$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Baseball Weekend

I was happy with the hotel we chose to stay at, from looking online to actually staying at the... See full review

  • Baseball Weekend
  • Jun 4, 2014
Hotel Lincoln

Stayed in very unique Junior Suite. Room was great, staff very helpful. Hotel has a trendy vibe in... See full review

  • Stakacs14
  • May 27, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lincoln Park
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2013

Good location but bare bones

The hotel is in a good location but the rooms are lacking. It feels like an old motel with slightly updated decor. No mini bar, no room service and no bottled water in the rooms so, if you arrive late at night and want a small snack or drink without going to a restaurant, be prepared to walk four blocks to the 24 hr Walgreens. Also customer service was not great. The first room I was given had a non-working phone and when I asked to switch, I got a lot of attitude from the manager at the front desk. It's a shame because it has such potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Cool
Fairfax, VA
Dec 18, 2012

Cool place

The room was small which made me feel like I was in a European hotel. The location is excellent on the border between Lincoln Park & Old Town. The seven-block walk to the nearest "L" train station provided good exercise. The restaurant and roof-top bar are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sunday brunch was fabulous.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabita
Los Angeles, Ca
May 31, 2012

Great location

Good hotel with a great location. Staff was helpful and responded quickly to requests. It wasn't open yet, but they were working on a rooftop garden. I look forward to seeing it when I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast, brunch at Nookies around the corner.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevsters
New york
Oct 15, 2012

Awesome stay at the hotel lincoln

I had a wonderful stay at the Lincoln hotel. The staff- helpful, professional, and most pleasant. The room was cozy and clean. I never had to request for extra health care beauty products and towels. The hotel is also reasonably priced and located in a strategic area. I give the place 4 solid stars. Keep up the great work! I hope to stay again sometime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try giordanos restaurant for some deep dish pizza

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newberry researcher
Ohio
Oct 3, 2012

Nice hotel in a great area

I go to Chicago a lot to work at the Newberry Library, so I've stayed at various places on the north side. Lincoln Park is one of my favorite parts of the city, far from (most) tourists, full of great restaurants, wonderful to walk in. This is definitely the nicest hotel in the neighborhood, right on the park, with many rooms looking out at Lake Michigan. It's new and quite modern, with some traditions abandoned--no minibar, for example, which I didn't mind. Elevator situation is a bit odd: there are three, one fast and the other two very slow, but the fast one goes only to the rooftop bar after 5:00 so one is stuck with the slow ones. Parking is valet only and I ended up at a self-park garage a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks up Lincoln Ave. from this hotel is City Grounds coffee, at the corner of Lincoln and Dickens. One of the best coffee shops in town and something of a secret--always lots of empty tables. It's as good as Intelligentsia without the crowds or the snootiness.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndyDave
Indianapolis
Mar 18, 2013

Great Lincoln Park hotel

Very nice rooms, although they are small, and the hotel's restaurant and rooftop bar are each pretty special! If you want the Lincoln Park/Old Town Chicago experience, this is the hotel to stay in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Chicago Visits
Washington, DC
Nov 12, 2012

Cute, but small

The rooms were small, but nice. Everything was very clean and it was great that internet was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vic on a family visit
San Diego, CA
Feb 11, 2013

A great stay at modest cost.

Hotel's single-bed room was very compact but fully adequate if not spending long hours in it. It had good amenities, really only lacking a refrigerator. Only shortcoming in cleanliness was a bit of hair trapped low in a fold of the shower curtain the first night. Parking valet earned his tip running a long distance through snow & traffic to bring the car neatly brushed off. Rooftop bar offers an excellent burger if you don't want to go out (Old Town with a selection of popular bars and good restaurants is nearby# or dine at the high end on-site restaurant #pricey, but food was great#. Free in-room wireless Internet access with speed adequate for business use #you can upgrade to watch videos without pauses). I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Town is within long walking distance and contained many establishments packed during mid-week at happy-hour, plus restaurants (I had excellent veal marsala at a reasonable price at one). If not walking, figure on close to $20 for valet parking plus tip.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Lady in a Big Town
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 3, 2013

Great Chicago Experience!

This was my first time in Chicago, and I was really thrilled by this hotel! An oasis of calm and beauty, but with easy access to everything that makes a visit special. Early morning walks just across the street in Lincoln Park (with its urban nature preserve), afternoon window shopping on surrounding side streets, evening drinks and snacks in the rooftop lounge (with amazing views of the city skyline), and (of course!) the gorgeous lake views from my room. I also loved the hotel's retro style, and the hip and helpful staff. Thanks so much, Hotel Lincoln! I'll be back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from Second City, the famed comedy club, where many SNL'ers had their start!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie F
Green Bay
Dec 21, 2012

What a treat

For the price I paid for this hotel I was worried, but I almost couldn't have asked for more. My room was awesome; the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated and my room had a cool velvet couch that made lazy mornings/evenings very attractive. The staff at the desk and on the cleaning crew were all friendly, and the little coffee shop in the lobby was very nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good business. Overall the whole place had a boutique atmosphere that made my stay feel special. The location is maybe a little odd for tourists; there are great bus connections though, and you don't have to go far to find interesting shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't one of those "guest guide" books in the room; most amenities are not things I would want so badly to call down to the desk to ask about, but if I could look it up in the room I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Greer Chicago is a really neat little store selling cards and paper goods, right around the corner on Wells Street.

Back to menu Return to top