$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
98 reviews
Amazing Hotel

The staff were beyond helpful and such a pleasure to deal with. The rooms were cozy and clean. And... See full review

  • Jessabeth
  • Sep 19, 2014
Random stay

Very lively with lots of people and great staff members filled with tons of art. See full review

  • Kynkyn
  • Aug 4, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFJ1
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2012

Family vacation

The location was perfect. No fridge in the room and we had a suite. We left an iPod in the room and it never made it's way back to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DBR and SRR
Business
Connellsville, PA
Jul 30, 2012

Great location for Old Town and Lincoln Park

Although the room was small, it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and a problem with the in room safe fixed promptly upon our request. We were visiting our son who had just moved to Old Town. The location of the hotel was excellent for our purposes and we were quite pleased that we were direct;y across the street from the Sunday farmer's market which sets up in Lincoln Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Some Guy from Nearby
Business
Midwest
Jul 29, 2012

Cubs game

Really nice hotel. Super close to Wrigley and across street from Lincoln Park. Walking distance to Old Town. Sweet spot. Cool rooftop bar. Overall great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can find a parking spot on the street, take it. You can reload the parking and save on hotel parking. I parked for 18 hours on Clark and cost me $11. Free from 9pm to 8am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLRuss
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 15, 2012

Neocon Experience

This hotel was in a great location and very clean. We didn't know until we checked in that our junior suite had two bathrooms. This was a real bonus and saved us a significant amount of time in the morning. Desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We slept great all three nights that we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nookies on Wells was our main eatery. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marissa W.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 14, 2012

Great hotel!

Our experience with the hotel was very positive. It is a very hip and quirky establishment, newly renovated, clean, with a great location and helpful staff. We have a junior suite, which was spacious and even had two bathrooms! I have read that people found the rooms small. This room was a nice size. The bed was comfortable and the linens were plentiful and clean. These are my complaints: (1) our toiletries were not replenished, even when we asked; (2) the room was cooled by two small a/c units, and it never was quite cool enough; (3) the comforter was (nicely) wrapped in two sheets rather than being encased in a cover; and (4) parking in the area was difficult and the valet was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The zoo is very close to the hotel and completely free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momofboyz2
Business
Brimfield, Illinois
Jun 11, 2012

Great Location

We only stayed one night at the hotel, but the staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up to the curb. The only downfall was that you have to unload on the street, but once we got in line we only waited one minute for the next valet attendant. Coffee shop next door is great. The room was small, but didn't spend much time there and it was clean and comfortable. Good choice of hotel if spending time at Lincoln Park or Navy Pier, close proximity. Also bus stop accross the street if needed to go to another area of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from GA
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 12, 2012

Nice intro to the Windy City

This hotel was wonderful as far as being close to the brown line and attractions. Walking for coffee in the AM and a drink in the PM was safe and pleasant. My only suggestion would be that they have : 1. outgoing mail for those wanting to send "snail mail" postcard we were told by the front desk staff they had none and 2. a hook in the bathroom to hang your clothes. AND 3. it would not hurt the front desk staff to say "hello" especially when you are staying 4 nights and are walking by 2-3 times a day. I know it is uber chick to not speak to paying guests but some are from out of state and find this very rude. Especially when guests say hello to you and get no response! Other than that we are sorry we will miss the roof top lounge but would travel here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a 3 day pass and use the train system. Brown line takes you down town and it is an easy change to get to airports. No need to rent a car. Safe even on weekends and after midnight!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago without a plan
Business
Ridgefield. Ct
Aug 18, 2012

More than the write up.

Author should update write up to include fine restaurant (1st floor) and modern roofdeck bar/restaurant (13th) Great views of city and lake. Rooms with contemporary flair, but snug for a longer stay. A little outside city in great area, and a quick trip downtown with CTA busses and trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

CTA 3-day pass. $14 unlimited busses and trains. Picked it up at the airport, took the Blueline into city. No car rental/parking fees. downtown I think a car would have been a hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cland
Business
Louisville,KY
Sep 2, 2012

trip to visit family

great location, easy to get into and find! the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wells ave. has the greatest selection of restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DustyP
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 30, 2012

Family Reunion

Very friendly staff, great location. Elevators terrible, small and slow, excessive waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top