$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
231 reviews
Sports get away weekend

We did not have the time we would have liked to enjoy the amenities. But it was a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Da Bears fan in NY
  • Sep 8, 2014
Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup.... See full review

  • Jdavis0811
  • Jul 7, 2014
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue's architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago's incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

41.8914 -87.624
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

The Continental
Discover innovative cuisine at its finest right at the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile. Dine at the Continental and awaken to a breakfast or brunch of traditional delights, and heart healthy dishes with a refreshing twist.
Santorini
Santorini is a local favorite and authentic Greek restaurant . You will enjoy a family Santorini time and time again.
Volare
Established in 1997, Volare a local favorite reflects the look and feel of an old world Italian restaurant. The food represents the finest traditional Italian cuisine with modern accents.
Au Chavel
A recreation of a American diner. Modern yet simple sophisticated yet deliscious.
Publican
Marvelous beer focused restaurant with an american eclectic menu. The food is good hearty farmhouse fare specializing in pork and seafood dishes. The space is expansive with the tables set up more comunnal dining. than intimacy. Definitely get to know you
Sepia
Located in what use to be an 1890 print shop the space is warm and inviting. The menu is seasonal and encompasses organic and sustainable ingredients. The Chef collaborates closely with local farmers and his vision is to bring back traditional cooking pra
The Gage
Upscale pub food done to the maximium. A gastropub if you will with some of your favorites given just that extra twist or addition to take it over the top. A vintage, relaxed atmosphere. The Brunch here is spectacular, a must try.If you are here during th
Cite
The restaurant located on the 70th floor of one of the few high rises along the lakefront has the most spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the surrounding areas. Definitely the place to be at sunset or if you are planning to pop the question. A fusio
Merlo on Maple
Regional Italian focusing on Bolognese cuisine. Located in a Historic Townhouse adding to the ambiance of the whole experience, a quick taxi ride from the hotel. Chef Silvia uses the freshest of ingredients to bring out the best flavors off the food she c
Michael Jordan Steak House
Chicago fine dining unlike anywhere else, this Magnificent Mile steak house is as traditional as it is contemporary. Experience fine dining within view of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile. From Michael Jordan's famous garlic bread to our Prime, hand selec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joslyn
Manilla, Iowa
Feb 1, 2013

Great Vacation

This was an excellent choice for a hotel to stay at downtown. Went over St. Patricks day and it was the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Da Bears fan in NY
Rochester, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Sports get away weekend

We did not have the time we would have liked to enjoy the amenities. But it was a beautiful hotel with the old style charm. I would definately recommend to others and will stay there on my next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For late arrivers the Billy Goat Tavern & Grill. For a sports enthusiast Ditka's is a good choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky Wray
San Antonio
Aug 18, 2014

awesome hotel

The location was perfect and the stay was very kind. I totally would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firsttimeintown
Business
Hawaii
Aug 6, 2014

Good value & convenient

Excellent location, service, and clean. Only drawback was $13.00 charge for swimming in the pool and exercise machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Budget meals: McDs & Walgreens across the street and Navy pier 4 blocks away. Other nearby restaurants will have the usual expensive menus. MJ's steakhouse is in the hotel but unfortunately I didn't have this in my budget. However, go if you can so you can say you were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imely
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2014

Great short vacation!

I would do this again! I had so much fun and the staff was very friendly and accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The pool was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borys B
Bay Area, California
Jul 8, 2014

Great location, but otherwise nothing to write home about

The hotel is in a great location. It's very easy to grab a taxi and go anywhere in Chicago. The hotel is within walking distance of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Grant Park, the Chicago River and its famous boat tours, and many other attractions. There's plenty of food available nearby and a Walgreens just a block away. That said, I believe that the hotel was priced a bit too expensive for the accommodations, which were rather simple. The beds were comfortable, but the room was small and extras cost way too much. $10 for a 1L bottle of water? Really? WiFi was not included. I would give that a pass five years ago, but it's 2014. Stay here only if you don't plan on spending much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and other major Chicago attractions. Lots of late night food nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain America Travel
Central Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Chicago on the 4th!

The hotel is wonderful as you'd expect for an Intercontinental and a Four Star hotel. The staff were great and the room was nice but what sets this hotel apart is the location, location, location! Perfect to see and do everything that Chicago has to offer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Valore Italian restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jdavis0811
Chicago il
Jul 7, 2014

Lovely

We booked on a whim with 10 minutes notice. The staff accommodated our needs without a hiccup. Wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaMpls
Minneapolis
Jul 7, 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location

I absolutely love the location of the Intercontinental. It was a good "home base" to go to after doing something that wasn't too far in one direction or another. The hotel itself is very nice; big and beautiful on the inside, beautiful historic pool (recommend checking out even if you don't plan on swimming), a fitness center with several cardio and weight machines. My only complaint was that the room I stayed in was very small. It had two double beds, which would indicate two guests staying in it. My friend and I could barely get past one another while moving around, just no floor space with a big armchair also that got in the way of the curtains because it was simply too big for the room, and poor lighting as you walk in; there was a full-length mirror that was pretty much pointless because there was no light above it so you really couldn't see much anyway. There was no microwave (not a huge deal, but I assumed most hotel rooms had these now) and fridge space was literally limited to if you happened to be storing something the size of two Red Bulls - that's it. However, I'm sure there are other, more luxurious rooms, and we had a package deal with our flight so I'm sure that's why we got the tiny room, but really wasn't a big problem at all. We were also on the 17th floor so that was kind of cool too. Bathroom was very nice, and room was very clean. I'd definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Santos the Planner
Olympia Wa
Jun 23, 2014

Over Priced Over Rated

We stayed at the hotel And it cost us quite a bit of money. The room was average for the price, and if you have car or rental car with you the hotel charges 65.00 a day to park your car . Room service the food was ok a dinner for 2 one night was 80.00 fro food that was just average. the only good thing going for the hotel was the location was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy pier was only 30 min walk from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany1218
Chicago
Jun 17, 2014

A good hotel

The hotel's location was very good. When you just get out of the hotel, you can start your shopping immidiately. However, many facilities there is not free. Except room cost, they will deposit you $125. If you use their bar or gym or the other facilities, they will charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search