$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Feb 1, 2013

Great Vacation

This was an excellent choice for a hotel to stay at downtown. Went over St. Patricks day and it was the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avid Shopper
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Awesome location!

idea for Michigan Av shopping. Close to restaurants and other attractions (Water Tower & Hancock).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akki
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

shabby

The furniture in the room is warn out and falling apart.I couldn't even sell it at a garage sale. Also was not told pool has been closed for months. Definitely won't go back. Raises serious questions about the brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bean780
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Excellent Staff

The concierge and the front desk attendant were extremely nice and helpful. We arrived at 10:30 A.M. and were able to check in and get our room that early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia- Michelin star restaurant that isn't astronomically priced to eat at.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jssk
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Perfect location for a fabulous weekend getaway. Arrived early and the room was ready. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and had a pretty view of lake Michigan. Walking distance to shopping, the park, great restaurants and night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satchmo
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jan 21, 2012

Expensive parking

Good value at this hotel, but parking is $57 per night, so figure that in to the equation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Business
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KrissyWy
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Honeymoon Getaway

My new husband and I decided we wanted to take a quick trip to Chicago for a night while we were on a vacation from work after our wedding on 12/31. I have always wanted to stay at the Intercontinental, and seen a great price, so we took it and left the next day for Chicago. Upon arrival, I asked the clerk if they had any upgrades, as we were on our honeymoon. She accommodated us amazingly, as we got up to our room in the historical tower and it ended up being a suite. It was gorgeous with a great view. We couldn't have been happier! We then had champagne, chocolate & strawberries delivered to our room compliments of the staff for our wedding. We also received free champagne in the bar, just because we mentioned that we had recently gotten married. I will always stay at the Intercontinental from now on when we choose to stay in Chicago. Very very nice, perfect staff and amazing location. 5+ stars all the way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA City Girl
Business
SF
Jan 10, 2012

Sweet deal, lots of ++++

Good location, super friendly staff, & comfy bed, although the linens weren't anything special. The room was plenty spacious with a great view of the city. There was a touch screen concierge in the room, which was cool and Michael Jordans Chophouse was delicious. The 2 most disappointing things were the single ply TP. Come on seriously, a 4 star hotel scrimps on TP? And hearing the neighbors. We were staying over the NYE holiday, so maybe the people staying in the corner suite were just excited. But we heard what we thought was normal conversations. It didn't ruin the experience, I'm sure we had our lively moments too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The garlic bread with blue cheese @ Michael Jordan was a fabulous indulgene. The dessert menu had some unusual tasty treats too. Our big night out was at Naha, an amazing menu. If I lived in Chicago I'd frequent often! The staff was warm & so not pretensions.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaedw01
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Holiday Weekend Getaway

Great - upscale with a personal touch. Very nice warm atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MISMO
Business
México
Jan 3, 2012

Excelent!

We had a very good time at the hotel because is just in a perfect Location of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHICAGO CHOP HOUSE

Back to menu Return to top