$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
View map of 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bev
Business
St.Louis,Mo.
Aug 12, 2014

Location,locatio,location

The location couldn't have been better. Michigan ave.was just around the corner and we could walk to almost everything we wanted to see.Hotel staff were polite and helpful.The hotel needs a bit of upgrading and I wish our room would have had a safe. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanny89
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Great location, basic accomodations

The hotel was centrally located and it was easy for us to get around the city. The room was a bit shabby, there was a hole in the wall and it was a bit run down. We booked the room last minute and it was the best deal we could find so I feel like we got our moneys worth for the circumstances. It seems like they are slowly renovating so I would suggest booking early and requesting one of their new "modern style" rooms to avoid a similar rooming situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last minute deal catcher
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 11, 2014

Great location, average conditions

Could not have chosen a better situated hotel in Chicago. Hotel is located around the corner from Magnificent Mile and approximately four blocks from Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepi10
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 9, 2014

perfect location

The best part of my stay at this hotel is the service from the employees and the incredible location! I would definitely get a room with a king size bed as opposed to a standard room with 2 beds. Quite a difference in space and decor. The concierge gave great info on places to dine and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the Navy Pier go take the architectural tour on the lake with the company Shoreline Express. They were excellent and one of the highlights of my trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
turkem
Business
virginia
Aug 8, 2014

a bit run down

carpet was worn and wrinkled overall age and lack of upkeep made it seem somewhat dirty, even though it wasn't air conditioner worked poorly but did eventually cool the room would give qualified recommendation- based on budget and need to be downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

great location to shopping and bus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarciaCLS
Business
Honolulu
Aug 4, 2014

Great location

This hotel was a great deal for downtown Chicago. The room was small, but comfortable, although the a/c was quite loud. The staff were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBAtkins
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 1, 2014

Fine hotel located near fantastic attractions

Location and staff friendliness are what distinguishes this otherwise pedestrian hotel from the rest. The building has an old/historic appeal, but the interior is starting to show its age. Expect the room to be clean and functional, but don't expect the *wow* factor of higher end hotels. My interactions with the staff (front desk, housekeeping, etc.) were all very pleasant and helpful. But the location/value is what would bring me back. This property is located near Michigan Ave, near the river, close to Miracle Mile and the lake, and surrounded by lots of great dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chef's Burger Bistro and Emilio's Tapas are great options and are located within a block or two of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany the Travelor
Business
Southern Illinois
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Week Getaway

I stayed with my friend for a shopping trip. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Definitely will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggsperience is just a couple blocks down and is the best breakfast I think I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuetip
Business
Lambertville , MI
Jul 29, 2014

visiting family; going to Antique roadshow

Overall we were pleased with our hotel experience; room was clean & the beds were comfortable. there was a lack of hangers and the closet was way to small. Also with only 3 elevators sometimes there was a wait to get on the elevator. Also ice machines were only on even numbered floors and most of the time we had to down to the 4th floor and we were on the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting Northwestern U.
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 28, 2014

Great Location but Rooms Not Updated

The hotel was in a great location but the rooms are very stale and have not been updated in some time. Overpriced hotel compared to similar hotels in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top