$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
240 reviews
Nice trip

I really like the location of this hotel. It is very easy to go to anyplace that you want to go.... See full review

  • Galaxy89
  • Dec 20, 2014
Holiday

Great location. Always enjoy this hotel. Staff is so nice. See full review

  • Kaydemmmmm
  • Dec 1, 2014
Contemporary style, European charm in Chicago
In the Roaring '20s, this boutique Streeterville hotel hosted celebrities and showgirls. While those times have faded, the air of glamour remains at the Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel. For proof, just stroll the lobby, where zebra ottomans, fresh-cut orchids and metallic embossed walls create drama and urban appeal. With its central location and focus on value, the Inn of Chicago is a gem for business or leisure travelers seeking convenient access to the Magnificent Mile and its many diversions.
Highlights
  • Prime Chicago location just east of Magnificent Mile
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary stay for children under 18
  • The 22nd floor Skyline Terrace
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Inn of Chicago feel more like apartments than hotel rooms, and that’s on purpose. Back in the 1920s, the former Hotel St. Clair offered one-bedroom apartments, and the effects linger today at the Inn of Chicago. Space for entertaining, working and lounging are separate from the sleeping area. Big picture windows with skyline views, photos of Chicago, zebra upholstery and unique layouts lend to a chic city vibe.
Features
Great city views might well be the most valuable cache for Chicago hotels and for the Inn of Chicago, this view comes at the Skyline Terrace on the 22nd floor. The Sky Suites also provide lofty views, while a dedicated party space accommodates up to 100 guests for weddings and other social events.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.8 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.7mi/2.7 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Business center work station
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 5,500 square feet of function space for up to 125 guests
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Concierge services
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: Parking fees are as follows: $48 for self-parking and $52 for valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel Rooms

1 King Bed, No Smoking
Desk, Radio-Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kramedog
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 2, 2014

Great spot!

Such a great location. Really can't get much better if you are wanting to be close to the Mag Mile, Navy Pier, and Oak St beach. Room was rather small but it got the job done. Staff was helpful. Parking with valet was about $53 per day which is comparable for that area. Definitely would be open to coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the major attractions. All walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed7
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2014

Disappointed

Parking was NOT come and go unlimited times we had to leave the car there our whole stay. The room was very very outdated. There was no iPod radio hookup like the description said. The bathroom was very very small (2 people can't be in it at the same time). The lobby was really nice but once you go up to the rooms it looks completely different. Price was slightly cheaper than other I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R J Avid Travelers
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 25, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better Location!!

This hotel was located steps from Michigan Ave where you do all your shopping, so many fantastic plaes to eat all around you. Staff was awesome, even brought an extra blanket to our room at 1:30 am because I got too cold! Wish they had mini fridges and I wish the rooftop terrace stayed open later than 10:00 pm but we were enjoying the city all night so we can't really complain. Will def stay here again. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Rosebud if you want a fantastic nice Italian dinner, it's 5 blocks from the hotel and an easy walk, even in 4 inch heels :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
srwal
Business
Edina MN
Aug 19, 2014

Extended stay in Chicago

The location is good and accessable to getting around on transit, etc, but the room was very small, especially the bathroom....no place to set things. The room could use a facelift and a deeper cleaning job. We moved to this hotel for economic reasons after attending a conference in a hotel right on Michigan Ave. However, we might stay here again on another visit because of the value and location just off Michigan Ave. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved our lunch at The Grand Luxe on Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie A A
Business
Champlin, MN
Aug 19, 2014

Great Location!

We went to Chicago for the downtown experience, the hotel location was perfect for us! Our first room was small and the air conditioner did not work. The staff immediately switched us to a different room and it was a bigger style, we were impressed! The hotel was clean and what I expected for the lower price, perfect for a weekend get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Navy Pier, very short easy walk, rent a bike and ride up and down the coast! Worth the money and you will make the most of your time! Great thing to do!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goin' Places
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 18, 2014

Not Bad But Not Amazing

The location is great and the hotel is fairly nice. The air conditioning in both my room and my parents room did not work well. The towel bar in my bathroom was coming off the wall and the sink backed up so i'm not too sure that routine maintenance is being done. The rooms are also very small. However, the bed is extremely comfortable and that is a primary concern for me. The lobby is very nice and there is a good music selection playing so it is a great place to hang out for a few minutes after walking around all day. The lounge area on the roof is also a great place to bring a drink and enjoy the view. Despite the issues with the room, I would still recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicago Newbie6
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 12, 2014

Feedback

Overall, I was surprised with how small the room was. The personnel was top notch and very accommodating. The location was amazing just wish the view from room 408 was not the condenser unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Luckily cabs are the way to travel around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bev
Business
St.Louis,Mo.
Aug 12, 2014

Location,locatio,location

The location couldn't have been better. Michigan ave.was just around the corner and we could walk to almost everything we wanted to see.Hotel staff were polite and helpful.The hotel needs a bit of upgrading and I wish our room would have had a safe. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanny89
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2014

Great location, basic accomodations

The hotel was centrally located and it was easy for us to get around the city. The room was a bit shabby, there was a hole in the wall and it was a bit run down. We booked the room last minute and it was the best deal we could find so I feel like we got our moneys worth for the circumstances. It seems like they are slowly renovating so I would suggest booking early and requesting one of their new "modern style" rooms to avoid a similar rooming situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn of Chicago, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last minute deal catcher
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 11, 2014

Great location, average conditions

Could not have chosen a better situated hotel in Chicago. Hotel is located around the corner from Magnificent Mile and approximately four blocks from Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top