$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
232 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
4th of July

Great value for Chicago with pa doing included. We are would stay here again . See full review

  • Sharon from MN
  • Jul 6, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucki
Chigago, IL
Mar 4, 2014

good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuelahWitch
Lawrence, KS
Nov 12, 2010

Clean room, A+ location, friendly staff

The first thing I noticed when I walked into my room was that that the temperature was cool and comfortable. Most hotel rooms would be stifling this time of year because you don't expect it to get that hot in November in Chicago. But 60 degree outside temps make for hot & stuffy rooms. The room was big enough for me to move around in and everything was really clean. They have a little restaurant on site where you can get a good breakfast, lunch or early dinner for a decent price. The staff at the hotel and the restaurant are very friendly too. The location is good, it's close to just about everything downtown and you have great access to buses and mass transit. I have stayed at more than a few places in Chicago and have to say that this is one of the more pleasant visits I've had, especially when you figure in the price. I would definitely recommend it and consider it again if I ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 29, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised

Drove to Chicago so parking was a big issue. This is one of the few hotels that has it's own parking area. The buildings made me think of apartmets, you had to go through the door to get to the hallway to reach your room. The doors tended to be a little loud when they shut. The bed was very comfy, the room was clean and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The theatre was only a short bus ride down the street and the following day, the walk to Michigan Ave for shopping was only about 5 blocks away so this was a wonderful centrally located hotel. I will definitely be recommending it to friends when they go to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joeyguse1
chicago
May 27, 2014

Guy at front desk super helpful

Front desk guy was great, and so was the room, (although not the cleanest). Would return. He really went out of his way for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 29, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised

Drove to Chicago so parking was a big issue. This is one of the few hotels that has it's own parking area. The buildings made me think of apartmets, you had to go through the door to get to the hallway to reach your room. The doors tended to be a little loud when they shut. The bed was very comfy, the room was clean and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The theatre was only a short bus ride down the street and the following day, the walk to Michigan Ave for shopping was only about 5 blocks away so this was a wonderful centrally located hotel. I will definitely be recommending it to friends when they go to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foxtime
Lansing, Michigan
Aug 8, 2010

Nice getaway!

While in Chicago I went to a Cubs' baseball game, visited Market Days on Halsted Street where I had my picture taken with Eric Himan of Eric and the Adams (rock band), and did a great deal of walking. The room at the hotel would have been great if I had a couple of people to share it with as it was too large for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dodo
Japan
Aug 11, 2010

Convenient location

Conveniently located within walking distance to shops, restaurants, post office and the Merchandise Mart. The Motel rooms would need freshening up and the equipment (air conditioning, coffee machine) need to be checked and repaired, but it was a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foxtime
Lansing, Michigan
Aug 8, 2010

Nice getaway!

While in Chicago I went to a Cubs' baseball game, visited Market Days on Halsted Street where I had my picture taken with Eric Himan of Eric and the Adams (rock band), and did a great deal of walking. The room at the hotel would have been great if I had a couple of people to share it with as it was too large for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LN12345
Powell Ohio
Jun 3, 2010

Convenient!

If you are looking for a Hotel quality this is not it, this place is a Motel! The service is good, the room is ok, location is excellent, the price on memorial day weekend was $137 total. Check in time is 3pm and I don't like this idea too much. Just need a place to sleep/shower, this is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slkendri
detroit, michigan
Jul 4, 2014

perfect for short stay & on a budget

i was kinda expecting the worst from reading the reviews on here, but it wasn't bad at all. the location was great. i could get to the main attractions within 10 mins by public transportation or walking. the room was clean and they allowed me to check in early, so that was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top