$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
153 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
Great Location for the Price you pay

Even though the hotel doesn't look too fancy, the location of the hotel is great. It's located... See full review

  • Ruby Y
  • Jul 22, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 153
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2007

Great for Long Weekends

This was our first trip to Chicago and I didn't know what to expect. Apparently our room at the Howard Johnson's was better and bigger than most others in Chicago. I like the fact that there was parking on the premises. The checkin staff was very friendly. I have told several people about it. The hotel was close to almost everything we wanted to do. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe and Rain Forest Cafe were just two short blocks away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serhat
West Lafayette
Mar 17, 2011

Good location, low price

Free parking, and free WiFi. great location for that price, near most of the city attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hancock Tower, Water Tower Place, N Michican Ave

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 1, 2008

A nice place to spend the night

We only stayed one night and we were very comfortable except for the bed was a little hard, other than that we had a pleasant stay, However, when we came back after a long day of site seeing, we went to open the window for a little air and we discovered that the window was unlocked and very easy to open from the outside. The other window did not have a screen. These things are sometimes overlooked, I understand, but it could of lead to some my things being stolen. I had a very expensive camera and a laptop in the room. I do plan to come back to this hotel soon because it was a very nice place and the location to the sites was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little cafe as you drive in to the hotel I do srongly recommend. The food was very good.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Dash Participant
Michigan
Oct 22, 2012

Great for the $$$

We stayed here for the Monster Dash 2012. It was very clean and staff was super friendly. It is a little outdated but for the price you pay, you can't beat it. It is so close to everything. Walking distance to the Mag Mile. The diner that is attached to it has awesome food with great prices. The parking was free and they even let me park there for the day of check out while we were doing the Monster Dash. I felt very safe and would recommend this place to friends. No it isn't the Hilton but if you are looking to stay downtown, clean room for 1/2 the price - you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is about 2 blocks from Magnificent Mile

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 27, 2011

HJ College Trip

Rooms were clean. Parking was free. Bad address for GPS use (150) Superior st.. NO bugs-Yeah!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fenton, mi
Aug 29, 2010

overnight in Chicago

it is not an AMAZING and fancy hotel, but it wasn't dirty or run down. while in Chicago we spent as much time out of the hotel as possible so it was perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

the navy pier is about a 20 minute walk but the route is easy. there are a few good restaurants a couple of blocks away and some fast food that is closer.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple on 2nd honeymoon
Philadelphia
Mar 22, 2010

Great Location

It was a perfect location with about a 5 block to the river and a 7 or 8 block walk to the water front along the lake. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby to Michigan Ave too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look up Yolk, a reasonable priced and lovely atmosphere, about a block and a half from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AI Dad
Clarksville, TN
Jul 11, 2010

Stay at Howard Johnson, Chicago

Very nice staff, nice rooms, location was within walking distance to where we had to go, Merchanise Mart, daughter school, Michigan Ave, wife shopping. The parking was first come first serve, which meant you may not get to park at the hotel. That is not good, but I know that is the way it is in Chicago sometimes and some places. But when the employees at the corner cafe can park in the hotel parking lot, that takes away from the guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile) to some very quint and nice places to eat.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsay
Terre Haute, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Great Trip

This hotel was worth the money! The staff was so nice the cafe attached to the hotel was delicious! The only problem that I had was the internet. It was down or at least there was no signal in my room so I had to go the main office to use my computer. A little inconvienent. My overall experience was a good one and I will stay there again the next time I visit Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached cafe is a great way to start the day. Family owned and delicious :)

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Normal, IL
Mar 31, 2010

Great price for location and service.

My family took a train to Union Station in Chicago and walked to our motel. It was a long walk but it was worth it. The service at our motel was great. We were very close to the Water Tower area and that is just where we wanted to be. We enjoyed our walk to the Navy Pier. Our children enjoyed the McDonalds and the Rainforest Cafe that was close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search