$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
238 reviews
Fantastic Staff and New Interiors

They recently change all rooms' interiors. They are much more comfortable and nice. The hotel has... See full review

  • Dannn
  • Dec 6, 2014
Good Exprience

comfortable room and great location, staffs are very responsible. See full review

  • Cathy Chan
  • Oct 29, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (238)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deathinvenice
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2013

mattresses date from WWII

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and an elegant exterior. The comfort of your room is another matter. The mattresses is our room were probably cheap to begin with and had not been changed for ages. You and your partner will find yourself rolling into the middle. The plumbing is also ancient. You can't get a steady temperature out the shower, so you'd better plan on taking a bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine bar downstairs is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ from MN
Business
St Paul MN
Jan 2, 2013

Good, a lot to offer, but ....

Nice hotel, great location, beautiful pool. I like the Starbucks on the first floor. Gym is fine but they charge for it. Also don't they charge for in room WiFi - just go to Starbucks or Michael Jordan's Steakhouse to use it free. Rooms are nice but a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magsar
Business
ky
Jan 2, 2013

Magnificent!

Great location for shopping. Easy check in and check out. Pretty quiet for as busy as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giodarnos pizza,awesome but call ahead to order

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeckBeckkk
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 25, 2012

Eh...

Great customer service. Housekeeping came everyday and politely asked what we needed. The day manager, Brisceieda I think her name was, was exceptionally nice and professional. Since we were transferred rooms due to the broken door lock we had, we needed to go back to our original room since we had forgotten something in it. Brisceieda helped with all of this and called engineering for assistant and made sure she was with us the whole way since they needed to fix the door for us to get in. She was patient about all of this and made sure we were satisfied with everything. Wifi was my BIGGEST problem. What kind of four star hotel doesn't provide free wifi? That is literally the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Even motels have free wifi. Me and my two other guests were even considering transferring to a motel for the wifi but couldn't since we paid for the hotel months in advance. During my stay here, I always had to run down to the lobby to us Starbucks' free wifi or Michael Jordan's Restaurant free wifi. We would also sometimes just walk to other hotels for their free wifi and would sit in their lobby for hours. That's just absolutely pathetic on the hotel's part, in my opinion. A sensored based bar. Seriously? Also another issue. Charges are held for removing any of their bottles and snacks for over 30 seconds. However, the paper that evens warns guests that was behind all of the bottles, so it was hard to miss. Like any other person, I picked them all up out of curiosity. I've paid for cheaper hotel rooms and received way bigger rooms than this hotel. If I had known how small the standard room was going to be, I would've never came here. It was seriously the size of Holiday Inn. I probably should've just stayed at a Holiday Inn. Rooms weren't much different from cheaper hotels anyway. Didn't provide any extra umpgh to make this stay worth it. Hotel was located in the middle of everything. Shopping centers, restaurants, parks, etc. a huge advantage. In the end, not worth it. I'm only giving it three stars due to exceptional staff. But then again, you would receive just as good of customer service as you would at any other cheaper hotel. I would definitely not stay here again on my next visit to Chicago due to the lack of FREE wifi and tiny room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirley World Traveler
Business
Nashville, TN
Dec 21, 2012

Excellent location

Excellent location, excellent service, the bathroom is a little small, low ceiling (but I am not very tall), NO free Wi-Fi, it is a paid service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
704TechGeek
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 20, 2012

It was Pretty Good

Pros- 1. Location is in the heart of the city and next to beautiful buildings 2. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful 3. Room was superior. Hence the Superior King Suite 4. Michael Jordan restaurant downstairs Cons - 1. A-La-Carter everything including internet 2. No self park - Valet is 24-Hr/ $57/night or Non Company self park $33/Night - Choose your Poison All in all the stay was good. The room was in perfect condition and had an incredible set up. Staff was great and very friendly. It was my first time in Chicago and I picked this location in a rush. Would have done more research and probably ended somewhere else. I am a simple guy that enjoys Free Continental Breakfast, parking that is free or within a decent number and not per night. IMHO it varies with every location that you are in. II'm not knocking the hotel by all means it was fantastic. I enjoyed my stay and everything was Above Par(I paid for it it better have been)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Business
Manilla, Iowa
Dec 3, 2012

Great Room

I couldn't have been happier with this room!. It had an awesome view and the ammentities were great. The staff was also wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runci
Business
Kent, Ohio
Nov 26, 2012

good for lover to go and shopping trip

I'm so satisfied with the location, which's great. The bus stop is jusr right to the gate of the hotel and a starbucks located just next to the hotel. The hotel itself is a historical site, amazing arcitechture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Barneys New York

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwinn412
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental

All in all this was a lovely place to stay because of the terrific location on Michigan Avenue. However, just because it is a historic building I don't think it should look run down. It definitely needs some updating. The carpet in my room looked filthy and they had no slippers in the room so I had to keep my socks on. The carpets and walls in the hallways looked old and in need of some updating. My room was small but I did have a lovely view of the Wrigley Building which I enjoyed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the sightseeing trolley right in front of the Tribune Building which is next to the Intercontinental.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taylorres
Business
Saraland, Alabama
Nov 25, 2012

Family getaway

Positives: The hotel employees went out of their way to make us feel right at home. My younger daughter found a hole in a dress and in a jacket, that she had brought to wear to a Broadway play. The hotel concierge had the dress and jacket mended at no charge and got in done within an hour on the day before Thanksgiving! /The concierge arranged for a large group of us to eat at the local Cheesecake Factory without a wait. We found out that the concierge could often make a call, and with a business card from the concierge, many of the restaurants would give us priority seating. Housekeeping sent us extra linens and a roll-a-way bed within minutes of our requests. The dine-in service was awesome. The hamburger from the Michael Jordan restaurant was AMAZING! Our older daughter said it was the best burger she had ever eaten. Our deluxe room in the older part of the hotel looked and smelled brand new and was much larger than the rooms in the newer part of the hotel (where our daughter stayed with her kids). Downsides: Free Internet in the room would have been nice, but I was able to access the Internet for free in the lobby downstairs, so I honestly cannot complain. The room was rather warm even thought we turned the AC all the way down to 65 degrees. It also took us a few nights to get accustomed to the frequent sirens on the street from the local fire station. (A humming air purifier unit or noise machine could help with that situation.) Otherwise, I can only rate this hotel as the best of the best. It's the best hotel we have ever stayed at, and I loved the fact that people were able to stay with their pets! Visiting with the dogs in the lobby was always a plus for us :)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to Ginos. Their pizza was cold. Giordanos and Unos had much, much better pizza. A 30 minute ride to Hot Doug's for a Chicago-style hot dog or to Fifty-50 for a 4 courser sandwich iswell worth the distance. Use the CTA public transportation system. We were able to travel all over Chicago for little money, and you can call their 1-800 number to get specific instructions on how to get from one place to another. The people we met on the bus or on the L were more than helpful and kind-hearted. There are many things to do for FREE in Chicago. I would highly recommend a meeting with a Chicago Greeter. They are volunteers who will take you around town and brief you about most all of the history. The best part is that the Chicago Greeter is a FREE service. I was more than impressed with the all the places that our Greeter took us to visit. We would have never experienced all that we were able to experience without the Greeter's inside tips. She spent almost 3 hours with us and showed us many of the cities most beautiful attributes - many of which are overlooked by the uninformed tourist.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top