$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
232 reviews
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
Very nice hotel in a great location

I absolutely love the location of the Intercontinental. It was a good "home base" to go to after... See full review

  • AmandaMpls
  • Jul 7, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 9, 2010

Great location.

Being across the street from the Lego store and Forever 21 was great for my kids. There was even a Garmin store nearby just as we needed it. The pool was a little cold but has a really neat 30's feel to it. Concierge was excellent. Rooms were clean and well maintained, flat screen TV's with HBO and HBO Family. Museums are a short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Weber Grill Restaurant is a really neat idea and executed very well. I wish we had one in the Carolinas.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington DC
Apr 3, 2010

nice

Was good, a little be noise The water in the shower was regular,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel has a great location

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mac & super daughter
Overland Park, KS
Mar 21, 2010

Recomended!

Great location in Chicago! Staff went well beyond what was expected. Overall I would rate our stay as a 10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dozin mom
New York, NY
Feb 16, 2010

New is not the historic I wanted

I was very disappointed. I reserved rooms in the historic section but was put into the new section. Checking in at 12:30 a.m. I didn't realize until the middle of the night that I was not where I should have been. When I went to the front desk in the morning they said there was nothing they could do. I asked that my disappointment be shared with the manager. No follow-up from the manager. Later that afternoon I went to the front desk again. I spoke with the front desk manager who said there was nothing they could do. I was never told at check-in the they couldn't accommodate my reservation to be in the historic section. I should have stayed at the Marriott across the street - the rooms are bigger and the location is just as good. Fitness center charged a fee - $12 per person for the day! Crazy in this day and age. I would NOT stay in this hotel again or recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
suburban Chicago
Jan 6, 2010

New Years Visit

We stayed for two nights with two other families on including New Years Eve 2010 and had the best time - mainly due to the hotel, the location, the amenities and price. The kids loved indoor vintage open pool (which is well heated, ornate and well preserved), adults loved the nearby sauna and fitness facilities. We spent and early night on the town with the kids and returned to the hotel and enjoyed the evening in the lounge and ENO wine bar. Service was great, mood relaxing - all good! I signed up for the breakfast package which was fantastic and kids 12 and under are free. Another tip, the rooms in historic tower are typically (but not always) larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For afternoon fun with the six kids and six adults we walked to nearby Lucky Strike for bowling and AMC Theater for movies.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichiganChristopher
Detroit, MI
Jan 4, 2010

Things to know before you go!

We like the Intercontinental and have stayed at a few of them.1. No points if you reserve through [...] or any 3rd party.2. Parking was $53 per day!3. Room air was amazingly dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park at the municipal lot 1 block south and 2 blocks west.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Art
La Quinta, CA
Dec 14, 2009

Excellent Value

Great room at a good price in a super location. Lots of activity! Hard to impossible to have a seat in the bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Second floor restaurant at the new Wit Hotel at Lake and State. Great food, service & atmosphere.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MI
Dec 7, 2009

great location

The shopping and dinning was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
kansas city, MO
Dec 5, 2009

to small for four people

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2009

Great Hotel to Stay At

Great Hotel to stay at. Staff was friendly and very hospitable. The location is great. We had a comfortable 24th floor room facing the Chicago Tribune building. This room had a balcony though it was locked. My only disappointment was that they didn't have free internet service ($17.95 daily charge). I just wanted to use the internet to look up directions/restaurants and I wasn't able to do that. For such a large hotel, this was a big setback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 3 day adult transit pass. This will cost you $14 per adult - but it will provide 3 days of unlimited rides on the buses and trains. Trains also run to/from airports - but you'll have to haul your luggage. Taxis cost approx $45 (with tip) from O'Hare to this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search