$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Hyatt Regency Chicago

4 stars
151 East Wacker Dr, On the Riverwalk, CHICAGO, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
738 reviews
Great!

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Chicago, it was very clean and the staff was very helpful.... See full review

  • Stephano D
  • Sep 4, 2014
Birthday Trip

The hotel was absolutely perfect for the location and for the price. The location couldn't have... See full review

  • Mike Plummer
  • Sep 2, 2014
Experience the mid-city excitement of Chicago with a stay at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, a pillar of The Windy City's urban landscape. Expansive open-plan areas are flanked by sloping staircases and sprawling sofas, while the burgers at BIG bar are every bit as huge as the window panoramas. As a convention venue, its ballrooms are grand, and its grocery store Market Chicago provides for the lunch-on-the-go crowd. There's even a private self-serve business center with high-speed Internet (fees may apply) and color printing for Regency Club members. Sink a few billiard balls at DaddyO's Pub and Game Room to finish off the day.
Key facts
  • 2,019 guestrooms
  • 119 guest suites
  • 63 meeting facilities
  • In-room dining service
  • Currency exchange service
  • Fitness center
  • 4 restaurants and lounges: Stetsons Modern Steak + Sushi, American Craft Kitchen & Bar, BIG Bar, DaddyO's Pub & Game Room
  • Market Chicago store
  • 70,000-square-foot exhibition hall
  • Valet and self-parking facilities
Neighborhood
The Hyatt Regency Chicago is one of six Hyatt hotels in the Windy City, located on East Upper Wacker Drive and connected to the Illinois Center. Explore the seemingly endless shops and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile from the front door, or check the exhibitions and performances schedule at Millennium Park. The fairground thrills of Navy Pier are also just to the east of the hotel. A glance at the nearby Chicago River reveals a fairly steady stream of ferry boats and gondolas; come down at twilight for a river cruise as the city lights dance on the water.
Hints and tips
Ask for a room with a view of Navy Pier if you're staying over a Wednesday or Saturday, to watch the twice-weekly fireworks displays from the comfort of your accommodation.

Fitness addicts can access the gym at the Hyatt Regency Chicago around the clock, and there's also a jogger's path along the nearby Riverwalk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Chicago Rooms

Concierge
Splurge on the luxurious pampering offered by our Regency Club. Enjoy exclusive access to the private Regency Club Lounge on the penthouse level of the West Tower. Relish one of the best views of the city while you unwind or have a drink before heading ou
Standard
The contemporary decor boasts natural earth tones accented by beautiful vibrant colors. Stay productive and connected at an oversized work desk with a comfortable swivel chair, wireless and high speed Internet access, data port and two phones with voicema

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

Stetson s Steak Sushi
Chicago's signature steak restaurant, Stetson's features USDA prime steak, incredibly succulent seafood and mouthwatering desserts. Experience a traditional Chicago steakhouse at its finest. Stetson's is open for dinner. Live entertainment is featured in
American Craft
Dine surrounded by a 4,000 square-foot reflecting pond with fountains. At night, suspended theatrical lighting provides dramatic illumination. American Craft specializes in a variety of American and Mediterranean cuisine, served with cutting edge present
Market Chicago
Market Chicago offers a quick breakfast, lunch or snack on the go, featuring such items as breakfast sandwiches, fruit, pastries, deli sandwiches, cereal, frozen entrees, juices, teas and freshly brewed coffee drinks. We Proudly Brew Starbucks Coffee! Op

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (738)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
738 out of 738
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sparker
Moline, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Weekend get away

Even though they were under construction, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Plummer
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Sep 2, 2014

Birthday Trip

The hotel was absolutely perfect for the location and for the price. The location couldn't have actually been better. We were there for the concert at Soldier field Sunday. Took a cab there and walked back and it wasn't bad. Also really close to all the shopping along Michigan Ave. So many restuarants within close distance. The hotel is excellent and a great renovation! Definitely will be coming back again and staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jillnbob
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 2, 2014

Great Stay

Stayed Labor Day Weekend, busy weekend. We checked in very late after a delayed flight, staff were patient, helpful and accommodating. We booked a double queen, asked for a king with a view when we got there. First night had a king, not a great view, but they called us the next morning and offered to move us. We moved across the street, still had a king bed and an awesome view! Location, location, location. We could easily get to everything we needed, including the EL that we took in and out of the city from OHare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the EL to and from OHare, round trip for 2 cost $12.00 and easy!! Walk is about 7 blocks to Hotel, sounds longer than it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dapromoboys
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 1, 2014

Labor Day in Chicago

The hotel staff was fantastic. They went out of their way to make this trip very memorable. We ate at 3 of the 4 restaurants in the hotel and the food was outstanding. We visited the Chicago Riverwalk, Navy Pier, Milliennium Park and shopped on the Mag Mile all of which are not very far from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Divers galore
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Aug 20, 2014

Relaxing Chicago Trip

The valet helped us locate a hard to find destination by turn by turn directions. He was fantastic. Our room was so perfect and the bed so comfortable we extended our stay by another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is not as far as you think. We saw a free airshow while dipping our toes in Lake Michigan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tookie's mom
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Aug 20, 2014

Hyatt

Very modern and sophisticated, awesome location. Only negative was the food served at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Laura
Business
avon ohio
Aug 18, 2014

Fantastic location and hotel

Can't wait to return. Clean, friendly, great restaurant, lounge. Near river, shopping, navy pier. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birthday girl30
Business
texas
Aug 12, 2014

birthday vay kay

We were more than pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and style of this hotel. The only gripes I have are the elevators, mini bar, and our room bill. We spent 4 nights hanging out in Chicago over a Birthday wknd so there was a lot of us going in and out of our room. The elevators were on the fritz. It was annoying, but not horrible by any means. They had four elevators in the lobby to get up to you room and you'd still have to stand there for 5 minutes waiting to leave or get back upstairs. On our last morning my friends and I got the hotel bill and divided it up so everybody paid their share. I had booked a package deal a month in advance for flight and hotel. I wasn't sure yet how much was hotel and how much was for my airfare so I waited until we all go the bill. That way if an extra person showed up or someone cancelled we could figure it all out at the end. Come to find out a week later the hotel bill was $112 cheaper than what I was charged through the travel site. I called their customer service number and the agent for the travel agency called the hotel and was informed we got the wrong bill. Huh? How does that happen?? It had our room # and correct check-in and check-out dates. The other issue with the bill was the mini bar situation. We asked them to remove the mini bar so no one ate or drank anything while staying in our room. We were there to celebrate a birthday so of course there was alcohol involved. We got charged for items that we didn't use. Again, it wasn't horrible just annoying. We complained and got it taken off before we left. The other thing with the mini bar was space in the fridge. You couldn't fit any leftovers or beverages in the fridge because of the pre-stocked items. My friend asked them to remove it to avoid all issues with the mini bar but they avoided actually doing it by giving some lame excuse. Honestly though, nicest hotel I've stayed in. After you get over all the petty little things to complain about. Staff was nice and super helpful with giving recommendations and directions for walking around town. they stored our luggage for a couple hours after check out until our train departure time. the location was good but not awesome. They had a full bar and restaurant downstairs, but no continental breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

uber is great for a quick ride. Grab a coffee at the nearby Dunkn' Donuts and enjoy a walk less than a mile or two to any fun thing to do around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santo02071985
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Great location

Staff was fairly friendly. Service at the restaurant was rather slow, considering I was one of about 6 patrons dining at the time. Rooms were very clean. Location was absolutely perfect, close to everything we wanted to experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrezVW
Business
Geneva, NY
Aug 7, 2014

Recommended

Pleasant staff. Modern, updated rooms with consistently good housekeeping. Good location to access great restaurants and sights. Initially upgraded me to a room on the 36th floor (top floor) of the West Tower next to the Presidential Suite. Great view, but the room did not have a desk and I needed more work space, so they immediately accommodated me to a standard room that had everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little supermarket with a deli counter open till midnight only a block away (when you just want some munchies and a beverage).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melchiori
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 5, 2014

Great relaxing anniversary trip

This hotel was very accommodating, comfortable, and near everything. This was the first time we stayed here. Staff was very polite and helpful. Room was roomy, remodeled, and bed was very comfortable. The fitness center was one of the best around in comparison to ore downtown hotels. I enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store right behind the store that has everything you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top