$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: May 2, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
142 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
Downtown Chicago

Wonderful experience. Best value in Chicago. Rooms are small, but I prefer to call them efficient. See full review

  • Stranded Biologist
  • Feb 17, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
22 out of 142
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Ninon
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Sep 5, 2013

Not a good match to the Howard Johnson branding name

Location is the one thing that was good. General appearence not good, and cleanliness doubtful (carpet smelled). Forgotten articles in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Wouldbe Hipster
Michigan
Nov 6, 2012

Quite Satisfied

The motel was nothing fancy, but that was obvious from the price. I don't require bells and whistles anyway. All the more money to spend having fun, I figure. What did impress me was the friendliness of the staff and their attention to my needs. There was a mix-up with the number of beds at the booking, which they rectified by supplying a roll-away free of charge. Everyhting was clean and comfortable and the location was a dream. There's no need to re-invent this wheel; I'll stay here every time I come to Chicago as long as it's available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Johnny's Grill for lunch!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Phil......
Chicago
Aug 6, 2012

Right Price

Nothing bad to say. Clean hotel with nice location and good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
Paigepaige
Cleveland
Mar 14, 2012

Paipai

Good location!!! It is very easy to walk to the shopping street and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Boojan
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Chicago fan

Good location but price too expensive considering facilities too old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
chechehall55
Des Moines, IA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

pretty crummy place

Pretty rundown dirty hotel, but I guess that's Chicago. I'd probably stay there again just for the affordability and we didn't get messed with for drinking outside at 4 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Minnesota
Aug 9, 2011

Not bad, but not good either.

We stayed there for Lollapalooza. Not a bad hotel, but they are definitely cheap people managing it. For example if you rent a 4 person room (two beds) they only stock 3 towels in the bathroom. It was pretty obnoxious to consistently have to go to the front desk to ask for towels. Aside from that the hotel was decent. Definitely a cheaper option for people who want to be downtown. And the free parking is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The diner attached to the hotel was pretty good, and cheap too.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 19, 2011

Far Exceeded Expectations

Me and four other friends needed an inexpensive hotel that was in the downtown area and near a music festival that was going on. For 5 days/4 nights with two rooms and 5 people it only cost us $170 per person being right downtown in the middle of everything. Because of the bargain price, we were all skeptical that the rooms would be extremely run down and that the staff would be extremely rude. This wasn't true at all. The rooms were very clean and, despite the lack of fridge and microwave, serviced all of our needs. The staff were also extremely helpful and pleasant to talk to. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I hope others will also give it a chance. Oh, and did I mention free parking?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast try Yolk just two blocks from the hotel. If that is busy Orange is also just a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Kent,Ohio
Mar 25, 2011

fantastic friends gateway

The room is very comfortable. The environment around hotel is very good. Also, the transportation is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
htlex
Lexington, KY
Dec 7, 2010

another good stay at HJ

We went to chicago for a weekend visit. I stayed at this HJ location previously and didn't have any complaints. So we booked HJ for its good location and reasonable price (and free parking!!!)3 of us shared a room with 2 double beds. It was comfortable and clean. Ok, the decorations may seem outdated and old but sheets were clean, room smelled fine, bathroom was spotless so there is nothing really to complain about. There is enough parking spots so we parked our car and didn't have to worry about it until leaving. There was free internet in the room which worked to our advantage. Location is great. Only 5-6 blocks from Michigan avenue and about 3 blocks from the red line (subway) on state street which runs north-south and is a great option for transportation. If you are looking for a fancy place with many amenities, this is not the place for you. If you are planning to spend most of your time outside and need the room for basic stuff, then you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

really close to the red and brown lines of the subway. They will take you to most of the attractions in town.

Back to menu Return to top