$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
View map of 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First trip to Chicago
Cleveland, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Great First Trip to Chicago

Hotel was in an excellent location for access to downtown Chicago. The room was a good size with large bathrooms. Hotel was very clean. Definitely cheaper places to stay in the same area, but for the quality of the hotel, not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satchmo
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jan 21, 2012

Expensive parking

Good value at this hotel, but parking is $57 per night, so figure that in to the equation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LetsReviewIt
Business
Columbus
Jan 17, 2012

Pass on this hotel - you'll be glad you did

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels over the past several years in Chicago and throughout the US. The InterContinental Chicago ranks as one of the worst. Let me tell you why: 1. Furnishings: The rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller. All filled with cheap, boring furniture. Hard, old, dirty beds. Dirty and tattered Chairs. Broken, dusty lamps, etc. The list goes on. 2. Amenities: Little to none. Only 2 Ice Machines in the entire hotel - their location wasn't specified either. Pool was closed - found out when we arrived. Could never reach the concierge. 3. Quality/Safety. There was roughly a 3 inch gap under our door so we heard everything in the hall. The supplemental lock was dangling by a thread, the telephone in the bathroom fell off the wall, and we got stuck in the elevator between floors. 4. The Worst Service. Whether it was asking for more towels, or calling for our car be ready, we were met with a confusing process and bad attitude. The "Instant Service" button on the phone was a joke. You were transferred all over the place, that is if you ever got anyone. Most of the time we reached voicemails. There was never a presence at the front desk/lobby area. Every time we entered, the employees were huddled together ignoring all the guests. Upon checkout, we were met with the ABSOLUTE WORST experience by far. As we searched for someone to help us, we finally encountered Ursula who was very rude. She seemed bothered to help us and made sure we knew it. She answered the phone twice while checking us out, and when it was over, simply gave us a half-hearted "Thanks." We will never be staying here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Turn around and walk out, save your time because this place isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KrissyWy
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Honeymoon Getaway

My new husband and I decided we wanted to take a quick trip to Chicago for a night while we were on a vacation from work after our wedding on 12/31. I have always wanted to stay at the Intercontinental, and seen a great price, so we took it and left the next day for Chicago. Upon arrival, I asked the clerk if they had any upgrades, as we were on our honeymoon. She accommodated us amazingly, as we got up to our room in the historical tower and it ended up being a suite. It was gorgeous with a great view. We couldn't have been happier! We then had champagne, chocolate & strawberries delivered to our room compliments of the staff for our wedding. We also received free champagne in the bar, just because we mentioned that we had recently gotten married. I will always stay at the Intercontinental from now on when we choose to stay in Chicago. Very very nice, perfect staff and amazing location. 5+ stars all the way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA City Girl
Business
SF
Jan 10, 2012

Sweet deal, lots of ++++

Good location, super friendly staff, & comfy bed, although the linens weren't anything special. The room was plenty spacious with a great view of the city. There was a touch screen concierge in the room, which was cool and Michael Jordans Chophouse was delicious. The 2 most disappointing things were the single ply TP. Come on seriously, a 4 star hotel scrimps on TP? And hearing the neighbors. We were staying over the NYE holiday, so maybe the people staying in the corner suite were just excited. But we heard what we thought was normal conversations. It didn't ruin the experience, I'm sure we had our lively moments too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The garlic bread with blue cheese @ Michael Jordan was a fabulous indulgene. The dessert menu had some unusual tasty treats too. Our big night out was at Naha, an amazing menu. If I lived in Chicago I'd frequent often! The staff was warm & so not pretensions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaedw01
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Holiday Weekend Getaway

Great - upscale with a personal touch. Very nice warm atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MISMO
Business
México
Jan 3, 2012

Excelent!

We had a very good time at the hotel because is just in a perfect Location of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHICAGO CHOP HOUSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly C
Business
Crown Point, IN, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Be aware the pool is closed!

Everyone at the hotel was very nice, but that did not make up for the fact that the pool was closed and we were not notified ahead of time! The pictures of a gorgeous pool were one of the main reasons I chose this hotel, and apparently, it has been closed for some time. Other than that disappointment (and their failure to offer much compensation for that problem), I enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The lobby is very pretty. The staff was great. If the pool opens again (which they say may be in February), I would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary M
Business
Western Springs, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Pool closed

I have the impression that the Intercontinental has everything to be a great hotel, but that we were given 2nd class service. First of all, our room was located near the service elevator all the way in the back. Why? Also, the closet door was broken. Why give us that room? Lastly, when we arrived, we were informed that the magnificent pool was closed until further notice. I would recommend staying at any of the other nice hotels on Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex Evanston
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

One-Night Getaway for Boyfriend and I

It was great! My boyfriend and I just wanted a one-night getaway where we could relax and enjoy downtown Chicago, and our stay at the Intercontinental was just that. We got a King Superior room and we quite enjoyed the large mirror right by the bed (ahem). The only downside was that the pool was closed for renovation, but they directed us to use the Marriott pool across the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suekuz
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Great Pre-Holiday Getaway

Front desk staff was very friendly and professional. Holiday decor was beautiful. Michael Jordans restaurant was a nice suprise- can't wait to go back for lunch! Only disappointment was that the pool was closed. I wish we would have been informed when booking. We hope to make this an annual visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Michael Jordans restaurant is the best kept secret for lunch. Amazing burgers & a great bar staff!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top