. Shopping centers, restaurants, parks, etc. a huge advantage. In the end, not worth it. I'm only giving it three stars due to exceptional staff. But then again, you would receive just as good of customer service as you would at any other cheaper hotel. I would definitely not stay here again on my next visit to Chicago due to the lack of FREE wifi and tiny room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top