$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
89 reviews
I can't say enough good things

Having live in Chicago about 4 years ago for more than 10 years I know Chicago very well. This... See full review

  • Mjkisala
  • Jul 17, 2014
Nice hotel

Hotel was very clean and modern staff was amazing the location was close to. Everything See full review

  • Will trip
  • Jul 11, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcanola
Miami
Nov 19, 2012

Wonderful ,,,!!!

Great location, beautiful neighbothood, nice places to go out and have dinner blocks away the hotel. The design and decoration of the hotel is beautiful. All the staff is very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Lady in a Big Town
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 3, 2013

Great Chicago Experience!

This was my first time in Chicago, and I was really thrilled by this hotel! An oasis of calm and beauty, but with easy access to everything that makes a visit special. Early morning walks just across the street in Lincoln Park (with its urban nature preserve), afternoon window shopping on surrounding side streets, evening drinks and snacks in the rooftop lounge (with amazing views of the city skyline), and (of course!) the gorgeous lake views from my room. I also loved the hotel's retro style, and the hip and helpful staff. Thanks so much, Hotel Lincoln! I'll be back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from Second City, the famed comedy club, where many SNL'ers had their start!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ragnaok
Business
DC
Jul 18, 2013

Great hotel

Minutes from everything, had a great time. Staff was nice and hotel was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Zoo, beach, baseball field, local bars

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stakacs14
Livonia, MI
May 27, 2014

Hotel Lincoln

Stayed in very unique Junior Suite. Room was great, staff very helpful. Hotel has a trendy vibe in a great, walkable neighborhood near the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey Mike Mommy
Business
San Diego
Aug 14, 2013

Great Stuff

Great Stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidden Shamrock

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie F
Green Bay
Dec 21, 2012

What a treat

For the price I paid for this hotel I was worried, but I almost couldn't have asked for more. My room was awesome; the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated and my room had a cool velvet couch that made lazy mornings/evenings very attractive. The staff at the desk and on the cleaning crew were all friendly, and the little coffee shop in the lobby was very nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good business. Overall the whole place had a boutique atmosphere that made my stay feel special. The location is maybe a little odd for tourists; there are great bus connections though, and you don't have to go far to find interesting shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't one of those "guest guide" books in the room; most amenities are not things I would want so badly to call down to the desk to ask about, but if I could look it up in the room I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Greer Chicago is a really neat little store selling cards and paper goods, right around the corner on Wells Street.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Court n Core
La Salle, IL
Oct 4, 2012

Could not have had a better stay

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, my boyfriend and I were impressed by the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff - before we had even made it inside of the hotel, we had already had a warm and pleasant conversation with both the valet and the bell hop. The bell hop specifically was wonderful - we encountered him several times throughout our stay and he was the most polite, amicable, and enjoyable staff member we have ever met at a Chicago hotel (and we stay in the city several times a year). Upon entering the hotel, I fell in love with the decor. We were greeted by Katy at the service desk, who was pleasant, sweet, upbeat and charming - we immediately felt very welcomed. The staff knew it was my boyfriend's birthday (via a twitter conversation) and they made sure to wish him a happy birthday. They also upgraded us to a junior suite. Which brings up a point I forgot - a week before we were even to arrive at the hotel, I began conversing with the hotel via twitter and the hotel was polite, excited for our stay, helpful, and answered any question I had promptly. Continuing on with our stay, we were extremely pleased with our room. It was beautiful, clean, I loved the decor, and everything about it exceeded my expectations - the bed was large and comfortable, and my boyfriend's favorite part. We will never stay at another hotel when we are in the city - we already know the best place to stay! It's a perfect location, central to a lot of things that we do while in Chicago. The Farmers Market was right across the street, our window overlooked Lincoln Park, and the rooftop lounge were all some of the things we enjoyed during our stay. The price is right for such an exceptional stay in Chicago :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kassie07
Il
Jul 20, 2013

Very nice

Great location very friendly and a very beautiful hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg from Cincinnati
Cincinnati
Dec 3, 2012

Hotel Lincoln was a continental victory!

In Chicago for 1 night, near the Gold Coast for the album-release of a local rock sensation. 1 mile from the venue, situated in Lincoln Park, is the Lincoln Hotel. We were given a good price. The location made it easy to find. Employees exceeded expectations at every turn. We were upgraded to a suite with 2 bathrooms,we were able to check-in early, I was allowed into the rooftop bar with a footbal jersey (jerseys aren't allowed), check-out was as noon (thank goodness), and extended stay parking was granted so we could take in the local establishments. The hotel itself was clean, newly remodeled, eclectic and yet homey. We'll probably go back for some shopping and italian food. The experience was an A+++.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your smart phone's GPS to help you navigate the city. Even long-time Chicago residents and businesses seem to know little about local dining, shopping and entertainment. Also, every place in Lincoln Park is child-friendly!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stakacs14
Business
Livonia, MI
Apr 14, 2014

Great in the city stay

I stayed at this hotel because it was very near a friend's home I was visiting, he lived one block from hotel. Junior Suite was very well appointed and clean. The staff was very helpful. The decor was very eclectic without being too trendy. I plan to stay again when in town soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top