$378 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
231 reviews
Sports get away weekend

We did not have the time we would have liked to enjoy the amenities. But it was a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Da Bears fan in NY
  • Sep 8, 2014
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirley World Traveler
Nashville, TN
Dec 21, 2012

Excellent location

Excellent location, excellent service, the bathroom is a little small, low ceiling (but I am not very tall), NO free Wi-Fi, it is a paid service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runci
Kent, Ohio
Nov 26, 2012

good for lover to go and shopping trip

I'm so satisfied with the location, which's great. The bus stop is jusr right to the gate of the hotel and a starbucks located just next to the hotel. The hotel itself is a historical site, amazing arcitechture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Barneys New York

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwinn412
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental

All in all this was a lovely place to stay because of the terrific location on Michigan Avenue. However, just because it is a historic building I don't think it should look run down. It definitely needs some updating. The carpet in my room looked filthy and they had no slippers in the room so I had to keep my socks on. The carpets and walls in the hallways looked old and in need of some updating. My room was small but I did have a lovely view of the Wrigley Building which I enjoyed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the sightseeing trolley right in front of the Tribune Building which is next to the Intercontinental.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taylorres
Saraland, Alabama
Nov 25, 2012

Family getaway

Positives: The hotel employees went out of their way to make us feel right at home. My younger daughter found a hole in a dress and in a jacket, that she had brought to wear to a Broadway play. The hotel concierge had the dress and jacket mended at no charge and got in done within an hour on the day before Thanksgiving! /The concierge arranged for a large group of us to eat at the local Cheesecake Factory without a wait. We found out that the concierge could often make a call, and with a business card from the concierge, many of the restaurants would give us priority seating. Housekeeping sent us extra linens and a roll-a-way bed within minutes of our requests. The dine-in service was awesome. The hamburger from the Michael Jordan restaurant was AMAZING! Our older daughter said it was the best burger she had ever eaten. Our deluxe room in the older part of the hotel looked and smelled brand new and was much larger than the rooms in the newer part of the hotel (where our daughter stayed with her kids). Downsides: Free Internet in the room would have been nice, but I was able to access the Internet for free in the lobby downstairs, so I honestly cannot complain. The room was rather warm even thought we turned the AC all the way down to 65 degrees. It also took us a few nights to get accustomed to the frequent sirens on the street from the local fire station. (A humming air purifier unit or noise machine could help with that situation.) Otherwise, I can only rate this hotel as the best of the best. It's the best hotel we have ever stayed at, and I loved the fact that people were able to stay with their pets! Visiting with the dogs in the lobby was always a plus for us :)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to Ginos. Their pizza was cold. Giordanos and Unos had much, much better pizza. A 30 minute ride to Hot Doug's for a Chicago-style hot dog or to Fifty-50 for a 4 courser sandwich iswell worth the distance. Use the CTA public transportation system. We were able to travel all over Chicago for little money, and you can call their 1-800 number to get specific instructions on how to get from one place to another. The people we met on the bus or on the L were more than helpful and kind-hearted. There are many things to do for FREE in Chicago. I would highly recommend a meeting with a Chicago Greeter. They are volunteers who will take you around town and brief you about most all of the history. The best part is that the Chicago Greeter is a FREE service. I was more than impressed with the all the places that our Greeter took us to visit. We would have never experienced all that we were able to experience without the Greeter's inside tips. She spent almost 3 hours with us and showed us many of the cities most beautiful attributes - many of which are overlooked by the uninformed tourist.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaygeeh
Newport News, VA
Nov 23, 2012

Best Location

The hotel was close to everything that we wanted to go to. The only thing that irritated us was that we had to pay for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
conference traveler 2
Business
New York
Nov 19, 2012

great

really comfortable, really clean, overall great stay; all the basics in the room (coffee maker, blowdryer), comfortable bed; lots of restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNYBOY55
CHICAGO
Nov 5, 2012

Great Location, Classy Place, but.....

Everything was perfect but a couple times when we came back to the room...it smelled.....we opened the window and it went away quickly but there must've been some problem with the vent or the toilet because we'd smell it right when we opened the door then it would go away quickly. Otherwise the place was outstanding! It didn't bother us just an odd quirk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is on this block except a convenient store although there are a few nearby Walgreens

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Husker Fan
Dallas, TX
Oct 22, 2012

Great Hotel!

The only thing that was irritating - a BUSY weekend and only one concierge to answer guest questions. I found myself standing in line for what seemed to be forever to answer a very simple question. Other than that - very pleased with everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanaW
Gallatin, tn
Sep 18, 2012

Weekend getaway

Had a great time. Hotel location is great. Close to all the major shopping on Michigan avenue and also close enough to open air buses if you wish or close enough to walk to all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amamam
Business
New York
Sep 9, 2012

good hotel but .....

great location, great service, very clean. they charge 14.95 a night for internet which is ridicules , and they make hotel guests pay 12 $ for the gym . very much ridicules ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

michael jordan steakhouse. Tomahouk stake

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dakeji
Cleveland, oh
Sep 4, 2012

Holiday weekend getaway

This hotel is located right near plenty of restaurants and tourist attractions (mag mile, navy pier, grant park, etc) which is how we started our hotel search. This hotel was very reasonably priced, especially being the holiday weekend, which is how we came about choosing it. Having never previously stayed in this hotel, I'd have to say we were pleasantly surprised and would definitely return here for a future trip. From the courteous staff down to the comfort and cleanliness of the room, this hotel is second to none. Keep up the excellence!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search