$181 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 NORTH MICHIGAN AVE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
341 reviews
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
Very nice hotel in a great location

I absolutely love the location of the Intercontinental. It was a good "home base" to go to after... See full review

  • AmandaMpls
  • Jul 7, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI; Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lux shopper
South Carolina
Jun 20, 2012

great location

i lived in Chicago for many years. Back then, Michigan Avenue/ Magnificent Mile used to be THE place to shop. And it still is. Within a 5-minute walk of the hotel, there is Saks, Neiman, Nordstrom, Tiffany, Cartier, Burberry...you name it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

anywhere along the Magnificent Mile

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMBG
East Windsor, NJ
Jun 13, 2012

Magnificent Mile at its Best

this was my second stay at the Chicago Intercontinental. It is a beautiful, historic hotel with architectural significance. so very importatn to the beauty of chicago. Don't miss a chance to swim inthe beautiful art deco pool. Of course, the location could not be better. Easy access to shopping, the Chicago river, historic landmarks, etc. If you love to walk a city, this is the place to stay. The concierge and all the service staff were courteous and helpful. The lounge and wine bar are delightful. One of my favorite hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of the high end shopping area known as the Magnificane Mile.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddavis
Little Rock, AR
Jun 11, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location on the Mile

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Concierge was very helpful with any questions we had. It was frustrating that we could not adjust the temperature in our room, which stayed a constant 69 F. This was way too cool for me and heat was not an option at all in the room. We called for assistance and front desk sent an engineer who said the hotel had switched the entire hotel to "cool" because it was technically summer; thus heat was not an option. It was miserable in the room at night with the temperature so chilly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk or take a cab to Mercat de la Planxa restaurant on Michigan Avenue. Excellent food and a great dining experience. Michael Jordan Steakhouse connected to the Intercontinental Hotel is also excellent.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pocketbook
Green Bay, WI
May 30, 2012

Mother/Daughters shopping trip

I have stayed at this hotel before and remembered it to be nice and have a great location. I wasn't disappointed. It was welcome relief at the end of the long shopping day to see the flags flying above our hotel doors and know it was only steps away. The staff was all very hospitable and competent. There is a Starbucks in the lobby that looks out over Michigan ave. which was perfect. My daughters could sleep in and I went down early with my phone and a book to enjoy my first cup. It worked for all. My daughters 16 and 11 thought that the pool was great - it's an old hotel so the architecture on the pool deck was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's no breakfast at the hotel, but West Egg was two blocks over on Ontario had great blueberry pancakes and ended up less than the Corner Bakery across the street. Plus it was a sit down restaurant.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dReed
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Great location in the heart of the Mag Mile. Walk everywhere from here. Upgraded to a Suite for extra sitting room. Not cheap, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Food and Wine
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Great place to stay!

Wonderful hotel, and being right there on Michigan Ave. is just AWESOME!!! The hotel is very lovely and the employees are well trained. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping is excellent and you can walk everywhere!

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timmm
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Place with Great Location

This Hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. The room was a little small. We would have liked it to be a little bigger but the location was perfect and the staff was excellent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gejas Cafe is a short taxi ride and is an awesome place for a date night.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam777
Honolulu, HI, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Wife loved it

My wife loved the location on Magnificent Mile and the clean, well appointed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig across the street is excellent!

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jughead74
Detroit, MI, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Definitely would do it again!!!!!

The InterContinental was located within walking distance of all the things we want to see or go to. Room was nice, staff was courteous, view was great. St. Patty's Day was a BLAST!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Plaza Mall, which has 8 floors to it, is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Mar 19, 2012

Great for St. Patricks Day

Didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we were always out. Was impressed with quick check in and check out. Room was very clean and room service was great. We were charged for taking two pops out of the refrigerator and we did not take anything. Awesome computer in room that helps you find anywhere from dining to attractions. Staff was very helpful. Was not impressed with connected restaurant Michael Jordan Bar. It didn't really seem that fancy, but it was a very very upscale restaurant. Ended up leaving there because we weren't aware of how high priced it is. I can't review on the food or drink, but definitely stay away from there if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top