$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
236 reviews
Third stay and we love it,

Perfect location! Blocks away from everything you want to do in Chicago! We found the beach down... See full review

  • BocamomX2
  • Jul 24, 2014
great location, the room is big

great location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat location, the room is biggreat... See full review

  • jason moon
  • Mar 20, 2014
The Inn of Chicago, a landmark building recently transformed into a sleek and contemporary design, is located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago, 1/2 block from Michigan Avenue, easy walking distance to Navy Pier, Millenium Park, State St. shopping and right in the heart of downtown corporate offices. This is the perfect location for business and leisure travelers seeking Michigan Avenue accommodations and convenient access to world reknown shopping, entertainment and the best restaurants that Chicago has to offer. Michigan Avenue is calling you to visit us. Internet charge in rooms: 9.95 /day. Off site Indoor Parking: 1/2 block from hotel. Self Parking: 36.00 per day Valet Parking: 41.00 per day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anairda
Washington DC
Nov 26, 2012

Fair price and a good place

The hotel is a inn. So, don't expect to be treated like a king, but it is functional and this is what matters. The room is not big but it is comfortable. Clean and the Location is great. Really close to the Michigan and State Avenues. The cafe beside the Hotel is a good place to take breakfast and you also have other options near it. Chicago is a wonderful city and this hotel contributes to this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Movie City Tour - It is really worthwhile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie A A
Business
Champlin, MN
Aug 19, 2014

Great Location!

We went to Chicago for the downtown experience, the hotel location was perfect for us! Our first room was small and the air conditioner did not work. The staff immediately switched us to a different room and it was a bigger style, we were impressed! The hotel was clean and what I expected for the lower price, perfect for a weekend get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Navy Pier, very short easy walk, rent a bike and ride up and down the coast! Worth the money and you will make the most of your time! Great thing to do!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goin' Places
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 18, 2014

Not Bad But Not Amazing

The location is great and the hotel is fairly nice. The air conditioning in both my room and my parents room did not work well. The towel bar in my bathroom was coming off the wall and the sink backed up so i'm not too sure that routine maintenance is being done. The rooms are also very small. However, the bed is extremely comfortable and that is a primary concern for me. The lobby is very nice and there is a good music selection playing so it is a great place to hang out for a few minutes after walking around all day. The lounge area on the roof is also a great place to bring a drink and enjoy the view. Despite the issues with the room, I would still recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicago Newbie6
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 12, 2014

Feedback

Overall, I was surprised with how small the room was. The personnel was top notch and very accommodating. The location was amazing just wish the view from room 408 was not the condenser unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Luckily cabs are the way to travel around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bev
Business
St.Louis,Mo.
Aug 12, 2014

Location,locatio,location

The location couldn't have been better. Michigan ave.was just around the corner and we could walk to almost everything we wanted to see.Hotel staff were polite and helpful.The hotel needs a bit of upgrading and I wish our room would have had a safe. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanny89
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Great location, basic accomodations

The hotel was centrally located and it was easy for us to get around the city. The room was a bit shabby, there was a hole in the wall and it was a bit run down. We booked the room last minute and it was the best deal we could find so I feel like we got our moneys worth for the circumstances. It seems like they are slowly renovating so I would suggest booking early and requesting one of their new "modern style" rooms to avoid a similar rooming situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last minute deal catcher
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 11, 2014

Great location, average conditions

Could not have chosen a better situated hotel in Chicago. Hotel is located around the corner from Magnificent Mile and approximately four blocks from Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepi10
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 9, 2014

perfect location

The best part of my stay at this hotel is the service from the employees and the incredible location! I would definitely get a room with a king size bed as opposed to a standard room with 2 beds. Quite a difference in space and decor. The concierge gave great info on places to dine and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the Navy Pier go take the architectural tour on the lake with the company Shoreline Express. They were excellent and one of the highlights of my trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
turkem
Business
virginia
Aug 8, 2014

a bit run down

carpet was worn and wrinkled overall age and lack of upkeep made it seem somewhat dirty, even though it wasn't air conditioner worked poorly but did eventually cool the room would give qualified recommendation- based on budget and need to be downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

great location to shopping and bus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarciaCLS
Business
Honolulu
Aug 4, 2014

Great location

This hotel was a great deal for downtown Chicago. The room was small, but comfortable, although the a/c was quite loud. The staff were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBAtkins
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 1, 2014

Fine hotel located near fantastic attractions

Location and staff friendliness are what distinguishes this otherwise pedestrian hotel from the rest. The building has an old/historic appeal, but the interior is starting to show its age. Expect the room to be clean and functional, but don't expect the *wow* factor of higher end hotels. My interactions with the staff (front desk, housekeeping, etc.) were all very pleasant and helpful. But the location/value is what would bring me back. This property is located near Michigan Ave, near the river, close to Miracle Mile and the lake, and surrounded by lots of great dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chef's Burger Bistro and Emilio's Tapas are great options and are located within a block or two of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top