$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
230 reviews
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
Very nice hotel in a great location

I absolutely love the location of the Intercontinental. It was a good "home base" to go to after... See full review

  • AmandaMpls
  • Jul 7, 2014

You might spend more time staring at the 1920s design of the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel than you spend checking in at the front desk. When you've finished gawking at the gold leaf murals, the marble columns topped with medieval knights, and the blue tile ceiling of the Spanish Tea Court, don?t forget to squeeze in a wine and chocolate-tasting session at on-site eatery, Eno. There's also a Junior Olympic indoor pool to conquer - complete with original Moorish-style features. Or if you feel like a more subdued afternoon, the sugar honey body polish at the Spa and Health Club awaits.

Key facts
  • 792 guestrooms
  • Business center
  • On-site FedEx Office Print & Ship Center
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • On-site massage therapists
  • Pool
  • Same-day dry cleaning
  • Shoe shine
  • Gift shop
  • Newsstand
  • 3 restaurants: Eno, The Continental, Michael Jordan's Steakhouse
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Childcare available
Neighborhood
The InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile hotel is located directly on the 13-mile stretch of Chicago’s North Michigan Avenue, locally dubbed the 'Magnificent Mile' for its hundreds of shops, boutiques, museums and restaurants, many of which operate around the clock. Within a five-block radius of the hotel, visitors will find the iconic Navy Pier and legendary Shedd Aquarium, while a walk over the Chicago River leads to acres of welcome green space at Millennium Park, with the Art Institute of Chicago inside its vast expanse.
Hints and tips
Restored to its former glory after sixty years of disrepair, the InterContinental Chicago has plenty of stories to tell. Check out features like the original marble lions in the Assyrian-design hall, and the sweeping staircase in the lobby, the handrail of which belonged to the Medinah Athletic Club of 1929.

For the best views in the hotel, request a room in the historic tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First trip to Chicago
Cleveland, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Great First Trip to Chicago

Hotel was in an excellent location for access to downtown Chicago. The room was a good size with large bathrooms. Hotel was very clean. Definitely cheaper places to stay in the same area, but for the quality of the hotel, not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaedw01
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Holiday Weekend Getaway

Great - upscale with a personal touch. Very nice warm atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MISMO
México
Jan 3, 2012

Excelent!

We had a very good time at the hotel because is just in a perfect Location of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHICAGO CHOP HOUSE

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly C
Crown Point, IN, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Be aware the pool is closed!

Everyone at the hotel was very nice, but that did not make up for the fact that the pool was closed and we were not notified ahead of time! The pictures of a gorgeous pool were one of the main reasons I chose this hotel, and apparently, it has been closed for some time. Other than that disappointment (and their failure to offer much compensation for that problem), I enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The lobby is very pretty. The staff was great. If the pool opens again (which they say may be in February), I would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary M
Western Springs, IL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Pool closed

I have the impression that the Intercontinental has everything to be a great hotel, but that we were given 2nd class service. First of all, our room was located near the service elevator all the way in the back. Why? Also, the closet door was broken. Why give us that room? Lastly, when we arrived, we were informed that the magnificent pool was closed until further notice. I would recommend staying at any of the other nice hotels on Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex Evanston
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

One-Night Getaway for Boyfriend and I

It was great! My boyfriend and I just wanted a one-night getaway where we could relax and enjoy downtown Chicago, and our stay at the Intercontinental was just that. We got a King Superior room and we quite enjoyed the large mirror right by the bed (ahem). The only downside was that the pool was closed for renovation, but they directed us to use the Marriott pool across the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suekuz
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Great Pre-Holiday Getaway

Front desk staff was very friendly and professional. Holiday decor was beautiful. Michael Jordans restaurant was a nice suprise- can't wait to go back for lunch! Only disappointment was that the pool was closed. I wish we would have been informed when booking. We hope to make this an annual visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Michael Jordans restaurant is the best kept secret for lunch. Amazing burgers & a great bar staff!!

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frayer
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Accommodations and event planning!

Had two rooms for guests and both were wonderful. Catering helped me with planning wedding reception from beginning to end it could not have been better. They put me in touch with florist and cake baker -both were fantastic. The meal was delicious and the guests raved about the room, the dinner, the table top, the centerpieces, the cake etc. Thanks and kudos to this hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

WaterTower Place

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aims
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great Location

The location is great. Walking distance to Lake, shopping and dining. Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig across the street from the hotel offers great dining and drinks. Enjoyed desert and late night drinks.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick Bateman
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Value

The room was nice, and the location was perfect for Michigan Ave shopping. It was also conveniently located near the Loop. Every destination was a short walk, bus ride or train ride away. The hotel was only two blocks from the Red Line train. This was a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is just out the front door of the hotel.

Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice weekend

It was close to everything I wanted to do, so it worked very well to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's. THE BEST PIZZA EVER.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search