$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
234 reviews
Best experience in Chicago!

The hotel was in prime location. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They brought me a... See full review

  • Brandon S.
  • Jul 22, 2015
Excellent

It's a great hotel, I gave it 5 stars overall. It's a little expensive but you will be in a perfect... See full review

  • Mark L.
  • Jul 21, 2015

In mid-2013, the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was transformed from an outdated hotel to a sophisticated haven for travelers looking to enjoy the Windy City in style and comfort. In 2014, the hotel was even ranked the top Hyatt hotel for service. All rooms now feature automatic lighting that illuminates the floor when you get out of bed, a mini-fridge and a signature Hyatt Grand Bed. This Four Diamond hotel boasts exceptional views of the city, luxurious amenities, and a modern on-site restaurant, Level Two, which grooves with live entertainment to complement the tasty food. Outside the hotel, your entertainment, dining and shopping experiences stretch for miles in every direction.

Location

The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is located one block from the cultural hub of Oak Street, with nonstop dining and entertainment options all along the way. There are close to 300 restaurants, and nearly 500 stores and boutiques in the area, many of which can be reached on foot from the Hyatt. Whether you enjoy shopping for designer cosmetics or taking a historic tour, the hotel puts you close to some of Chicago's most choice attractions. To immerse yourself in a bit of genuine Chicago culture, check out the nearby Museum of Contemporary Art.

Highlights

  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Whirlpool
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee shop
  • Bar
  • 2 ballrooms
  • Conference and event space

Policies

If you want a spacious room with the best style upgrades, book an executive suite.

Ask for a room with a great view if you wish to look out on the Windy City from a comfortable vantage point.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Oversized Corner Guestroom:
RunOfHouse
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.3 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.3 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Caliterra Bar
Serving light fare when the Grille is closed.
Caliterra Bar Grille
Blending the best influences of classic Tuscan and contemporary Northern Californian cuisines, Caliterra Bar & Grill offers a bold menu inspired by pure flavors and creative fusion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JeremyandBeth
Business
Effingham, IL
Jan 18, 2012

NEVER AGAIN!

Our trip to this hotel was short and simple...until we got the additional parking charges of $54 for one night! There was no notification of additional charges, or any suggestion of parking charges on their website at the time of booking, it was simply put on our credit card and billed to us after our stay. Hidden fees are not acceptible. I will never stay at a Wyndam Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMbill
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Sleepless night

There were problems with the heating system and the pipes were banging every 15 minutes. The noise was so loud that it sounded like some one was breaking into the room. This was worst night ever in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris in LBC
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 20, 2012

Opened too Soon

The Hyatt had just purchased this location from Wyndham. Rather than taking the time to make needed fixes (working ice machines, non-temporary fixtures, loose hardware) and simple upgrades (television was till a rounded tube box, radio alarm was a discman), or even cleaning out the Wyndham's mess (there were still champing dishes, roll carts, panini presses, and an old school credit card processor in the hall, RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR DOOR), they just opened the place with the Hyatt name, suckers--err, guests be damned. Our room wasn't even ready, an hour after checking, and we had to rush to make our dinner show. Two thumbs down for this luxurious-looking sham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy 100
Business
Iowa
Feb 14, 2013

Not a positive experience

The hotel is being renovated, which it would have been nice to have been given this disclaimer in advance. Starting at 8 am to 5 pm was the symphonic sounds of hammering, drilling, slamming, and pounding. Additionally, $25 was billed to my credit card for mystery charges that I know i did not accrue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YA Unhappy Biz Traveler
Business
All Over, United States
Apr 9, 2013

Too many 'Gotchas'

We were not well informed that this hotel is under renovation (it is in teeny, tiny print at the end of the reservation but should be IN BIG BOLD LETTERS!). Noise was horrible all day, Many amenities were either completely unavailable or had extremely limited times of availability. As for the renovations, they are doing a lousy job. The place may LOOK nice but the walls are paper thin. We were kept up most night by people TALKING - albeit in slightly above normal volume - but they're voices - and words - were clear. Also, parts of our "Renovated" room fell apart while we were staying there. Then there are all the "Incidentals" you will charged for: Contnental Breakfast - $18 a plate, Internet - $11 a day, Parking - $54 a day. Who knows what else because we stopped using any of the hotels "Amenities" Never going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Line stops less than 4 blocks away. Drop your luggage off for check in then go park at a MUCH cheaper lot along the Red Line and take it back to the hotel. Use Mass Transit...CTA is much cheaper than the valet service.

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ruben and Co.
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Restless 4th

I was excited to be able to stay in a hotel that was nearby to many of the tourist locations in Chicago on 4th of July weekend. That excitement quickly faded as we found out they had overbooked the hotel and were not able to provide us with a room with 2 beds. There was no option for a rollaway bed, second room or even a discounted price... hello floor!. Most other hotels go out of their way when they are at fault but not this one. My sore neck is a reminder of what was supposed to be an amazing 4th of July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alisoninmi
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Nov 23, 2014

Hot tub currently broken

Stayed here last year and loved it. We returned for a second stay, however service has gone way downhill. We are currently staying here and the hot tub is broken, and from what we've been told, no one is even trying to fix it. Such a bummer as with the weather, that was a major highlight of our trip (as is for most in Chicago in winter). You'd think it would be a priority for them to fix it - at least to recognize it's broken. I ordered a wine key and had to call three times to get it. I waited an hour and a half. Incredibly disappointed so far. If I was able to, I'd check out tomorrow and move to the Omni. Sadly, my rate is non-refundable and I'm stuck here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EggNoggStick
Business
Ames
May 2, 2015

A horrible experience

My husband and I were very excited to stay Here for our one year wedding anniversary. From the second we got here it has been a terrible experience. We paid extra money for a corner room with a king bed. When we checked in we could barely hear the lady as the check in was located next to the bar and in a large space that echoed. We got to our room only to find that it faced the local hospital. In the ten minutes we were in the room three ambulences came screaming past. It was overwhelmingly loud. We asked for a room on the opposite side of the building but we would have to downgrade and they wouldn't give us any money back. To add to the experience the light over the bed was burned out and due to the fact they want you to us the Starbucks they don't provide you with your own coffee maker. The corner room is also oddly shaped which makes the room feel very awkward. Our city view was of the hospital as the hotel is only 17 stories and they could only put us on floor nine. The service has been less than satisfactory. All our concerns were met with no help and more shrugs. This hotel and the subsequent sleepless nights due to wailing ambulences really ruined our anniversary. We paid more than I want to admit to be treated very poorly. They did provide us with complementary ear plugs which gives you a true indication of how often people complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moto2013
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 28, 2013

Weekend Getaway

For a Hyatt hotel I expected more. The room was outdated and dirty. Prior persons soap was left in shower, towels had black spots on them, and the lights above the bed would turn on/off on their own. They charge for everything!! No free internet! Watched an overpriced movie(which I expected a charge) but the movie is streamed through their internet and was choppy, cutting in/out for the whole movie. Was very frustrating. They charge a ridiculous amount for parking $59.00 per night. It was located close (a couple of blocks to Michigan Ave) which was nice. In order to get into the hotel you first have to take one elevator up to the hotel and then another elevator takes you to your room. So every time you go anywhere its two elevators, kind of annoying. Would definately not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Benny G
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2012

Great Location; Hotel Sucks

Bathroom could use better cleaning, but worse than a not-quite-clean bathroom is that damp used towels I had put on the floor to be replaced were instead hung on the towel racks and were not exchanged for clean towels. The complimentary coffee and tea in room consisted of 1 teabag. When I asked a maid in the hall for more tea I was told that there wasn't any on the cart. After asking a second housekeeping person, I was given 1 more teabag. The minibar was locked and there was no key available for it. No safe in the room. No room service menu in the room. Asking at the front desk, I was told to request a breakfast hang tag from the concierge who had one sent to the room. Unfortunately, it was ripped at the portion that was to have been hung on the door, so was useless as a means of pre-ordering breakfast for the following morning. Although the alarm clock was impossible to figure out, the wake-up call did arrive at the appropriate time. Bottom line is that we got a terrific price, but given the service, amenities and cleanliness; it was not even worth the discounted rate and is CERTAINLY not the 4-star property it is advertised to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top