$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Hyatt Regency Chicago

4 stars
151 East Wacker Dr, On the Riverwalk, CHICAGO, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
732 reviews
Relaxing Chicago Trip

The valet helped us locate a hard to find destination by turn by turn directions. He was fantastic.... See full review

  • Divers galore
  • Aug 20, 2014
Hyatt

Very modern and sophisticated, awesome location. Only negative was the food served at the bar. See full review

  • Tookie's mom
  • Aug 20, 2014
Experience the mid-city excitement of Chicago with a stay at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, a pillar of The Windy City's urban landscape. Expansive open-plan areas are flanked by sloping staircases and sprawling sofas, while the burgers at BIG bar are every bit as huge as the window panoramas. As a convention venue, its ballrooms are grand, and its grocery store Market Chicago provides for the lunch-on-the-go crowd. There's even a private self-serve business center with high-speed Internet (fees may apply) and color printing for Regency Club members. Sink a few billiard balls at DaddyO's Pub and Game Room to finish off the day.
Key facts
  • 2,019 guestrooms
  • 119 guest suites
  • 63 meeting facilities
  • In-room dining service
  • Currency exchange service
  • Fitness center
  • 4 restaurants and lounges: Stetsons Modern Steak + Sushi, American Craft Kitchen & Bar, BIG Bar, DaddyO's Pub & Game Room
  • Market Chicago store
  • 70,000-square-foot exhibition hall
  • Valet and self-parking facilities
Neighborhood
The Hyatt Regency Chicago is one of six Hyatt hotels in the Windy City, located on East Upper Wacker Drive and connected to the Illinois Center. Explore the seemingly endless shops and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile from the front door, or check the exhibitions and performances schedule at Millennium Park. The fairground thrills of Navy Pier are also just to the east of the hotel. A glance at the nearby Chicago River reveals a fairly steady stream of ferry boats and gondolas; come down at twilight for a river cruise as the city lights dance on the water.
Hints and tips
Ask for a room with a view of Navy Pier if you're staying over a Wednesday or Saturday, to watch the twice-weekly fireworks displays from the comfort of your accommodation.

Fitness addicts can access the gym at the Hyatt Regency Chicago around the clock, and there's also a jogger's path along the nearby Riverwalk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8875 -87.6222
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 16.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Chicago Rooms

Concierge
Splurge on the luxurious pampering offered by our Regency Club. Enjoy exclusive access to the private Regency Club Lounge on the penthouse level of the West Tower. Relish one of the best views of the city while you unwind or have a drink before heading ou
Standard
The contemporary decor boasts natural earth tones accented by beautiful vibrant colors. Stay productive and connected at an oversized work desk with a comfortable swivel chair, wireless and high speed Internet access, data port and two phones with voicema

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

Stetson s Steak Sushi
Chicago's signature steak restaurant, Stetson's features USDA prime steak, incredibly succulent seafood and mouthwatering desserts. Experience a traditional Chicago steakhouse at its finest. Stetson's is open for dinner. Live entertainment is featured in
American Craft
Dine surrounded by a 4,000 square-foot reflecting pond with fountains. At night, suspended theatrical lighting provides dramatic illumination. American Craft specializes in a variety of American and Mediterranean cuisine, served with cutting edge present
Market Chicago
Market Chicago offers a quick breakfast, lunch or snack on the go, featuring such items as breakfast sandwiches, fruit, pastries, deli sandwiches, cereal, frozen entrees, juices, teas and freshly brewed coffee drinks. We Proudly Brew Starbucks Coffee! Op

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
732 out of 732
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 6, 2008

Mini-bar problems

My only complaint about the Hyatt Regency Chicago concerns their in-room mini-bar. If you even move an item in the bar (like pick it up to look at it) you are charged for that item. There is a sensor system in the fridge that monitors when an item is moved, and then automatically charges you for that item, even if you only moved it and did not, in fact, consume it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 1, 2007

Great amenities

I like the fact that the Hyatt is located in walking distance of shopping and good eating places. I thought the eating places in the Hotel had great food. The Hotel room was clean and very comfortable. Room service was great. I just loved the whole atmosphere of the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a shortwalk to shopping on North Michigan ave and the Watertower Place.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Aug 21, 2007

Fantastic Chicago Location

The Hyatt Chicago was a beautiful hotel in a prime Chicago location. The location is right on the river between the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park. The room was comfortable, but could use a more comfortable chair to relax in. The refrigerator could not be used for personal items, and if you moved something your room was automatically charged. The lighting level in the bathroom was a bit dim, although the bathroom was quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The interactive artwork and amphitheatre are spectacular. The boat tour entrance is right in front of the hotel and are a definite must do.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Aug 19, 2007

Room Cleanliness

Even though my overall experience was favorable, I was greatly disappointed in the condition of the bathroom upon my arrival. I appeared the housekeeping staff started cleaning the room and for whatever reason left before finishing the bathroom. Additionally, the were dishes from a previous occupant's room service outside my room door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the breakfast buffet is the best I've had, especially for the price.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Good Location

While this was a great location downtown, the hotel is very old or at least appeared to be very lived in. The room was clean, but dingy in that makes sense. A very nice bar and entertainment venue, great service and perfect location made it worth it though. For the price, it was fine for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 8, 2007

Comfortable

The staff was very friendly and thorough at check-in. They upgraded my room which was a very pleasant surprise. The room had a fantastic view - saw a great Fireworks show! I was very disappointed that the sheets were not changed daily...nor did I see a card to place on my bed to change the bed linens. I had to write a note. The towels were great - carpet not as clean as it should be. Overall satisfied and will stay again. Shopping is not easily accessable unless you really like walking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stewart Field/Newbur, NY
May 19, 2007

business hotel that we used for vacation

When the front desk heard that we were in Chicago just for vacation, they upgraded our room for free. I think the only complaint about our room is that we were near the ice machine, which was extremely noisy after midnight over the weekend when the after wedding crowd was in. The concierge service was great and able to help us with all our dining and transportation questions. No need for a rental car at this hotel, most tourist spots are easily accessible by walking, bus or el train. Food choices at the hotel were minimal and some pricey, but there are so many choices within walking distance of the hotel, it really made no differnce to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the magnificent mile is well within wqlking distance. We also walked along chicago river to Navy Pier and many other attractions on the north side of Chicago. Bus transportation was super easy and inexpensive, as well as tourist friendly.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinnydollars
Lemont, Illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Nice Place

Very nice place to stay downtown. The only complaint I have is there were not enough towels and soaps. Also the floor in the Bathroom wasn't cleaned very well. Great view with my upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Suite Lounge and fireplace Inn in Old town.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iron Man 3
Surprise, AZ
Jun 18, 2014

Overrated

The bed was wonderful! Very comfortable and we slept very well at night. Nice view of downtown Chicago - all high-rise; OK if you like that kind of thing. The river walk has nothing but water and concrete; no place to stop or trap some eats and coffee. The hotel was extremely noisy and the restaurants are expensive. Don't drive a car , parking is $59/ night, but with the package deal I had, they deducted it after I complained. No free Internet access. All-In-All, we do not plan to stay at a Hyatt again and I am a Hyatt Gold Member!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smileme
Business
atlanta, GA
May 31, 2014

academic conference

bad internet, high price of the banquet. i feel unsatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search