$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
235 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
Great Location for the Price you pay

Even though the hotel doesn't look too fancy, the location of the hotel is great. It's located... See full review

  • Ruby Y
  • Jul 22, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordo12345678
Business
Chicago
Jun 7, 2012

Great location and value

The free parking was a great value as was the room. If I need to be in Chicago on business in downtown again, I will certainly stay there again. Nice staff that was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Geno east pizza is right nearby

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 1, 2008

A nice place to spend the night

We only stayed one night and we were very comfortable except for the bed was a little hard, other than that we had a pleasant stay, However, when we came back after a long day of site seeing, we went to open the window for a little air and we discovered that the window was unlocked and very easy to open from the outside. The other window did not have a screen. These things are sometimes overlooked, I understand, but it could of lead to some my things being stolen. I had a very expensive camera and a laptop in the room. I do plan to come back to this hotel soon because it was a very nice place and the location to the sites was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little cafe as you drive in to the hotel I do srongly recommend. The food was very good.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 19, 2011

Far Exceeded Expectations

Me and four other friends needed an inexpensive hotel that was in the downtown area and near a music festival that was going on. For 5 days/4 nights with two rooms and 5 people it only cost us $170 per person being right downtown in the middle of everything. Because of the bargain price, we were all skeptical that the rooms would be extremely run down and that the staff would be extremely rude. This wasn't true at all. The rooms were very clean and, despite the lack of fridge and microwave, serviced all of our needs. The staff were also extremely helpful and pleasant to talk to. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I hope others will also give it a chance. Oh, and did I mention free parking?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast try Yolk just two blocks from the hotel. If that is busy Orange is also just a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 5, 2008

Great location with free parking

I was very pleased with this hotel. Hotel staff was happy to give directions, it was located within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, and parking was easy and free. It was the perfect room for a night sight-seeeing in Chicago on a limited budget. The cafe next door was convenient and delicious too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a budget breakfast at the seemingly un-named cafe right next to (pratically attached to) the Howard Johnson.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 15, 2008

Great Value

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for an affordable hotel, in a great location, who is just looking for a place to crash at the end of the night. The best thing about this hotel is the free parking. In Chicago, more than likely you will have to pay for parking anywhere you go, but at the Howard Johnson, they take care of you and your car!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2007

Excellent Location

The downtown HoJo's is what you'd expect. Very good location, decent room--I was in one of the 4 suites just above the registration--, nice neighborhood restaurant on premises, wireless internet connection, extremely helpful staff,(and they had space when the bigger hotels were full). It's a good option at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 1, 2008

A nice place to spend the night

We only stayed one night and we were very comfortable except for the bed was a little hard, other than that we had a pleasant stay, However, when we came back after a long day of site seeing, we went to open the window for a little air and we discovered that the window was unlocked and very easy to open from the outside. The other window did not have a screen. These things are sometimes overlooked, I understand, but it could of lead to some my things being stolen. I had a very expensive camera and a laptop in the room. I do plan to come back to this hotel soon because it was a very nice place and the location to the sites was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little cafe as you drive in to the hotel I do srongly recommend. The food was very good.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2007

Great for Long Weekends

This was our first trip to Chicago and I didn't know what to expect. Apparently our room at the Howard Johnson's was better and bigger than most others in Chicago. I like the fact that there was parking on the premises. The checkin staff was very friendly. I have told several people about it. The hotel was close to almost everything we wanted to do. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe and Rain Forest Cafe were just two short blocks away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 5, 2008

Great location with free parking

I was very pleased with this hotel. Hotel staff was happy to give directions, it was located within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, and parking was easy and free. It was the perfect room for a night sight-seeeing in Chicago on a limited budget. The cafe next door was convenient and delicious too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a budget breakfast at the seemingly un-named cafe right next to (pratically attached to) the Howard Johnson.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2007

Excellent Location

The downtown HoJo's is what you'd expect. Very good location, decent room--I was in one of the 4 suites just above the registration--, nice neighborhood restaurant on premises, wireless internet connection, extremely helpful staff,(and they had space when the bigger hotels were full). It's a good option at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordo12345678
Business
Chicago
Jun 7, 2012

Great location and value

The free parking was a great value as was the room. If I need to be in Chicago on business in downtown again, I will certainly stay there again. Nice staff that was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Geno east pizza is right nearby

Back to menu Return to top