$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
View map of 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed7
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2014

Disappointed

Parking was NOT come and go unlimited times we had to leave the car there our whole stay. The room was very very outdated. There was no iPod radio hookup like the description said. The bathroom was very very small (2 people can't be in it at the same time). The lobby was really nice but once you go up to the rooms it looks completely different. Price was slightly cheaper than other I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R J Avid Travelers
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 25, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better Location!!

This hotel was located steps from Michigan Ave where you do all your shopping, so many fantastic plaes to eat all around you. Staff was awesome, even brought an extra blanket to our room at 1:30 am because I got too cold! Wish they had mini fridges and I wish the rooftop terrace stayed open later than 10:00 pm but we were enjoying the city all night so we can't really complain. Will def stay here again. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Rosebud if you want a fantastic nice Italian dinner, it's 5 blocks from the hotel and an easy walk, even in 4 inch heels :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
srwal
Business
Edina MN
Aug 19, 2014

Extended stay in Chicago

The location is good and accessable to getting around on transit, etc, but the room was very small, especially the bathroom....no place to set things. The room could use a facelift and a deeper cleaning job. We moved to this hotel for economic reasons after attending a conference in a hotel right on Michigan Ave. However, we might stay here again on another visit because of the value and location just off Michigan Ave. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved our lunch at The Grand Luxe on Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie A A
Business
Champlin, MN
Aug 19, 2014

Great Location!

We went to Chicago for the downtown experience, the hotel location was perfect for us! Our first room was small and the air conditioner did not work. The staff immediately switched us to a different room and it was a bigger style, we were impressed! The hotel was clean and what I expected for the lower price, perfect for a weekend get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Navy Pier, very short easy walk, rent a bike and ride up and down the coast! Worth the money and you will make the most of your time! Great thing to do!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goin' Places
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 18, 2014

Not Bad But Not Amazing

The location is great and the hotel is fairly nice. The air conditioning in both my room and my parents room did not work well. The towel bar in my bathroom was coming off the wall and the sink backed up so i'm not too sure that routine maintenance is being done. The rooms are also very small. However, the bed is extremely comfortable and that is a primary concern for me. The lobby is very nice and there is a good music selection playing so it is a great place to hang out for a few minutes after walking around all day. The lounge area on the roof is also a great place to bring a drink and enjoy the view. Despite the issues with the room, I would still recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicago Newbie6
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 12, 2014

Feedback

Overall, I was surprised with how small the room was. The personnel was top notch and very accommodating. The location was amazing just wish the view from room 408 was not the condenser unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Luckily cabs are the way to travel around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bev
Business
St.Louis,Mo.
Aug 12, 2014

Location,locatio,location

The location couldn't have been better. Michigan ave.was just around the corner and we could walk to almost everything we wanted to see.Hotel staff were polite and helpful.The hotel needs a bit of upgrading and I wish our room would have had a safe. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanny89
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Great location, basic accomodations

The hotel was centrally located and it was easy for us to get around the city. The room was a bit shabby, there was a hole in the wall and it was a bit run down. We booked the room last minute and it was the best deal we could find so I feel like we got our moneys worth for the circumstances. It seems like they are slowly renovating so I would suggest booking early and requesting one of their new "modern style" rooms to avoid a similar rooming situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last minute deal catcher
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 11, 2014

Great location, average conditions

Could not have chosen a better situated hotel in Chicago. Hotel is located around the corner from Magnificent Mile and approximately four blocks from Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepi10
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 9, 2014

perfect location

The best part of my stay at this hotel is the service from the employees and the incredible location! I would definitely get a room with a king size bed as opposed to a standard room with 2 beds. Quite a difference in space and decor. The concierge gave great info on places to dine and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the Navy Pier go take the architectural tour on the lake with the company Shoreline Express. They were excellent and one of the highlights of my trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top