$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
260 reviews
Third stay and we love it,

Perfect location! Blocks away from everything you want to do in Chicago! We found the beach down... See full review

  • BocamomX2
  • Jul 24, 2014
great location, the room is big

great location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat... See full review

  • jason moon
  • Mar 20, 2014
Contemporary style, European charm in Chicago
In the Roaring '20s, this boutique Streeterville hotel hosted celebrities and showgirls. While those times have faded, the air of glamour remains at the Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel. For proof, just stroll the lobby, where zebra ottomans, fresh-cut orchids and metallic embossed walls create drama and urban appeal. With its central location and focus on value, the Inn of Chicago is a gem for business or leisure travelers seeking convenient access to the Magnificent Mile and its many diversions.
Highlights
  • Prime Chicago location just east of Magnificent Mile
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary stay for children under 18
  • The 22nd floor Skyline Terrace
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Inn of Chicago feel more like apartments than hotel rooms, and that’s on purpose. Back in the 1920s, the former Hotel St. Clair offered one-bedroom apartments, and the effects linger today at the Inn of Chicago. Space for entertaining, working and lounging are separate from the sleeping area. Big picture windows with skyline views, photos of Chicago, zebra upholstery and unique layouts lend to a chic city vibe.
Features
Great city views might well be the most valuable cache for Chicago hotels and for the Inn of Chicago, this view comes at the Skyline Terrace on the 22nd floor. The Sky Suites also provide lofty views, while a dedicated party space accommodates up to 100 guests for weddings and other social events.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.8 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.7mi/2.7 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Business center work station
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 5,500 square feet of function space for up to 125 guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Concierge services
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Parking fees are as follows: $48 for self-parking and $52 for valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8928 -87.6231
Area served
.
Nearby airports
O'Hare Int'l Airport, (ORD), 18.00, N, Mile; Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.00, SE, Mile; Pal-Waukee Airport, (PWK), 22.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Ohio & St Clair

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pipeski
Lake Forest, IL
Nov 18, 2013

We'll stay here every time we go downtown!

This is the best deal in downtown Chicago! The rooms aren't big or fancy - not so much as a painting on the walls, but it's spotless, and what they do have is of nice quality. New TVs, comfortable sheets and towels, fun loby and cafe, very friendly doormen and staff... They even have room service, which surprised me since it is technically an "inn." The reason for the 3 on room comfort was the bed itself. The mattress in our room will need to be replaced soon. My husband and I woke up nose to nose in the middle of the bed a couple of times over the course of our stay. That is to say, the bed sagged in the middle a bit. However, neither of us ever woke up with back pain or anything like that, so it wasn't extreme and it certainly won't stop us from staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than half a block from the Magnificent Mile! Walking distance to just about anything downtown - just bring your gym shoes.

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Med student with Friends
New Orleans, LA
Nov 11, 2013

Med Stud, Doctor, and Accountant

Staff very helpful with early check in, holding bags while we explored even after check out, and letting my party check in without me (I was late in arriving). Overall great price for location. Were able to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Med student with Friends
New Orleans, LA
Nov 11, 2013

Great deal

Good quality for price and area. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff provided great assistance with holding luggage after check out, early check in, and allowed the rest of my party to check in as I was delayed in travelling to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neil p
Business
Madison
Oct 30, 2013

Chicago Business Trip

Great location and value. If you don't require a large room, this is very adequate, Clean and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block to Michigan Avenue and North Western Medical.

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montwills
Palos Heights
Oct 28, 2013

Perfect Location and wonder sky deck

Staff was super friendly! The room was awesome but a little dry, I got a nose bleed after one night, but I didn't mind. We were so close to everything, we were right in the thick of the city and we loved it. I think this is going to be our go to place to stay from now on. Thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emlio's tapas was very good and just down the street on Ohio. (East)

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal customer
Indianapolis
Oct 15, 2013

Great trip

The staff at the Inn were very helpful, despite it being the weekend of a marathon. Kudos to the valet staff who were courteous and honest. Rooms were small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spot for those who love shopping.

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler MI
Business
Michigan
Oct 8, 2013

Great Location

Great location, friendly staff. The hotel is a good value for a convenient place to stay. Slow crowded elevators!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kukellie
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Came into the city for a music festival. Inn of Chicago was perfect for our purposes. Check-in was easy, they provided us with a map to get to/from the venue. Bus stops and train stops were mere blocks away. The bathroom is super small. But why do you really need a big bathroom anyway? We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jacob1984
Business
Chicago
Sep 17, 2013

not pleased

had to argue with the front desk lady when checking in. she got really upset because i told her i reserved one king bed instead of 2 double beds. we argued for a while until i pulled out my phone, found the confirmation email and showed her. The room was small. not clean. the toilet barely worked. shower barely drained. the ceiling had mold. part of the ceiling above the shower actually looked like it was about to fall apart. the bath tub was dirty. the towels smelled like they were previously used and not washed. i could smell cologne on them(it was very distinct and strong smelling) . the only thing this place has going for it is the location. for the price, stay at another hotel. stay here at your own risk........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stewey
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2013

No Parking

The hotel itself was fine, but there was no where to park our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top