$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
252 reviews
great location, the room is big

great location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat... See full review

  • jason moon
  • Mar 20, 2014
Very good hotel

This hotel near the michgen ave, and that is very convince for going shopping! See full review

  • Ba147
  • Dec 20, 2013
Contemporary style, European charm in Chicago
In the Roaring '20s, this boutique Streeterville hotel hosted celebrities and showgirls. While those times have faded, the air of glamour remains at the Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel. For proof, just stroll the lobby, where zebra ottomans, fresh-cut orchids and metallic embossed walls create drama and urban appeal. With its central location and focus on value, the Inn of Chicago is a gem for business or leisure travelers seeking convenient access to the Magnificent Mile and its many diversions.
Highlights
  • Prime Chicago location just east of Magnificent Mile
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary stay for children under 18
  • The 22nd floor Skyline Terrace
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Inn of Chicago feel more like apartments than hotel rooms, and that’s on purpose. Back in the 1920s, the former Hotel St. Clair offered one-bedroom apartments, and the effects linger today at the Inn of Chicago. Space for entertaining, working and lounging are separate from the sleeping area. Big picture windows with skyline views, photos of Chicago, zebra upholstery and unique layouts lend to a chic city vibe.
Features
Great city views might well be the most valuable cache for Chicago hotels and for the Inn of Chicago, this view comes at the Skyline Terrace on the 22nd floor. The Sky Suites also provide lofty views, while a dedicated party space accommodates up to 100 guests for weddings and other social events.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.8 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.7mi/2.7 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Business center work station
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 5,500 square feet of function space for up to 125 guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Concierge services
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Parking fees are as follows: $48 for self-parking and $52 for valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8928 -87.6231
Area served
.
Nearby airports
O'Hare Int'l Airport, (ORD), 18.00, N, Mile; Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.00, SE, Mile; Pal-Waukee Airport, (PWK), 22.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Ohio & St Clair

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jacob1984
Business
Chicago
Sep 17, 2013

not pleased

had to argue with the front desk lady when checking in. she got really upset because i told her i reserved one king bed instead of 2 double beds. we argued for a while until i pulled out my phone, found the confirmation email and showed her. The room was small. not clean. the toilet barely worked. shower barely drained. the ceiling had mold. part of the ceiling above the shower actually looked like it was about to fall apart. the bath tub was dirty. the towels smelled like they were previously used and not washed. i could smell cologne on them(it was very distinct and strong smelling) . the only thing this place has going for it is the location. for the price, stay at another hotel. stay here at your own risk........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShoppingJen
Indiana
May 25, 2010

Great location, but that's about it...

The rooms were small, the bathroom was tiny, even the elevators were small.....claustrophobic. With 2 girls trying to get ready at the same time it was a pain! The bathroom was not clean at all. It was in a good location...we went shopping on the mile most of the time! Last time we went we stayed at the Sheraton four points hotel My friend and I were definitely kicking our selves for not going back there! The staff was not that friendly either. It was probably my fault I did not look before hand but you have to pay extra if you want a fridge in the room, internet, and parking cost us 37.00 a day. Again I probably should have paid more attention but after staying at the Sheraton last time this was included there! We will not be going back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shoppin & dining was all in a short walk from this hotel. We didn't have to take a taxi once.

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
firewallx
chicago
Jan 17, 2011

the inn of chicago .... prejudism at its

I came back from a gay bar across the street, someone on the night crew noticed. I called downstairs to request a wake up call, then called back to change the time (a total of 2 calls.) They sent up 2 people to my room, banging at around midnight saying that I was disruptive. Long story short, after the chicago police came and offered to drive me to any hotel, the inn of chicago tried to file charges against me, proclaiming I was disruptive. If you are 6 foot four with blonde hair and blue eyes, then you should have no problem at this hotel. Also, if you are obes, you will not fit into the bathroom entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rock2882
Business
San Diego
May 22, 2014

Room

When I got to the room I found old food on the floor and found hair on my bed. When I told the staff about it they did nothing. I will not be going back to this hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zoe84
Canton, Michigan
Oct 19, 2012

The worst hotel ever

I paid $250 a night for 2 dbl beds. Upon my arrival, the room was so small, the bathroom has no counter, just the sink. Smelled very old.After complaining, they gave me a bigger room. I went to that room, and some guy was already in it. After the 3rd time, finally got a room a bit bigger but not very clean. The elevators were so small & old you could hear the cables making weird noises. I think they should consider this hotel as unsafe to be in operation. The room I was in was worth $40 not $250.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cocaui
Detroit, MI
Dec 27, 2013

Partly satisfied but dissapointed

The customer service was excellent, but the room that we had, need some serious update. Lack of heat, lamps without switch, bed lamps that doesn't turn off, no blankets, I mean, there were just a bed and a desk. So imagine to sleep with your clothe on, your jacket, and with a lamp on... no mentioning that there were no snacks, water, or else... So, bottom line, we won't go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right next to Michigan Av where all the malls are and have different restaurants or coffee shops within one block or less

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Woo
Business
los angeles
Jun 14, 2013

terrible

awful. no closet. dirty floor. dirty bed. dirty chair. reminded me of the motel that tom hanks had to go to in the movie Big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT GO TO THE 711 ACROSS THE STREET

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business.
Business
Michigan
Oct 5, 2012

Business trip

Not as advertised. Very dated and low ceilings in room make for uncomfortable stay. The bathrooms were more like a half bath with a shower stuck in.....small, dated, and not user friendly. From what I could tell the staff and location are the only things going for this hotel. Won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler51031
Le Mars, Iowa
Oct 20, 2011

Very dissapointed!

Our check in was scheduled for 3pm and we arrived at 4pm. We were told our room was still dirty from the night before and told to wait 15 mins while it was cleaned. After waiting 30 mins in the lobby, we were told we could have a different room that was "traditional" and not yet remodeled rather than the one we had booked. Upon getting to this room, our bed had hair on it and the toilet was dirty. We were told by the Supervisor that we would be contacted and given a discount and we never heard from them. Very dissapointed. Turns out, only the bottom three floors of the hotel hav been renovated and the rest is old, dirty, not matching and smelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShoppingJen
Indiana
May 25, 2010

Great location, but that's about it...

The rooms were small, the bathroom was tiny, even the elevators were small.....claustrophobic. With 2 girls trying to get ready at the same time it was a pain! The bathroom was not clean at all. It was in a good location...we went shopping on the mile most of the time! Last time we went we stayed at the Sheraton four points hotel My friend and I were definitely kicking our selves for not going back there! The staff was not that friendly either. It was probably my fault I did not look before hand but you have to pay extra if you want a fridge in the room, internet, and parking cost us 37.00 a day. Again I probably should have paid more attention but after staying at the Sheraton last time this was included there! We will not be going back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shoppin & dining was all in a short walk from this hotel. We didn't have to take a taxi once.

Back to menu Return to top