$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Third stay and we love it,

Perfect location! Blocks away from everything you want to do in Chicago! We found the beach down... See full review

  • BocamomX2
  • Jul 24, 2014
great location, the room is big

great location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat... See full review

  • jason moon
  • Mar 20, 2014
Contemporary style, European charm in Chicago
In the Roaring '20s, this boutique Streeterville hotel hosted celebrities and showgirls. While those times have faded, the air of glamour remains at the Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel. For proof, just stroll the lobby, where zebra ottomans, fresh-cut orchids and metallic embossed walls create drama and urban appeal. With its central location and focus on value, the Inn of Chicago is a gem for business or leisure travelers seeking convenient access to the Magnificent Mile and its many diversions.
Highlights
  • Prime Chicago location just east of Magnificent Mile
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary stay for children under 18
  • The 22nd floor Skyline Terrace
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Inn of Chicago feel more like apartments than hotel rooms, and that’s on purpose. Back in the 1920s, the former Hotel St. Clair offered one-bedroom apartments, and the effects linger today at the Inn of Chicago. Space for entertaining, working and lounging are separate from the sleeping area. Big picture windows with skyline views, photos of Chicago, zebra upholstery and unique layouts lend to a chic city vibe.
Features
Great city views might well be the most valuable cache for Chicago hotels and for the Inn of Chicago, this view comes at the Skyline Terrace on the 22nd floor. The Sky Suites also provide lofty views, while a dedicated party space accommodates up to 100 guests for weddings and other social events.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.8 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.7mi/2.7 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Business center work station
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 5,500 square feet of function space for up to 125 guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Concierge services
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Parking fees are as follows: $48 for self-parking and $52 for valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8928 -87.6231
Area served
.
Nearby airports
O'Hare Int'l Airport, (ORD), 18.00, N, Mile; Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.00, SE, Mile; Pal-Waukee Airport, (PWK), 22.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Ohio & St Clair

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NZ Travel Queen
Business
London
Oct 15, 2014

Fantastic location

This is a fantastic location just off the Magnificient Mile and a short walk to the Loop area. Reasonably priced and comfortable rooms. Room itself is reasonably sized for one or two people although decor is a little dated. Would have liked to have had the safe in the room but hotel has safe deposits behind reception. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
richie richie
Business
minneapolis
Oct 11, 2014

Kinda rough

Don't look around at the floors and walls. Gross too rough

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Agaither
Business
Kansas City, mo
Sep 26, 2014

Couples getaway

The hotel itself was very nice. The location was perfect. Our room on the other hand was not what I expected. It was small and cramped. The furniture and floor were out dated. It wasn't worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michael Jordans steak house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foodie Kerry
Business
Minnesota
Sep 24, 2014

Long weekend getaway

The Inn offers the use of their Sky Lounge. This is an awesome bonus. I'm sure they don't want to encourage smoking out there, but it does happen. Ash trays would be a nice extra. Also, by the end of our stay the single trash can was over flowing and didn't seem to have been emptied the entire time we were there. Having the use of the lounge made a big difference in our trip. The location of the Inn was perfect. We were able to walk or catch a bus to anything we wanted to do. The location had a big impact on why we choose the Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Girl and the Goat, well worth any wait you will have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lw76
Business
Indiana
Sep 22, 2014

Inn of Chicago

We had a good stay here. The staff was friendly. The hotel is dated and needs some upgrades but, overall it was clean and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ne3ker
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 21, 2014

You Get What You Pay For

I got there a bit early, parked my car via valet ($52 overnight (a bit high even for a city hotel)) and was told my room wasn't ready...which was fine since I was early. However when I returned at 2:00 I was told that they had moved me to another hotel due to some 'undetermined' reason. Since I had primarily booked The Inn because of location, I wasn't happy. When I asked about my car, the front desk went to check with the manager and then told me 'they found a room'. The only difficulty was that it wasn't ready and wasn't available until 6:00. My room was worn and tired but reasonably clean. A free bottle of water was a nice touch but the fact the room had no closet or no place to hand clothes was an unexpected annoyance. The staff was helpful and other than the room mixup, dealt with things fairly well. I ranked the hotel below average because my stay was a disincentive to visit again plus the initial problem with room and no closet. All in all, the room still cost more than $220 including tax but not parking. Not a horror movie but one guest in the elevator asked me if I knew if they had used the hotel as a site for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Indian Garden was pretty good and is only about a 5 minute walk from The Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MacoJack
Business
Stowe, Vt
Sep 19, 2014

Nice and clean

I like this hotel a lot. The room was small but enough for one person, the bathroom was the tiniest I've seen anywhere, but again, its ok when there is only one person in a queen bed room. I had a great time there, the staff was very nice and accommodating, especially the housekeeper Pernita who is also a very lovely, positive and charming lady to talk to and did a great job with cleaning my room. I love the rooftop terrace on the 22nd floor. It would be nice if they could open a bar up there that would offer coffee, wine, beer and liquor only, Maybe.....:) Overall, its a nice hotel and I would definitely come back in couple of months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tyrerious
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 17, 2014

Heart of the City, best with the lights off.

Perfect location in the heart of downtown with hundreds of excellent restaurants to eat at and attractions to visit. The staff were top echelon and very helpful. The building is very old and rooms are small, with ancient decor and uncomfortable beds. Paper-thin walls and windows made for a loud and restless night of sleep (the lumpy bed didn't help either). I spent as little time in the room as possible, but I wasn't there to lounge. For the price, it was the best I could expect. Bring ear plugs and enjoy Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig! Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelseyy
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Sep 15, 2014

Hotel this weekend

The hotel staff was rude. The sheets weren't the cleanest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Minnesota
Business
Minnesota
Sep 13, 2014

Short trip

Perfect location. Reasonable rates comparatively. Will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top