$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
232 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
4th of July

Great value for Chicago with pa doing included. We are would stay here again . See full review

  • Sharon from MN
  • Jul 6, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito2003
grand rapids, mi
Jul 8, 2011

me n' my bro

was clean, close to everything, FREE PARKING, good beds, very nice house-keeping workers, we really enjoy stay in this average category hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

this hotel is very short walk to shopping, dinning, some attractions, and short drive to others attractions

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Huron - MI
Nov 3, 2010

The good one

The hotel is in good conditions and in a great location! For someone that is looking for a place to stay in downtown without spend much money and much time inside of the room.. this is exactly the place that you should looking for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak, MI
Feb 25, 2010

Great for the price

Great location very close to a bus stop made public transportation very convenient. Average hotel room, perfect for just sleep and shower, which is all we wanted. Just remember to bring a pillow from home, theirs are indescribably uncomfortable. I used the extra blanket as a pillow instead of that thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supertramp71
Bismarck, ND, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Good location - Comfortable but not fancy

Staff was good and helpful. Rooms were small but comfortable and maid service kept the rooms very clean. Rooms were not much for hanging out, but we are only at our room to sleep when we travel. Affordable and walking distance to a lot of what Chicago has to offer. ONLY the suites have microwave and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island City, NY
Oct 22, 2010

Great Price for a great location

The hotel was in a really great location for sight seeing but hotel door didn't lock very securely and the temperature of the room was never very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ginos had the best deep dish pizza that I tried while I was in Chicago.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
apparently you have all t
Business
Buchana Michigan
Jul 4, 2013

It was a place to stay while on the job in Chicago

It was the cheapest place we could find while working in Chicago , Nothing fancy but we just used it to sleep and shower , the room was spacious the Staff was very friendly with a nice little restaurant with reasonable prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David, Mr. always on the go
Business
New York
Dec 14, 2010

My First Chicago Trip!

I was in town for business related reasons, but loved the town so much it turned into pleasure. The hotel was in the perfect location and you could not beat the price. Hotel was a great place if you just plan on having a place to lay your head at night. Not many amenities, except killer heat. If want to be within full access of all chicago has to offer and not spend your life savings, you have to go with Howard Johnson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza ORA right down the street, the best Chicago DEEP DISH EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Viola,il
Aug 17, 2009

better than expected

hotel/motel has aood location in agreat neighborhood.nice little diner attached with good food reasonably priced.parking is free,but limited amount of spaces.get there early.once youget past the hallways, the rooms are spcios and clean. don't expect much of a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CDBR
St Paul, MN, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Great Location!

My husband and I stayed for just one night. The guy who checked us in was really nice, he let us check in much earlier than the regular time and let us leave our car for a few more hours after we checked out. Free parking was great! We were able to walk everywhere, it was nice to be so close to Michigan Ave. The only negatives I can think of were the shower weak pressure, bad tub and sink drains. And the noisy A/C. However, it served the purpose. Great deal for one night in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be close to downtown and park for free, Howard Johnson is the way to go.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dodo
Japan
Aug 11, 2010

Convenient location

Conveniently located within walking distance to shops, restaurants, post office and the Merchandise Mart. The Motel rooms would need freshening up and the equipment (air conditioning, coffee machine) need to be checked and repaired, but it was a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top