$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
153 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
Great Location for the Price you pay

Even though the hotel doesn't look too fancy, the location of the hotel is great. It's located... See full review

  • Ruby Y
  • Jul 22, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jul 8, 2011

Great one for the price

Great location in terms of frequent cabs and easy walking to train or bus stops. Easy walk to the visitor center (163 E. Pearson St.) for maps, Hot Tix (half price theater tickets), etc. The Currency Exchange is a block a way for daily or longer CTA tickets for the bus or train. Diner on premises is good and the nearby Yolk Restaurant (747 N Wells) was a real find (great for breakfast and lunch). The rooms were comfortable, if a bit small, and the carpeted floor needed a good shampoo. Best of all, there is free parking if you find a spot (we arrived by 4 and had no trouble). We certainly will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly front desk personnel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 23, 2011

Howard Johnson N. Lasalle in Chicago

There was a small cafe/diner attached to the hotel which was very convenient and reasonably priced. However, the room was tiny. The pictures shown were deceiving. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and the wallpaper was coming off the walls. There was also a funny smell in the hall and in the room until we used our perfume and cologne when we were getting ready to go out for the night (that definitely helped). We didn't have a mini frig in our room which made bringing food back from restaurants impossible since it would go bad before we could eat it again. The room was clean other than the mold and funny smell. It was very quiet which was nice (didn't hear much street noise if any). It's a good place to stay if you aren't spending a lot of time in the room and are looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were multiple bars and clubs within a couple of blocks. There was always something to do at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 23, 2011

For being in the heart of Chicago-couldn

We were there to see a concert at the United Center. Easy to catch a cab right in front of Hotel. Were able to walk to restaraunt, and to Millenium Park. We were only there for 1 night.Hotel was quiet and staff very helpful. Carpet needs to be cleaned in room- though I understand it is an older hotel. Nice having Luna Cafe on property for breakfast. Greek omlet was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 30, 2011

great for the price

business trip. great time. great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
May 6, 2011

Good Value & Great Location

For me this was the perfect location in Chicago. Considering how expensive hotels are in the city it was really good value and the free parking was a massive bonus. The room was basic but clean and the bathroom looked fairly new. Plenty of towels, soap etc and the shower was decent. The room did have a bit of a funny smell when we first came in but you stop noticing it after a few minutes so it didnt really make a difference to the stay. I don't think you could get a better location for this price so would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frankie Zs Bar on Clark about two blocks south of the motel. Open until 4am every night, friendly laid back atmosphere, great staff and pool table and corn hole.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Debbie K.
Grand Rapids, MI
May 4, 2011

Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago

The on-line pictures of the hotel were obviously from a different location. The Chicago location was actually quite rough, not newly renovated, and not very clean! If it hadn't been late, and we weren't so tired, we would have gone elsewhere. Several other people who were waiting to check in, also commented that this location was not the one that we saw on-line! Very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 27, 2011

HJ College Trip

Rooms were clean. Parking was free. Bad address for GPS use (150) Superior st.. NO bugs-Yeah!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Haven CT
Apr 25, 2011

very small room

Checkin was very easy. Rooms are very small and furniture is old type. Cleaning was very good and room service is also good. Price is high and only advantage is free parking!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, az
Apr 24, 2011

Howard Johnson is not bad

I wanted to be downtown to look around an get to know downtown Chicago a little bit more. I was definitely able to do that. If you don't mind walking there are lots of vintage buildings to look at, food to eat, shopping galore, and attractions as well. The rooms themselves aren't the best but if you don't have high standards and are not too picky then this is a good place. The beds are uncomfortable however. My back was killing me most of the time. Close to the train stations as well to get to either ball parks as well. Wish I could have gotten a cheaper price but that's what yoou pay when your downtown...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lexington girl
lexington, MI
Apr 8, 2011

Great location, free parking, so-so room

We went to Chicago for pleasure and had a wonderful time. The hotel was in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere. We did not spend much time in our room, so the small size and dingy furnishings didn't really bother us. If you are looking for five star accommodations this is NOT the place for you, but if you just want a place to sleep at night in a great location then HJ is just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk!... Very good breakfast right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search