$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Hyatt Regency Chicago

4 stars
View map of 151 East Wacker Dr, On the Riverwalk, CHICAGO, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
743 out of 743
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJtoOC
Business
Orange County, California
Sep 4, 2014

Quality Hotel at a Good Price

This review was for Labor Day Weekend, which understandably was a zoo. On my first leisure trip to Chicago. The Good: -Great location to be able to walk everywhere in downtown Chicago (We walked to Millenium Park, Shedd Aquarium, French Market, & the Willis Tower. We cabbed it to and from the Girl & the Goat. approx $10 each way with tip) -All of the quality of toiletries, bed/bedding, and cleanliness you would expect from a Hyatt Regency -Provided a late checkout of 1 pm without any problem. The Not So Good: -Free wifi in Lobby was difficult at best -The valet parking is very expensive! (But that is standard in a city.) And while I know it was Friday evening of Labor day weekend, but it was pretty ugly. There were too many cars and not enough attendants. Also be forewarned, even when they were not busy at all leaving Sunday evening they estimate 20 minutes for your to receive your car. Plan ahead! -The business center charged us for use of the internet and charged for each piece of paper printed (approximated $7.50 to print 2 tickets). Normally when you want to print tickets, business centers do not charge you. Overall a quality hotel and a great price comparable to other hotels for the same weekend. I would return if the rates were similar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Purchase tickets to the main attractions ahead of time and consider the CityPass if you are going to go to several of the main attractions. Buying the tickets ahead of time for the Shedd Aquarium saved us hours by not having to wait on the line to purchase tickets in person or the line for will call. If you do buy and print your tickets ahead of time, go through the Membership doors and go straight to the Information desk with your printed tickets for your wrist band. We also went to the Willis Tower. My tip is to realize that there is not only a line to buy your tickets and go up to the Observation Deck with the Glass Ledges, but there is also a line to get back down. Plan your day accordingly

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stat traveler
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 3, 2014

Great weekend visit

The Hyatt Regency was an excellent place to stay. Centrally located, great helpful staff, and comfortable rooms. We would stay again next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Plummer
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Sep 2, 2014

Birthday Trip

The hotel was absolutely perfect for the location and for the price. The location couldn't have actually been better. We were there for the concert at Soldier field Sunday. Took a cab there and walked back and it wasn't bad. Also really close to all the shopping along Michigan Ave. So many restuarants within close distance. The hotel is excellent and a great renovation! Definitely will be coming back again and staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel Scotty's Mom
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Sep 2, 2014

Great location...great lobby

Within walking distance to nice restaurants and nice views of the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dapromoboys
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 1, 2014

Labor Day in Chicago

The hotel staff was fantastic. They went out of their way to make this trip very memorable. We ate at 3 of the 4 restaurants in the hotel and the food was outstanding. We visited the Chicago Riverwalk, Navy Pier, Milliennium Park and shopped on the Mag Mile all of which are not very far from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Divers galore
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Aug 20, 2014

Relaxing Chicago Trip

The valet helped us locate a hard to find destination by turn by turn directions. He was fantastic. Our room was so perfect and the bed so comfortable we extended our stay by another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is not as far as you think. We saw a free airshow while dipping our toes in Lake Michigan.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tookie's mom
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Aug 20, 2014

Hyatt

Very modern and sophisticated, awesome location. Only negative was the food served at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Laura
Business
avon ohio
Aug 18, 2014

Fantastic location and hotel

Can't wait to return. Clean, friendly, great restaurant, lounge. Near river, shopping, navy pier. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birthday girl30
Business
texas
Aug 12, 2014

birthday vay kay

We were more than pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and style of this hotel. The only gripes I have are the elevators, mini bar, and our room bill. We spent 4 nights hanging out in Chicago over a Birthday wknd so there was a lot of us going in and out of our room. The elevators were on the fritz. It was annoying, but not horrible by any means. They had four elevators in the lobby to get up to you room and you'd still have to stand there for 5 minutes waiting to leave or get back upstairs. On our last morning my friends and I got the hotel bill and divided it up so everybody paid their share. I had booked a package deal a month in advance for flight and hotel. I wasn't sure yet how much was hotel and how much was for my airfare so I waited until we all go the bill. That way if an extra person showed up or someone cancelled we could figure it all out at the end. Come to find out a week later the hotel bill was $112 cheaper than what I was charged through the travel site. I called their customer service number and the agent for the travel agency called the hotel and was informed we got the wrong bill. Huh? How does that happen?? It had our room # and correct check-in and check-out dates. The other issue with the bill was the mini bar situation. We asked them to remove the mini bar so no one ate or drank anything while staying in our room. We were there to celebrate a birthday so of course there was alcohol involved. We got charged for items that we didn't use. Again, it wasn't horrible just annoying. We complained and got it taken off before we left. The other thing with the mini bar was space in the fridge. You couldn't fit any leftovers or beverages in the fridge because of the pre-stocked items. My friend asked them to remove it to avoid all issues with the mini bar but they avoided actually doing it by giving some lame excuse. Honestly though, nicest hotel I've stayed in. After you get over all the petty little things to complain about. Staff was nice and super helpful with giving recommendations and directions for walking around town. they stored our luggage for a couple hours after check out until our train departure time. the location was good but not awesome. They had a full bar and restaurant downstairs, but no continental breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

uber is great for a quick ride. Grab a coffee at the nearby Dunkn' Donuts and enjoy a walk less than a mile or two to any fun thing to do around town.

Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santo02071985
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Great location

Staff was fairly friendly. Service at the restaurant was rather slow, considering I was one of about 6 patrons dining at the time. Rooms were very clean. Location was absolutely perfect, close to everything we wanted to experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top