$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

2 stars
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
167 reviews
good

Overall it was very good, I like the location had where to park my car. See full review

  • lucki
  • Mar 4, 2014
Great Location for the Price you pay

Even though the hotel doesn't look too fancy, the location of the hotel is great. It's located... See full review

  • Ruby Y
  • Jul 22, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown for your next adventure in the historic River North Gallery district. Watch your favorite Chicago sports teams at Wrigley Field or Soldier Field, see exquisite art at the Art Institute of Chicago, wonder at the cosmos at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, and view life under the sea at the Shedd Aquarium. Just one mile from this lodging is Second City, the improv hub that launched many careers. Enjoy the convenience of a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner at the on-site restaurant. After an exciting day, show your friends pictures of your adventures using the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel simple. Check in with the 24-hour front desk then refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hair dryer. Suites with microwave and refrigerator, and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

41.8955 -87.6327
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi
  • Union Station: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuelahWitch
Lawrence, KS
Nov 12, 2010

Clean room, A+ location, friendly staff

The first thing I noticed when I walked into my room was that that the temperature was cool and comfortable. Most hotel rooms would be stifling this time of year because you don't expect it to get that hot in November in Chicago. But 60 degree outside temps make for hot & stuffy rooms. The room was big enough for me to move around in and everything was really clean. They have a little restaurant on site where you can get a good breakfast, lunch or early dinner for a decent price. The staff at the hotel and the restaurant are very friendly too. The location is good, it's close to just about everything downtown and you have great access to buses and mass transit. I have stayed at more than a few places in Chicago and have to say that this is one of the more pleasant visits I've had, especially when you figure in the price. I would definitely recommend it and consider it again if I ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Nov 9, 2010

Good location...hotel not so great

The location is great....especially for the price. When we first arrived we had a HORRIBLE hotel room. We changed and the second one was livable. These rooms are DEFINITELY NOT renovated. I'm not sure what they meant when they said that. Free parking is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Huron - MI
Nov 3, 2010

The good one

The hotel is in good conditions and in a great location! For someone that is looking for a place to stay in downtown without spend much money and much time inside of the room.. this is exactly the place that you should looking for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay City, MI
Oct 27, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We went to a concert and a Broadway show. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and close to the parking area. It was close to everywhere we wanted to walk to. I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago and Ford Theatre

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island City, NY
Oct 22, 2010

Great Price for a great location

The hotel was in a really great location for sight seeing but hotel door didn't lock very securely and the temperature of the room was never very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ginos had the best deep dish pizza that I tried while I was in Chicago.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Birmingham, AL
Oct 11, 2010

We liked the hotel

The location is excellent. It is two blocks to the Brown line and four to the Red. There are lots of good restaurants nearby, including Brazilian, Italian and Lebanese. The price was excellent. It is not luxurious by any definition, but it is well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a Latino cafe in the motel that is an excellent place for a good breakfast.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Preston Vickrey
Timpson, Tx
Sep 29, 2010

Friendly Service, lacking other things

If you are only looking for a place to lay down your head this is a well priced place to do so. It is with in walking distance of the Red line that will take you to several museums: -Shedd Aquarium (This was a great sight, a must do for kids) -Museum of Science & Industry (We can't wait to go back and see this, we ran out of time due to a walking injury) -Field Museum Of Natural History (wife & I didn't really enjoy it) It is also within walking distance from the Magnificent Mile, Shopping of all kinds abound. The "inn" itself was not what we expected, the rooms and the front office were separated by the parking lot, it reminded me of a 70's beach front style motel. For the price we paid I was expecting an older hotel, not this. A better description would have lead my wife & I to book elsewhere. The vent above the shower was very dirty, and the rooms which were redone that year were just lacking that something. If cost is your biggest concern with amenities and the wow factor down the list, than this is the placeto stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

www.webergrillrestaurant.com The Weber Grill is a tasty, all be it pricey treat. Lunch is defiantly more economical, but dinner is a delicious treat, I highly recommend the Bar-B-Q combos, the chicken and the ribs were a blessing to my taste buds. My wife enjoyed the beer can chicken, the atmosphere is upscale, but not anything a pair of jeans and a collard shirt doesn't fix.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Work of Art
Business
Reading, PA
Sep 24, 2010

Too much for the price!

The hotel itself was fairly clean and it was remodeled. However, I would NOT book this hotel with a flight because I ended up paying $300 a night for the smallest hotel in Chicago. I could have stayed at the Hilton and received free breakfast for that much! Nothing wrong with the hotel[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Kerryman. It's a quaint Irish bar/restaurant on North Clarke about two blocks from the hotel. Friendly staff and friendly people at the bar. Great food.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mtarts
Philadelphia pa
Sep 12, 2010

Great location for price

This hotel was a great location in walking distance to michigan ave, John hancock observatory, lake shore drive, many bars and good resturants. It states that it is very updated. The bathroom is updated. Not good water pressure or nice decor in hotel rooms. It was good for our trip, if you go out and sight see during the day and go out to resturants and bars at night. Cafe on premise was a good cheap place to get breakfast quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher
Not Provided
Sep 8, 2010

Not all rooms were renovated as

Not all rooms were renovated as advertised, but still a great location and value, especially through (website).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search