$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

4 stars
2233 South Martin Luther King Dr, CHICAGO, IL 60616
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
229 reviews
Great location, great view

If you stay here, get a room with a view. The room was clean, comfortable, and the view was simply... See full review

  • CYMAK
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice view.

The staff was extremely courteous and professional. The view was perfect, and the location was... See full review

  • Shmeow
  • May 12, 2014
Follow the conventioneers to adjacent McCormick Place

If Chicago is a convention town, Hyatt Regency McCormick Place is the unofficial headquarters. Access to McCormick Place doesn't get any more convenient-- guests can walk to social events, conventions or trade shows via a connected covered bridge. This chic hotel also offers a boardroom glam lobby and enormous meeting rooms and banquet halls. Rooms feature sweeping views of the Chicago skyline, including Soldier Field, Willis Tower and Lake Shore Drive.

Highlights
  • Direct access to McCormick Place
  • Close to Soldier Field, U.S. Cellular Field, the Field Museum and other Chicago landmarks
  • City and Lake Michigan views
  • Hospitality suites, meeting rooms and banquet space
  • Indoor lap pool and fitness center
Rooms
After a $110-million dollar renovation, guests can now throw curtains open and admire sweeping views of the Chicago skyline, Museum Campus, Soldier Field, or Lake Michigan. All guest rooms are equipped with work desk, iHome with iPod docking station, individual climate control system, complimentary Wi-Fi access, 42-inch flat-screen TVs with expanded HD channel selection, refrigerators, safes to fit your laptop, designer bath products, and technology jack packs with HDMI, iPod/iPhone, VGA, USB, video/audio, and RCA capabilities. 
Features
Playing host to hundreds of thousands of visitors every year is no easy feat, but that's precisely the business of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. While many guests conduct business next door at McCormick Place, there is plenty of meeting and ballroom space onsite to host meetings or throw a wedding or company party. To ensure that work needs are met, a business center is open 24 hours for fax, print, copy and shipping services.
When it's time to unwind, grab a workout in the fitness center, relax in the sauna or swim laps in the indoor pool. Shor, a contemporary seafood and steak restaurant, aims for upscale dining, while Forno, a casual Italian eatery, offers lunch on-the-go.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (20 mi/32.1 km)
  • Midway Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Monroe to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (next door)
Attractions
  • Soldier Field
  • U.S. Cellular Field
  • Field Museum
  • Shedd Aquarium
  • Adler Planetarium
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • Adjacent and connected to McCormick Place
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space, including two ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center with fax, print, copy and shipping services
  • Collating services for presentation materials
  • All meeting rooms feature individual controls for temperature, sound, music, telephones, multiple electrical/microphone outlets, special lighting effects and 110V/220V single-phase electricity
  • Catering available via Regency Caterers

Hotel Map

41.8522 -87.6189
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 23.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 10.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency McCormick Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan Rooms have 1 King Bed or 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. - One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of w
Standard
Standard Rooms have 1 King Bed or 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Solarium
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • McCormick Place: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.4 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.8 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.3 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.6 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.7 mi
  • McCormick Place: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.4 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.8 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.3 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.6 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 2 mi
  • State Street: 2.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 2.1 mi
  • Union Station: 2.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 2.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.4 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Marina City: 2.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.6 mi

Dining

Daily Grind
Coffee bar/Sundry/Gift Shop. Offering Starbucks coffee service along with local and seasonal food and beverages. Open 24 hours, 7 days a week - Hours subject to change based on hotel occupancy.
M/X Lounge
Located on the first floor of the hotel next to SHOR restaurant. Brick-oven pizza served. TV's everywhere for local/national news, sports news and events. Open 7 days a week, 2:00pm-12:00am. Food available up to midnight. - Hours subject to change.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spacecadet
Business
los angeles, california
Apr 18, 2012

Best Bed EVER

Just stayed one night while in Chicago for a job interview. I almost never get any sleep in hotels but this place had THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed I've ever slept in...PERIOD. Lots of pillows, bolsters. Such a relief especially since I had to be well-rested for a job interview. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and seemingly happy to help in any way possible. The main restaurant was lovely, with...oddly enough...really great ambient music playing. I had "Eggplant lasagna" for dinner and it was PHENOMENAL... so much so that I practically dissected it so I could figure out how to do what they did at home! The waitress told me the secret ingredient that made the dish as scrumptious as it was. Can't wait to try it at home! I was sad that I only stayed one night. It's right next to the convention center so not located downtown, but cabs are abundant and not that expensive. This Hyatt is close to the museums in town--a pleasant walkable distance from the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum, and of course the lake shore, and a short cab ride to the Museum of Science and Industry (that cost $13 so split between 2 or more people, it's a great way to get around).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King for a Day
Business
Illinois, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great Weekend Trip

Was comfy and close enough to all our destinations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hepmom
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel

This hotel never disappoints. If you are in town for an event at McCormick Place or Soldier Field, the location is PERFECT! It's always a great value. Room service is quick and the food is superb. The rooms are bright and very well kept. Modern styling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired fire chief
Plainwell, Michigan
Mar 19, 2012

The Room

We had a great experience there was only two issues, one the accent pillows had stains all over them and two the A/C didn't work when we first got there, however, the maintenance guy came up when we called it was a very simple issue but he took the time to explain it to me...staff was fantastic overall a great experience and we plan on coming back in a couple of months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingTom
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Excellent hotel

Excellent service and a very comfortable room, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pasl
Business
miami, fl
Feb 14, 2012

chicago feb 8 to 12

Check in was smooth, but at first he wanted to give me twin bedded room and not the king I had paid for.... remineded that I had prepaid king... capitulated and gave me a room with a good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cityhopping
Business
New York
Feb 5, 2012

Stop over for work

Location was good if you are going to McCormick place for a conference. The bar had average food, but was fairly over priced. Nothing bad overall, but nothing special either. Good place to stay for work trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerry72150
Tupelo, MS
Nov 5, 2011

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

For the price, I found it more along the line of a 2 star due to the small rooms. I requested a city view & lake view room. The city view was good but the lake view room you got had a very limited view of the lake. Staff was well trained and presented themselves professionaly. Parking fees at the hotel was $88 for two days. It's location to points of interest was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try taking your car anywhere in downtown Chicago except to get out of there. It's cheaper to travel by taxi than to pay the parking fees IF you can find one.

Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melzy
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Getaway

I enjoyed my time in chicago. This was my first time ever and the hyatt was so convenient because my friends lived .3 miles away. It was a very pretty room and I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JGBBIS
Tarzana, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

A convention facility

The Hotel is adjacent to the convention center & is near nothing else. A taxi or a car rental is required to go anywhere. Valet parking @ $44/day is unreasonable & self -parking @ $33/day is also a hidden "rip-off". The Hotel is showing age & is a Hyatt Regency in name only. Even the bed linens did not fit the beds properly & the curtain for the closet door was in poor taste. My iPhone would not fit the nano adapter in the I-home. There will never be a next time here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Unless you like McDonalds, be prepared to eat in the hotel facilities.

Back to menu Return to top