$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DustyP
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 30, 2012

Family Reunion

Very friendly staff, great location. Elevators terrible, small and slow, excessive waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love free wifi
Business
Seattle
Oct 3, 2012

Wonderful neighborhood

Great location. Found it much more interesting than staying downtown. Would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Had a wonderful meal (wonderful hosts, too) at Sapori Trattoria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newberry researcher
Business
Ohio
Oct 3, 2012

Nice hotel in a great area

I go to Chicago a lot to work at the Newberry Library, so I've stayed at various places on the north side. Lincoln Park is one of my favorite parts of the city, far from (most) tourists, full of great restaurants, wonderful to walk in. This is definitely the nicest hotel in the neighborhood, right on the park, with many rooms looking out at Lake Michigan. It's new and quite modern, with some traditions abandoned--no minibar, for example, which I didn't mind. Elevator situation is a bit odd: there are three, one fast and the other two very slow, but the fast one goes only to the rooftop bar after 5:00 so one is stuck with the slow ones. Parking is valet only and I ended up at a self-park garage a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks up Lincoln Ave. from this hotel is City Grounds coffee, at the corner of Lincoln and Dickens. One of the best coffee shops in town and something of a secret--always lots of empty tables. It's as good as Intelligentsia without the crowds or the snootiness.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mads5
Business
Miami FL
Oct 10, 2012

Friendly funky comfortable hotel!

Stayed at Hotel Lincoln for the weekend of the Chicago marathon. It was a great size for one couple, very comfortable. The lobby is really funky and cool and has a great cafe plus restaurant right at ground level. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The room was sweet, everything we needed. The only downfall was the noise level, I dont think the windows were double glazed so the noise from traffic outside was very loud plus location is a bus ride from M Mile where we wanted to do shopping, not walking distance. But Chicago is such a great city to get around, plenty of taxis and buses to run back and forth. For a three night stay for one couple first time in Chicago, the hotel was great! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a 3 day cta pass for buses and trains from walgreens for $14 per adult... unlimited on and off and really great value!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THartis
Business
Raleigh,NC
Oct 10, 2012

Great experience.

My husband and I had booked a king room, when we checked in we were given a room with a queen bed. We called the front desk and were switched into another room with in minutes. The staff were great on all levels. We did not like the resturant in the hotel but apparently others do as it was always busy. The decor was very cool and the bath amenities were awesome. Location was equal between wrigley field and the mile so we were pleased with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did find that on our last full day we had missed a very cool area heading toward wrigley field... Be sure to check it out! Also, best food in town was at The Farmhouse on Chiacgo ave near the "L" loop- sit at the bar to eat and ask for Alex!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevsters
Business
New york
Oct 15, 2012

Awesome stay at the hotel lincoln

I had a wonderful stay at the Lincoln hotel. The staff- helpful, professional, and most pleasant. The room was cozy and clean. I never had to request for extra health care beauty products and towels. The hotel is also reasonably priced and located in a strategic area. I give the place 4 solid stars. Keep up the great work! I hope to stay again sometime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try giordanos restaurant for some deep dish pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reed1959
Business
Bristol,ct
Oct 27, 2012

Location location location

Very caring staff, can't beat the lactation and value definitely would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

3 day pass on cta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A UNITED STATE CITIZEN
Business
PORT NECHES, TEXAS
Nov 1, 2012

ANNIVERSARY TRIP TO CHICAGO

THEY WERE SO HELPFUL AND SUPPORTIVE. WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. ROOMS WERE FANTASTIC. WE HAD JUST MENTIONED WE WERE FROM TEXAS AND IT WAS OUR ANNIVERSARY AND THEY HAD FLOWERS AND WINE AND A REFRIDGERATOR PLACED IN OUR ROOM. THEY JUST GO OUT ALL THE WAY FOR THERE CUSTOMERS. I WOULD DIFFENTELY STAY THERE AGAIN. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. SUPER NICE HOTEL AND SUPER NICE PERSONAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON RENTING A CAR. WE TOOK OURS BACK. EVERYTHING IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OR YOU HAVE A BUS OR A TROLLEY. PARKING YOUR OWN CAR IS VERY VERY EXPENSIVE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
review person
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Saturday Evening

First time I have stayed here. Small but well done room, very good bed. Hotel lounge on the roof would be great in the summer. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

zoo is across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB the Cinci traveler
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Nov 1, 2012

Excellent value at cool hotel in Chicago

Great location - 10 minute cab drive to downtown - and nice experience at this hotel. Staff was very pleasant and room was clean. Only downside was bed was VERY firm - for those that like this style it's no big deal, but it wasn't the best night's sleep. However, I would still stay at this hotel in the future, especially if the rates stay this reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top