$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
232 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
4th of July

Great value for Chicago with pa doing included. We are would stay here again . See full review

  • Sharon from MN
  • Jul 6, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 232
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Modenjack
Chicago suburbs
Jun 3, 2014

Howard Johnson's on LaSalle

Very nice location near the "tourist strip". Very helpful and efficient staff. Safe. Great that there is a parking lot!!!! Easy to catch cabs to and from hotel. We would be happy to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Iberico is across the street. All the "touristy" places within walking distance. navy pier a short cab ride or a nice walk.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amnifa
Mid Michigan
May 28, 2014

No frill, free parking, best bet for the price!

If you are looking for a posh, high end hotel, this is NOT the place. However, don't let dated, run down look of the outside of the property fool you. For the price and especially free parking, you can't beat this hotel. Parking alone can cost upward of 50-60 dollars a day! If you are looking for: -clean -ample room -FREE PARKING (yes, free!) -relatively quiet area -good location in relation to many attractions -simple, but comfortable stay.. then this hotel is for you. Check in and out was very quick and easy. It was kind of confusing figuring out how to get into the parking lot, we stopped in a small alley next to the hotel while I went to check in and see about parking. Once you check in, they come out and open the parking for you (there was an orange cone blocking it), that's so people not staying can't park. It seems pretty secure too, as it is right in front of the 24 hr front lobby. We were on the 2nd floor, which we got to via stairs and a very stuffy (but short) hallway. If you are unable to climb stairs, you may not be able to stay here or might see about requesting a ground level floor. The room (we had a king suite) was clean, had a microwave and fridge as well as the usual stuff. It was a bit outdated, some scuffs and holes on some of the furniture. The bathroom seemed to be updated. Again, nothing fancy, but clean. Bed was firm but not hard and fairly comfortable (I prefer a slightly firm but soft bed). In room AC worked well and room was fairly quiet. On site is a little old-school mom and pop type diner, didn't eat there though. Within a couple blocks there is a Mc D's, chain drug store and gas station. It's a decent neighborhood. You are also within a mile of Navy Pier, Magnificent mile (michigan ave), John Hancock Building (if you're looking for amazing views, better than Willis tower, check out 360 at the hancock tower or take the elevator to the 96th floor lounge). It is also only a few block from Pizzeria Due, which is in my opinion the best pizza in Chicago. Overall, for the price (one of the cheapest for downtown area) it is the best bet. I would stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Carpenter
Gambier, Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

not as expected

We expected more for our money. My wife used the word "dingy" in describing this hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly the parking was free, but for $175 a night I would hope that it would not appear to be run-down. Location was great.....perhaps this is what we paid for......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gujustar
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Jan 2, 2014

Good for a night stay

Used this for a single night stay on NYE since it was close to place I was going out. Nothing fancy, simple room. Could have used better lighting and heating unit that worked nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicago Chicago Chicago
Kansas City
Oct 22, 2013

OK not the best

the things in the room were pretty dusty = other than that clean - could use better lighting..inside and outisde

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Musical of The Living Dead - very very funny - great acting!! LOVE THIS SHOW!! Great food - Ginos pizza

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Wedding Mom
NY, NY
Jan 12, 2013

Godd accomodaqtions for the price, excellent staff

Needed a downtown Chicago locale, clean room, free parking, what more could you ask for and the bonus was the Desk staff at this facility, excellent. Will return next time traveling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Dash Participant
Michigan
Oct 22, 2012

Great for the $$$

We stayed here for the Monster Dash 2012. It was very clean and staff was super friendly. It is a little outdated but for the price you pay, you can't beat it. It is so close to everything. Walking distance to the Mag Mile. The diner that is attached to it has awesome food with great prices. The parking was free and they even let me park there for the day of check out while we were doing the Monster Dash. I felt very safe and would recommend this place to friends. No it isn't the Hilton but if you are looking to stay downtown, clean room for 1/2 the price - you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is about 2 blocks from Magnificent Mile

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry 1
Michigan
Sep 29, 2012

mini vacation

always a good value, friendly staff, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tina Ryan
Davenport, IA
Sep 26, 2012

gross

Do not stay here! Mold on the walls, the hallways stink, and we almost got stuck in the elevator room. Staff was friendly but that was it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsay
Terre Haute, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Great Trip

This hotel was worth the money! The staff was so nice the cafe attached to the hotel was delicious! The only problem that I had was the internet. It was down or at least there was no signal in my room so I had to go the main office to use my computer. A little inconvienent. My overall experience was a good one and I will stay there again the next time I visit Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached cafe is a great way to start the day. Family owned and delicious :)

Back to menu Return to top