$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Random stay

Very lively with lots of people and great staff members filled with tons of art. See full review

  • Kynkyn
  • Aug 4, 2014
Excellent Experience

The hotel was well located - (within walking distance of shopping, many restaurants and fun pubs),... See full review

  • Simon R
  • Aug 3, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg from Cincinnati
Cincinnati
Dec 3, 2012

Hotel Lincoln was a continental victory!

In Chicago for 1 night, near the Gold Coast for the album-release of a local rock sensation. 1 mile from the venue, situated in Lincoln Park, is the Lincoln Hotel. We were given a good price. The location made it easy to find. Employees exceeded expectations at every turn. We were upgraded to a suite with 2 bathrooms,we were able to check-in early, I was allowed into the rooftop bar with a footbal jersey (jerseys aren't allowed), check-out was as noon (thank goodness), and extended stay parking was granted so we could take in the local establishments. The hotel itself was clean, newly remodeled, eclectic and yet homey. We'll probably go back for some shopping and italian food. The experience was an A+++.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your smart phone's GPS to help you navigate the city. Even long-time Chicago residents and businesses seem to know little about local dining, shopping and entertainment. Also, every place in Lincoln Park is child-friendly!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie F
Green Bay
Dec 21, 2012

What a treat

For the price I paid for this hotel I was worried, but I almost couldn't have asked for more. My room was awesome; the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated and my room had a cool velvet couch that made lazy mornings/evenings very attractive. The staff at the desk and on the cleaning crew were all friendly, and the little coffee shop in the lobby was very nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good business. Overall the whole place had a boutique atmosphere that made my stay feel special. The location is maybe a little odd for tourists; there are great bus connections though, and you don't have to go far to find interesting shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't one of those "guest guide" books in the room; most amenities are not things I would want so badly to call down to the desk to ask about, but if I could look it up in the room I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Greer Chicago is a really neat little store selling cards and paper goods, right around the corner on Wells Street.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kgkt
western suburbs
Dec 24, 2012

romantic getaway

it was wonderful. food is excellent. room was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
btbefus
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 13, 2013

Great location for a conference stay

Great hotel, sweet environment, friendly staff, I enjoyed the coffee shop at the bottom of the hotel. Wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atk mom
westland,mi
Mar 11, 2013

Visiting daughter in Old Town

From the minute we walked in to the hotel we absolutely loved it! From the front desk staff, to the maid service, to the fabulous coffee shop in the lobby-we loved it all! Enjoyed the wall of ugly pictures on the staircase-somehow i think i painted a couple of them doing paint by numbers! The toiletries in the room were fabulous, my husband even asked the maid for extras. Now, lets talk about the bed. Can honestly say had 2 fabulous nights of sleep! Best bed I have slept in in a hotel EVER. Now, lastly, went to the rooftop bar which was a blast. Can't wait to go back in the summer to sit outside on the deck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend just about anywhere in Old Town

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ypres
St. Louis, MO
Apr 8, 2013

Junior Suite great for families

Families: get the junior suite! Kids' room was lovely, equipped with books, toys, coloring supplies, bunk beds, step stool in their colorful bathroom. And our room was great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Jew
Baltimore, MD
Apr 22, 2013

Very Accommodating

I am an observant Jew, and this means that I have certain restrictions on our Sabbath. Not only was the hotel nice, but the staff was very accommodating to all of my needs. The location was perfect, as well. I would recccommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dustmeg
Bloomington, Illinois
Jun 18, 2013

Great Hotel - Fantastice Location

The Hotel Lincoln is in a great neighborhood location right across the street from Lincoln Park. The hotel is unique, so if you are looking for a cookie cutter hotel, this is not for you. We stayed in a lake view junior suite...would have been nice to be a little higher to get a better view of the lake, but the view was still great. The room was good sized and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The rooftop lounge was a lot of fun. The restaurant was very nice, but a over priced. Awesome staff. This is a very easy and relaxing stay with plenty to do within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiltin2
Chicago
Jul 16, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

Great service, freindly staff, comfortable bed, and great location !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kassie07
Il
Jul 20, 2013

Very nice

Great location very friendly and a very beautiful hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search