$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2009

Great Hotel to Stay At

Great Hotel to stay at. Staff was friendly and very hospitable. The location is great. We had a comfortable 24th floor room facing the Chicago Tribune building. This room had a balcony though it was locked. My only disappointment was that they didn't have free internet service ($17.95 daily charge). I just wanted to use the internet to look up directions/restaurants and I wasn't able to do that. For such a large hotel, this was a big setback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 3 day adult transit pass. This will cost you $14 per adult - but it will provide 3 days of unlimited rides on the buses and trains. Trains also run to/from airports - but you'll have to haul your luggage. Taxis cost approx $45 (with tip) from O'Hare to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, oh
Nov 9, 2009

Lovely

It was clean, elegant and restful and conveniently located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paige, shopper extraordinaire
Business
Torrance, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Chicago's Most Fabulous

This hotel is directly across the street from Nordstroms. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shopping in the city is just a few steps from the hotel front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, california
Oct 6, 2009

A wonderful stay

The location of this hotel was wonderful. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see and to everyplace we wanted to eat. The concierge was very helpful as was all of the staff. There were enough hangars in the closet for all of our clothes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many restaurants within walking distance...for all meals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, Ok
Sep 9, 2009

Great hotel on Mag. Mile

The hotel was great! Bath and Bed room a little small but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cubbies Fans
Business
Sanford, North Carolina
Aug 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, not traveler friendly

I was very upset with this hotel. I booked our trip months ago, and when we arrived for checkin on Monday afternoon we were sent to another hotel stating that there was a problem at the inter continental and that some of the rooms were messed up and they were full. they gave us $15.00 for a taxi ride over to the Sheraton and back to stay the night and pack up again and come back tomorrow. My room was already paid for at the Inter Continental for 3 nights. My husband and I were very upset. They tried to make it up to us by leaving an apology letter along with 3 apples and some water. Woo Hoo!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 26, 2009

Fab Hotel, Fab Location, Great Vaction

great hotel for first time visitors to Chicago, close to Navy Pier, boat tours and public transportation. Rooms were spotless and staff was knowledgable and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City MO
Aug 24, 2009

"Good location"

It was good. We expected the room to be done when we got back from our morning but it was 3:00 pm and wasn't yet done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennington, NJ
Aug 23, 2009

Intercontinental Chicago

Second stay in the last few years. Clean, quiet and very pleasant staff. Great location so don't need car. If you drive park on Rush/Ohio at $37 versus $53.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Rush and Ohio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie Munster
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 21, 2009

Too much nickel and dime stuff

We were in Chicago to see our oldest son. I average 68 hotel nights in a year. The hotel is in a great location but I just couldn't get over the nickel & dime stuff. The room service prices were out of control: $22 for a sandwich; they charged me $7.00 for 15 minutes of internet time in the BUSINESS center; movie rentals were an astounding $17.00 for a family movie; the pull out couch was really bad.. the mattress was so flimsy you could feel the sofa frame underneath; they wouldn't credit my priority club with points because I booked through this site; my flight didn't leave until 4:30 PM so I wanted to get a later checkout (1PM instead of noon) but that would cost me $30.00! I know it is Michigan Avenue but after paying for the the hotel, flight and all of the above, there wasn't much left to spend downtown. I have stayed at the Drake Hotel in Chicago before and I can tell you they did not have these ridiculous charges for everything, and the Drake is much classier than the Intercontinental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top