$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Baseball Weekend

I was happy with the hotel we chose to stay at, from looking online to actually staying at the... See full review

  • Baseball Weekend
  • Jun 4, 2014
Hotel Lincoln

Stayed in very unique Junior Suite. Room was great, staff very helpful. Hotel has a trendy vibe in... See full review

  • Stakacs14
  • May 27, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janet H.
Sarasota, Florida
Jul 8, 2012

Newly renovated hotel in a great location

We enjoyed the Hotel Lincoln in Lincoln Park, Chicago. It is near the Lincoln Park Zoo and close to Lake Michigan. It is very clean, newly decorated, and very comfortable. We will look forward to our next visit to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colucho
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Jun 4, 2013

Great hotel

Lincoln Park is awesome and old town too. Our suite was very well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hugo's frog bar

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marissa W.
New York, NY, USA
Jun 14, 2012

Great hotel!

Our experience with the hotel was very positive. It is a very hip and quirky establishment, newly renovated, clean, with a great location and helpful staff. We have a junior suite, which was spacious and even had two bathrooms! I have read that people found the rooms small. This room was a nice size. The bed was comfortable and the linens were plentiful and clean. These are my complaints: (1) our toiletries were not replenished, even when we asked; (2) the room was cooled by two small a/c units, and it never was quite cool enough; (3) the comforter was (nicely) wrapped in two sheets rather than being encased in a cover; and (4) parking in the area was difficult and the valet was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The zoo is very close to the hotel and completely free!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cland
Louisville,KY
Sep 2, 2012

trip to visit family

great location, easy to get into and find! the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wells ave. has the greatest selection of restaurants

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tars
Business
brooklyn
May 9, 2013

great hotel

This hotel is lovely. Location, food, staff, and decor is great. The beds aren't the most comfortable that I've experienced but its given all the other stuff it does so well I plan to stay here on all my visits to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longman & Earl - amazing.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB the Cinci traveler
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Nov 1, 2012

Excellent value at cool hotel in Chicago

Great location - 10 minute cab drive to downtown - and nice experience at this hotel. Staff was very pleasant and room was clean. Only downside was bed was VERY firm - for those that like this style it's no big deal, but it wasn't the best night's sleep. However, I would still stay at this hotel in the future, especially if the rates stay this reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DANJAN
Barrington, IL
Mar 31, 2013

Overnite

Loved the location near Lincoln Park and Old Town. The view of the park and bedding was very comfortable. We enjoyed the roof bar for drinks and would go back sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop patio and bar were fabulous!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLRuss
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 15, 2012

Neocon Experience

This hotel was in a great location and very clean. We didn't know until we checked in that our junior suite had two bathrooms. This was a real bonus and saved us a significant amount of time in the morning. Desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We slept great all three nights that we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nookies on Wells was our main eatery. Great food!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newberry researcher
Ohio
Oct 3, 2012

Nice hotel in a great area

I go to Chicago a lot to work at the Newberry Library, so I've stayed at various places on the north side. Lincoln Park is one of my favorite parts of the city, far from (most) tourists, full of great restaurants, wonderful to walk in. This is definitely the nicest hotel in the neighborhood, right on the park, with many rooms looking out at Lake Michigan. It's new and quite modern, with some traditions abandoned--no minibar, for example, which I didn't mind. Elevator situation is a bit odd: there are three, one fast and the other two very slow, but the fast one goes only to the rooftop bar after 5:00 so one is stuck with the slow ones. Parking is valet only and I ended up at a self-park garage a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks up Lincoln Ave. from this hotel is City Grounds coffee, at the corner of Lincoln and Dickens. One of the best coffee shops in town and something of a secret--always lots of empty tables. It's as good as Intelligentsia without the crowds or the snootiness.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CV visitor
Syracuse
May 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay there

I had a very good time staying at the hotel. It's location is perfect in relation to downtown. The roof top is beautiful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top