$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

4 stars
View map of 2233 South Martin Luther King Dr, CHICAGO, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
185 reviews
Overall great stay

room was set up great for working related stay. Bar menu was rather limited. Workout facilities... See full review

  • Jessica B.
  • Apr 25, 2015
REcruiting Trip - Chicago

An outstanding hotel. Perfect location, plenty of restaurants, and ammenities were great. See full review

  • sdb617
  • Apr 23, 2015
Follow the conventioneers to adjacent McCormick Place

If Chicago is a convention town, Hyatt Regency McCormick Place is the unofficial headquarters. Access to McCormick Place doesn't get any more convenient-- guests can walk to social events, conventions or trade shows via a connected covered bridge. This chic hotel also offers a boardroom glam lobby and enormous meeting rooms and banquet halls. Rooms feature sweeping views of the Chicago skyline, including Soldier Field, Willis Tower and Lake Shore Drive.

Highlights
  • Direct access to McCormick Place
  • Close to Soldier Field, U.S. Cellular Field, the Field Museum and other Chicago landmarks
  • City and Lake Michigan views
  • Hospitality suites, meeting rooms and banquet space
  • Indoor lap pool and fitness center
Rooms
After a $110-million dollar renovation, guests can now throw curtains open and admire sweeping views of the Chicago skyline, Museum Campus, Soldier Field, or Lake Michigan. All guest rooms are equipped with work desk, iHome with iPod docking station, individual climate control system, complimentary Wi-Fi access, 42-inch flat-screen TVs with expanded HD channel selection, refrigerators, safes to fit your laptop, designer bath products, and technology jack packs with HDMI, iPod/iPhone, VGA, USB, video/audio, and RCA capabilities. 
Features
Playing host to hundreds of thousands of visitors every year is no easy feat, but that's precisely the business of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. While many guests conduct business next door at McCormick Place, there is plenty of meeting and ballroom space onsite to host meetings or throw a wedding or company party. To ensure that work needs are met, a business center is open 24 hours for fax, print, copy and shipping services.
When it's time to unwind, grab a workout in the fitness center, relax in the sauna or swim laps in the indoor pool. Shor, a contemporary seafood and steak restaurant, aims for upscale dining, while Forno, a casual Italian eatery, offers lunch on-the-go.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (20 mi/32.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Monroe to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (next door)
Attractions
  • Soldier Field
  • U.S. Cellular Field
  • Field Museum
  • Shedd Aquarium
  • Adler Planetarium
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • Adjacent and connected to McCormick Place
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space, including two ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center with fax, print, copy and shipping services
  • Collating services for presentation materials
  • All meeting rooms feature individual controls for temperature, sound, music, telephones, multiple electrical/microphone outlets, special lighting effects and 110V/220V single-phase electricity
  • Catering available via Regency Caterers

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency McCormick Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan Rooms have 1 King Bed or 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. - One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of w
Standard
Standard Rooms have 1 King Bed or 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Solarium
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • McCormick Place: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.4 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.8 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.3 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.6 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.7 mi
  • McCormick Place: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.4 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.8 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.3 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.6 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 2 mi
  • State Street: 2.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 2.1 mi
  • Union Station: 2.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 2.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.4 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Marina City: 2.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.6 mi

Dining

Daily Grind
Coffee bar/Sundry/Gift Shop. Offering Starbucks coffee service along with local and seasonal food and beverages. Open 24 hours, 7 days a week - Hours subject to change based on hotel occupancy.
M/X Lounge
Located on the first floor of the hotel next to SHOR restaurant. Brick-oven pizza served. TV's everywhere for local/national news, sports news and events. Open 7 days a week, 2:00pm-12:00am. Food available up to midnight. - Hours subject to change.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hockey nut2
Business
Chicago
Mar 22, 2014

family hockey game

Everything was great Location was near the event within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Native Chicagoian
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 17, 2009

Never Again!

Parking Fees are outrageous, I would advise you to use valet at $38 per day, it is cheaper than paying $16 each time you want to leave the hotel. Talk about nickle and dime, they charged for everything. Nice hotel, but I was very disappointed. I was given a credit because the 1st room they sent me to was dirty, then my key didn't work, then the valet lost my car. It has been 3 weeks and I am fighting with them[...]trying to get the credit. Talk about a nightmare!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay at another hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parnaz 1
Business
Orange county, CA
Jun 5, 2014

worst hotel I have ever been

We spend 5 nights in the hotel for the conference. I had to call few times to get some one to clean the room. I found cockroaches in the bed . we had to change our room to the other room because of the insects. I got many insect bites and was uncomfortable whole time you could not find any clean place around the hotel. very scary neighborhoods. we chose this hotel for the conference and the convenience of having access to the convention center but if I knew I would have chosen a hotel in downtown. such a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soccer Fan Couple
Business
Madison, Wi
Jun 8, 2009

Not what I expected...

My husband and I booked a reservation at the Hyatt Regency Hotel and from the moment we arrived I was less than impressed. When we arrived there was nobody to help us with our bags, no direction or assistance in the lobby, just the desk clerks standing behind the desk with a blank stare, all dressed in dreary misc black clothing. I reserved a smoking room with a king size bed and that was not available either, only double beds and non smoking....not exactly a romantic setting for our weekend get away. The one thing that was convenient was the location. Our trip was planned around the Usa vs Honduras soccer match at Soldier Field. We were within walking distance from the stadium which was great. The staff, besides the bell hop we were able to track down, was less than helpful. A cup of coffee was 9 dollars and not very good. The hotel had a strange landscape and setting, not very sensible or appealing to the eye. The lake view in the room was nice but not spectacular. Neither Orbitz or the hotel website happened to mention the outrageous parking fees of $27 a day and I didnt dare ask how much it was for valet... The rooms were clean. The beds were uncomfortable and the sheets were scratchy. The rooms were either freezing for scalding hot, no happy medium. Needless to say I would not book another room at this hotel unless it was last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora
Jun 15, 2008

My review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place-Chicago

The Hyatt Mccormick Hotel's dining room staff and Valet service, and Star Buck Coffee employees were some of the most unfriendly and mean people I have ever met. There seemed to be a desire to not put forth good customer service for hotel clients. The check in staff was very nice and accomodated me when the maid did not clean our room properly. I was so surprised that a 4 star hotel as the Hyatt, would keep on their payroll employees who do not represent them professionally or with good customer service. I will never recommend any one to stay at this paticular Hyatt because of the unfriendly staff who were aloof, uncaring, rude attitudes who have the nerve to work in the hospitality industry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was about 2 miles from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Millie412
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Oct 10, 2010

Cahicago Meetin10/10

I arrived at the hotel to find that the King bed I was supposed to have was not available and ended up with a sofa bed for 3 nights. The front desk manager apparently was not well trained upon my arrival. Upon departure, the front desk staff seemed to get upset because I wasn't given what I was offered at arrival due to the lack of room availability

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Native Chicagoian
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 17, 2009

Never Again!

Parking Fees are outrageous, I would advise you to use valet at $38 per day, it is cheaper than paying $16 each time you want to leave the hotel. Talk about nickle and dime, they charged for everything. Nice hotel, but I was very disappointed. I was given a credit because the 1st room they sent me to was dirty, then my key didn't work, then the valet lost my car. It has been 3 weeks and I am fighting with them[...]trying to get the credit. Talk about a nightmare!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay at another hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 18, 2007

My review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place-Chicago

The room was small for the price and lacked amenities such as a coffeemaker. The hotel itself was only convenient to the convention center and there was nothing close by in form of entertainment or restaurants. Although it advertises stores/amenities at convention center, most of them were closed. Would probably stay elsewhere if attending a convention at McCormick Place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JGBBIS
Business
Tarzana, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

A convention facility

The Hotel is adjacent to the convention center & is near nothing else. A taxi or a car rental is required to go anywhere. Valet parking @ $44/day is unreasonable & self -parking @ $33/day is also a hidden "rip-off". The Hotel is showing age & is a Hyatt Regency in name only. Even the bed linens did not fit the beds properly & the curtain for the closet door was in poor taste. My iPhone would not fit the nano adapter in the I-home. There will never be a next time here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Unless you like McDonalds, be prepared to eat in the hotel facilities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerry72150
Business
Tupelo, MS
Nov 5, 2011

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

For the price, I found it more along the line of a 2 star due to the small rooms. I requested a city view & lake view room. The city view was good but the lake view room you got had a very limited view of the lake. Staff was well trained and presented themselves professionaly. Parking fees at the hotel was $88 for two days. It's location to points of interest was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try taking your car anywhere in downtown Chicago except to get out of there. It's cheaper to travel by taxi than to pay the parking fees IF you can find one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top