Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
232 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
4th of July

Great value for Chicago with pa doing included. We are would stay here again . See full review

  • Sharon from MN
  • Jul 6, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jul 8, 2011

Great one for the price

Great location in terms of frequent cabs and easy walking to train or bus stops. Easy walk to the visitor center (163 E. Pearson St.) for maps, Hot Tix (half price theater tickets), etc. The Currency Exchange is a block a way for daily or longer CTA tickets for the bus or train. Diner on premises is good and the nearby Yolk Restaurant (747 N Wells) was a real find (great for breakfast and lunch). The rooms were comfortable, if a bit small, and the carpeted floor needed a good shampoo. Best of all, there is free parking if you find a spot (we arrived by 4 and had no trouble). We certainly will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly front desk personnel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito2003
grand rapids, mi
Jul 8, 2011

me n' my bro

was clean, close to everything, FREE PARKING, good beds, very nice house-keeping workers, we really enjoy stay in this average category hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

this hotel is very short walk to shopping, dinning, some attractions, and short drive to others attractions

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito2003
grand rapids, mi
Jul 8, 2011

me n' my bro

was clean, close to everything, FREE PARKING, good beds, very nice house-keeping workers, we really enjoy stay in this average category hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

this hotel is very short walk to shopping, dinning, some attractions, and short drive to others attractions

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jul 8, 2011

Great one for the price

Great location in terms of frequent cabs and easy walking to train or bus stops. Easy walk to the visitor center (163 E. Pearson St.) for maps, Hot Tix (half price theater tickets), etc. The Currency Exchange is a block a way for daily or longer CTA tickets for the bus or train. Diner on premises is good and the nearby Yolk Restaurant (747 N Wells) was a real find (great for breakfast and lunch). The rooms were comfortable, if a bit small, and the carpeted floor needed a good shampoo. Best of all, there is free parking if you find a spot (we arrived by 4 and had no trouble). We certainly will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly front desk personnel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 23, 2011

For being in the heart of Chicago-couldn

We were there to see a concert at the United Center. Easy to catch a cab right in front of Hotel. Were able to walk to restaraunt, and to Millenium Park. We were only there for 1 night.Hotel was quiet and staff very helpful. Carpet needs to be cleaned in room- though I understand it is an older hotel. Nice having Luna Cafe on property for breakfast. Greek omlet was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 23, 2011

Howard Johnson N. Lasalle in Chicago

There was a small cafe/diner attached to the hotel which was very convenient and reasonably priced. However, the room was tiny. The pictures shown were deceiving. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and the wallpaper was coming off the walls. There was also a funny smell in the hall and in the room until we used our perfume and cologne when we were getting ready to go out for the night (that definitely helped). We didn't have a mini frig in our room which made bringing food back from restaurants impossible since it would go bad before we could eat it again. The room was clean other than the mold and funny smell. It was very quiet which was nice (didn't hear much street noise if any). It's a good place to stay if you aren't spending a lot of time in the room and are looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were multiple bars and clubs within a couple of blocks. There was always something to do at night!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 23, 2011

Howard Johnson N. Lasalle in Chicago

There was a small cafe/diner attached to the hotel which was very convenient and reasonably priced. However, the room was tiny. The pictures shown were deceiving. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and the wallpaper was coming off the walls. There was also a funny smell in the hall and in the room until we used our perfume and cologne when we were getting ready to go out for the night (that definitely helped). We didn't have a mini frig in our room which made bringing food back from restaurants impossible since it would go bad before we could eat it again. The room was clean other than the mold and funny smell. It was very quiet which was nice (didn't hear much street noise if any). It's a good place to stay if you aren't spending a lot of time in the room and are looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were multiple bars and clubs within a couple of blocks. There was always something to do at night!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 23, 2011

For being in the heart of Chicago-couldn

We were there to see a concert at the United Center. Easy to catch a cab right in front of Hotel. Were able to walk to restaraunt, and to Millenium Park. We were only there for 1 night.Hotel was quiet and staff very helpful. Carpet needs to be cleaned in room- though I understand it is an older hotel. Nice having Luna Cafe on property for breakfast. Greek omlet was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 30, 2011

great for the price

business trip. great time. great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 30, 2011

great for the price

business trip. great time. great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top