$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Hyatt Regency Chicago

4 stars
151 East Wacker Dr, On the Riverwalk, CHICAGO, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
732 reviews
Great!

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Chicago, it was very clean and the staff was very helpful.... See full review

  • Stephano D
  • Sep 4, 2014
Birthday Trip

The hotel was absolutely perfect for the location and for the price. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Mike Plummer
  • Sep 2, 2014
Experience the mid-city excitement of Chicago with a stay at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, a pillar of The Windy City's urban landscape. Expansive open-plan areas are flanked by sloping staircases and sprawling sofas, while the burgers at BIG bar are every bit as huge as the window panoramas. As a convention venue, its ballrooms are grand, and its grocery store Market Chicago provides for the lunch-on-the-go crowd. There's even a private self-serve business center with high-speed Internet (fees may apply) and color printing for Regency Club members. Sink a few billiard balls at DaddyO's Pub and Game Room to finish off the day.
Key facts
  • 2,019 guestrooms
  • 119 guest suites
  • 63 meeting facilities
  • In-room dining service
  • Currency exchange service
  • Fitness center
  • 4 restaurants and lounges: Stetsons Modern Steak + Sushi, American Craft Kitchen & Bar, BIG Bar, DaddyO's Pub & Game Room
  • Market Chicago store
  • 70,000-square-foot exhibition hall
  • Valet and self-parking facilities
Neighborhood
The Hyatt Regency Chicago is one of six Hyatt hotels in the Windy City, located on East Upper Wacker Drive and connected to the Illinois Center. Explore the seemingly endless shops and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile from the front door, or check the exhibitions and performances schedule at Millennium Park. The fairground thrills of Navy Pier are also just to the east of the hotel. A glance at the nearby Chicago River reveals a fairly steady stream of ferry boats and gondolas; come down at twilight for a river cruise as the city lights dance on the water.
Hints and tips
Ask for a room with a view of Navy Pier if you're staying over a Wednesday or Saturday, to watch the twice-weekly fireworks displays from the comfort of your accommodation.

Fitness addicts can access the gym at the Hyatt Regency Chicago around the clock, and there's also a jogger's path along the nearby Riverwalk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8875 -87.6222
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 16.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Chicago Rooms

Concierge
Splurge on the luxurious pampering offered by our Regency Club. Enjoy exclusive access to the private Regency Club Lounge on the penthouse level of the West Tower. Relish one of the best views of the city while you unwind or have a drink before heading ou
Standard
The contemporary decor boasts natural earth tones accented by beautiful vibrant colors. Stay productive and connected at an oversized work desk with a comfortable swivel chair, wireless and high speed Internet access, data port and two phones with voicema

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

Stetson s Steak Sushi
Chicago's signature steak restaurant, Stetson's features USDA prime steak, incredibly succulent seafood and mouthwatering desserts. Experience a traditional Chicago steakhouse at its finest. Stetson's is open for dinner. Live entertainment is featured in
American Craft
Dine surrounded by a 4,000 square-foot reflecting pond with fountains. At night, suspended theatrical lighting provides dramatic illumination. American Craft specializes in a variety of American and Mediterranean cuisine, served with cutting edge present
Market Chicago
Market Chicago offers a quick breakfast, lunch or snack on the go, featuring such items as breakfast sandwiches, fruit, pastries, deli sandwiches, cereal, frozen entrees, juices, teas and freshly brewed coffee drinks. We Proudly Brew Starbucks Coffee! Op

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
732 out of 732
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
briddle214
Frankfort, KY
Nov 26, 2012

Third time is NOT the charm!

I have stayed here twice before and it was a nice hotel and good experience. However, from the moment we got there last week, it was one thing after another. It took 30 minutes to check in. Once we got to the room, the key card did not work. I made 2 trips down to the front dest for new cards (waiting in line, again). They didn't work so they finally decided it was a faulty lock. We stood in the hall for over an hour while they tried to fix it.; the staff made no attempt to put us in another room or even apologize! When the housekeeping staff cleaned the room, they didn't replace the shampoos or the coffee. The hotel was very disorganized and it was not a good experience! I will not stay there, again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield MO
Jan 17, 2011

Not Happy

I paid for king bed and they tried to stick me in a single. I had to settle for a queen. I am 6"6 soI really wanted what I paid for. [...]Then the TV would not work, they came up and fixed it and themn it would not go off. Not a great stay. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St.Louis
Nov 29, 2008

I was very disapointed

no one told me about the parking that it cost 48 dollars, the room was so small and noisy, the elevator was not working out of 6 there was only one working, it took me one hour and fifteen minutes to get to the checkout, the staff was not nice. I PROBABLY WOULD NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL IN THE FUTURE. (HYATT REGENCY)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 25, 2007

Terrible slow, ...

Terrible slow, inefficient check in (30 Minutes) Dirty restrooms in lobby area! Great workout area and well maintained. Poor restaurants in hotel Room clean and well maintained by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good dining nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Dirty Hotel

The rooms were dirty. Hair on the restroom walls, the mirror in the restroom had stuff on it. The carpet had stains. The window of the room was filty. I could not believe this was a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dwill
Iowa City, IA
Jun 29, 2010

Really loud, wouldn't stay again

The walls are paper thin! The doors have huge air spaces below them so you can hear everything happening in the rooms around and above you (not to mention the loud banging of housekeeping in the hallways). The room and bathroom was not very clean when we got there. The staff were nice, but everything was understaffed so there were huge lines and a long wait time for everything (check in-check out-valet). Forget asking questions at the concierge unless you wanted to wait 45 min to even get to the front of the line. The beds were fairly nice, however cramped. It's worth the extra price to stay elsewhere (Omni, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Samuel JJJ
Business
Canfield, OH 44406, USA
Oct 17, 2011

I was Robbed!!!!!!

The Valet parking attendant stole 5 Cd's from the vehicle and my regrestration and insurance cards. When I called I was told by Hyatt Corp. that maybe someone off the street did this. Not acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed traveler 195
Chicago
Dec 24, 2012

Or Bitz customers are second class

we reserved a room for my family , myself, wife and 2 kids, with two double beds a month in advance, we were stuffed into a small room with a king and a roll -away. They told us they did not have any more rooms with 2 doubles, and since we reserved through Or Bitz we only get a standard room. Very uncomfortable. Hotel had one tower under renovation and was disorganized through out the entire building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
michigan
Dec 7, 2009

Poor all around

I consider myself a very accepting person, meaning I rarely submit poor opinions on anything even if I feel that I should. In this case however there were so many things that I thought I should. On a positive the staff was polite and the room was clean, after that it just went down hill. THe room was very noisy, both from street noise and interior noise. I had to produce noise (fan, tv, etc...) to drowed it out. The shower head was at a hieght for vertically challenged people. I am only 6 feet and struggled. It took 15 minutes to get a taxi cab. I caould not believe the wait. To tcheck my bags the wait was even longer. TO top it off, I waited 30 minutes for my car to be retrieved from the valet. Just to find out they retrieved the wrong car. It took 5 minutes of arguing to convince them it was not my car and another 15 minutes for them to get the correct one. It is possible I just ran into t abad weekend at this hotel, but for the money I spent I will not try it again when there are so many other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bloomfield, MI
Oct 6, 2009

Very bad customer service,

I booked a king size room for two nights, and called the hotel to let them know that I will arrive very late. They assured me that this will be OK. when I arrived I was told that they don't have any more king size rooms, and that they are sorry to give me the Qeen size room, I had no choise but to take it thinking it is just a smaller room, and that next day I will be moved to the King size bed Room, I was wrong, this was a very small room, with a powerful Mildew smell, dirty carpet, very noisey furnace, I called the front desk, they didn't really care, I had a slepless night with a terrible Headache from the smell and the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search