$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
240 reviews
Nice trip

I really like the location of this hotel. It is very easy to go to anyplace that you want to go.... See full review

  • Galaxy89
  • Dec 20, 2014
Holiday

Great location. Always enjoy this hotel. Staff is so nice. See full review

  • Kaydemmmmm
  • Dec 1, 2014
Contemporary style, European charm in Chicago
In the Roaring '20s, this boutique Streeterville hotel hosted celebrities and showgirls. While those times have faded, the air of glamour remains at the Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel. For proof, just stroll the lobby, where zebra ottomans, fresh-cut orchids and metallic embossed walls create drama and urban appeal. With its central location and focus on value, the Inn of Chicago is a gem for business or leisure travelers seeking convenient access to the Magnificent Mile and its many diversions.
Highlights
  • Prime Chicago location just east of Magnificent Mile
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary stay for children under 18
  • The 22nd floor Skyline Terrace
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Inn of Chicago feel more like apartments than hotel rooms, and that’s on purpose. Back in the 1920s, the former Hotel St. Clair offered one-bedroom apartments, and the effects linger today at the Inn of Chicago. Space for entertaining, working and lounging are separate from the sleeping area. Big picture windows with skyline views, photos of Chicago, zebra upholstery and unique layouts lend to a chic city vibe.
Features
Great city views might well be the most valuable cache for Chicago hotels and for the Inn of Chicago, this view comes at the Skyline Terrace on the 22nd floor. The Sky Suites also provide lofty views, while a dedicated party space accommodates up to 100 guests for weddings and other social events.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.8 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.7mi/2.7 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Business center work station
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 5,500 square feet of function space for up to 125 guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Concierge services
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Parking fees are as follows: $48 for self-parking and $52 for valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler51031
Business
Le Mars, Iowa
Oct 20, 2011

Very dissapointed!

Our check in was scheduled for 3pm and we arrived at 4pm. We were told our room was still dirty from the night before and told to wait 15 mins while it was cleaned. After waiting 30 mins in the lobby, we were told we could have a different room that was "traditional" and not yet remodeled rather than the one we had booked. Upon getting to this room, our bed had hair on it and the toilet was dirty. We were told by the Supervisor that we would be contacted and given a discount and we never heard from them. Very dissapointed. Turns out, only the bottom three floors of the hotel hav been renovated and the rest is old, dirty, not matching and smelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Down in the list
Business
Chicago
Jul 23, 2012

Disappointing

The hotel needs some work. I checked into a room in July and it was very warm inside. I checked the temperature control for the room and it was 79 degrees. The temperature control was set for the room to be 65 degrees. I called the desk and the lady who answered said, "is the air conditioner still leaking?". They checked me in a room that they knew was not ready to be occupied. That is indicative of the overall condition of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ReeseMae
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 5, 2012

NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED

I would look elsewhere before booking this hotel. The photos online are nothing like what it really is in person. The room was so small, my husband and I almost thought it was a joke when we opened the door. It was dingy...not a nice view. The AC unit is loud and doesnt work well. The bathroom was SO small...you could brush your teeth and spit into the sink while sitting on the toilet...it was so close. The toilet paper holder was rusted and looked ancient, but not in a cute vintage way...it looked like it needed serious updating. The sheets were scratchy and we both had a hard time falling asleep due to the discomfort. The biggest let down was that it made it seem so nice online. I live in the Chicagoland area and just wanted a nice weekend at a grerat hotel in the city. Unfortunately we were sorely disappointed with this place and will never go back. And I will never recommend it to anyone. Most people at least want to stay somewhere that looks nice...even if it is older. But this place was dingy and out of date. And the skyline terrace is quite small. If there are more than 3 or 4 couples up there it can be awkward. And there really isn't much of a view. You can see the top of the Trump Tower and top of the Hancock...but there is no view of the lake or Sears or anything else interesting. It just looks down to the street. It just was not what it was made out to be. I was so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier Magnificent Mile shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business.
Business
Michigan
Oct 5, 2012

Business trip

Not as advertised. Very dated and low ceilings in room make for uncomfortable stay. The bathrooms were more like a half bath with a shower stuck in.....small, dated, and not user friendly. From what I could tell the staff and location are the only things going for this hotel. Won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zoe84
Business
Canton, Michigan
Oct 19, 2012

The worst hotel ever

I paid $250 a night for 2 dbl beds. Upon my arrival, the room was so small, the bathroom has no counter, just the sink. Smelled very old.After complaining, they gave me a bigger room. I went to that room, and some guy was already in it. After the 3rd time, finally got a room a bit bigger but not very clean. The elevators were so small & old you could hear the cables making weird noises. I think they should consider this hotel as unsafe to be in operation. The room I was in was worth $40 not $250.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MK47SF
Business
San Francisco
Dec 9, 2012

nasty sheets

The room was semi clean and blankets/sheets were nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Bates
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 18, 2013

Is the Inn of Chocago really The Bates Hotel?

The room was dank and dark, The bathroom floor was dirty, grout was black. Hair in the tub. The towels were tattered, The hallways had the overwhelming smell of deodorizer, The cleaning staff did not speak any English. If I didn't prepay I would have left. It was the worst hotel ever. I'm sure the staff will comment to apologize, which fooled me into making this reservation,. I thought they were attentive or the complaints on line were "one offs". This place is a dump. They should be kicked off of Magnificent Mile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from hotel was an excellent Japanese Bento restaurant.Arami Go! Excellent food & service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChiCityLover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 3, 2013

Last resort

Only book this place if you are in desperate need of a place to sleep. We were unable to find ANY other hotel room in Chicago. The staff was rude, the valet was never around and it is the worst hotel room I have ever been in. We only slept in the hotel room, maybe spent about an hour total not sleeping. This place was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Woo
Business
los angeles
Jun 14, 2013

terrible

awful. no closet. dirty floor. dirty bed. dirty chair. reminded me of the motel that tom hanks had to go to in the movie Big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT GO TO THE 711 ACROSS THE STREET

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jacob1984
Business
Chicago
Sep 17, 2013

not pleased

had to argue with the front desk lady when checking in. she got really upset because i told her i reserved one king bed instead of 2 double beds. we argued for a while until i pulled out my phone, found the confirmation email and showed her. The room was small. not clean. the toilet barely worked. shower barely drained. the ceiling had mold. part of the ceiling above the shower actually looked like it was about to fall apart. the bath tub was dirty. the towels smelled like they were previously used and not washed. i could smell cologne on them(it was very distinct and strong smelling) . the only thing this place has going for it is the location. for the price, stay at another hotel. stay here at your own risk........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top