$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Baseball Weekend

I was happy with the hotel we chose to stay at, from looking online to actually staying at the... See full review

  • Baseball Weekend
  • Jun 4, 2014
Hotel Lincoln

Stayed in very unique Junior Suite. Room was great, staff very helpful. Hotel has a trendy vibe in... See full review

  • Stakacs14
  • May 27, 2014
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9151 -87.6344
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Midway International Airport (MDW)
Area description
Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Hotel Lincoln is just steps away from superb architecture, boutique, food and the Lincoln Park Zoo.

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kgkt
western suburbs
Dec 24, 2012

romantic getaway

it was wonderful. food is excellent. room was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie F
Green Bay
Dec 21, 2012

What a treat

For the price I paid for this hotel I was worried, but I almost couldn't have asked for more. My room was awesome; the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated and my room had a cool velvet couch that made lazy mornings/evenings very attractive. The staff at the desk and on the cleaning crew were all friendly, and the little coffee shop in the lobby was very nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good business. Overall the whole place had a boutique atmosphere that made my stay feel special. The location is maybe a little odd for tourists; there are great bus connections though, and you don't have to go far to find interesting shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't one of those "guest guide" books in the room; most amenities are not things I would want so badly to call down to the desk to ask about, but if I could look it up in the room I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Greer Chicago is a really neat little store selling cards and paper goods, right around the corner on Wells Street.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Cool
Fairfax, VA
Dec 18, 2012

Cool place

The room was small which made me feel like I was in a European hotel. The location is excellent on the border between Lincoln Park & Old Town. The seven-block walk to the nearest "L" train station provided good exercise. The restaurant and roof-top bar are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sunday brunch was fabulous.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg from Cincinnati
Cincinnati
Dec 3, 2012

Hotel Lincoln was a continental victory!

In Chicago for 1 night, near the Gold Coast for the album-release of a local rock sensation. 1 mile from the venue, situated in Lincoln Park, is the Lincoln Hotel. We were given a good price. The location made it easy to find. Employees exceeded expectations at every turn. We were upgraded to a suite with 2 bathrooms,we were able to check-in early, I was allowed into the rooftop bar with a footbal jersey (jerseys aren't allowed), check-out was as noon (thank goodness), and extended stay parking was granted so we could take in the local establishments. The hotel itself was clean, newly remodeled, eclectic and yet homey. We'll probably go back for some shopping and italian food. The experience was an A+++.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your smart phone's GPS to help you navigate the city. Even long-time Chicago residents and businesses seem to know little about local dining, shopping and entertainment. Also, every place in Lincoln Park is child-friendly!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rcanola
Miami
Nov 19, 2012

Wonderful ,,,!!!

Great location, beautiful neighbothood, nice places to go out and have dinner blocks away the hotel. The design and decoration of the hotel is beautiful. All the staff is very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teresa R.
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 14, 2012

Funky Perfection

We loved this hotel and wished we were staying more nights. Great atmosphere, super friendly and helpful staff and our room was huge (seriously, two bathrooms? Heaven!). Loved the Lincoln Park location and even though our dog was not with us, I always appreciate a dog friendly hotel. Could not have been a better experience. I look forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desk clerk recommended DiNotto's Italian restaurant around the corner and it was fabulous!

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Chicago Visits
Washington, DC
Nov 12, 2012

Cute, but small

The rooms were small, but nice. Everything was very clean and it was great that internet was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TxStar
Austin, tx
Nov 7, 2012

Tiny room in a great location

We stayed two nights to get a feel for Chicago outside the loop, after staying 4 nights inside the loop. This hotel appears recently upgraded with pleasant interiors and finishes. However, our room was so small that the hairdryer was in a fabric bag, hanging on the only hook in the bathroom. we had to store our towels on the bed so they wouldn't get wet while showering. The coffee service took up what little hanging space there was in the closet. The king bed was comfortable, the staff was very nice and accommodating, sending the TV repairman up twice in one hour! Bus stops right outside. There is a restaurant on the property and a cute coffee shop but we walked around the corner to N--kie's which we liked. There may be larger rooms, it would be worth the up-charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RJ Grunts restaurant 2 or 3 blocks, suggested by front desk. Claim to have world's first salad bar. Good food and lively atmosphere.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cessna driver
Michigan
Nov 5, 2012

Older inner city hotel

While charming in many ways, we found the rooms very small, bathrooms even smaller and no counter top space. The in the wall heating unit made so much noise that we had to turn it off and then it allowed a very cold draft to enter the room. The unit also allowed outside noises to enter during the night. The room was clean, good shower, soft towels, and a decent mattress. Staff was very helpful and cheerful. Good restaurant but make reservations early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

About 20 to 30 minutes to walk to the Michigan Ave shopping areas.

Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
review person
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Saturday Evening

First time I have stayed here. Small but well done room, very good bed. Hotel lounge on the roof would be great in the summer. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

zoo is across the street

Back to menu Return to top