$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1816 N Clark, Chicago, IL 60614

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
106 reviews
Lincoln Hotel Stay

I booked this hotel last minute when a flight of mine was grounded in Chicago. The Lincoln Hotel... See full review

  • SirDublin
  • Mar 14, 2015
Family Trip

Great location. Great price. We would definitely stay again. It was even dog friendly which was... See full review

  • Jessica B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
The new Hotel Lincoln is a window to the most dynamic part of Chicago's North Side, Lincoln Park. Like the neighborhood, the hotel is historic yet fresh, fun though eccentric, active but relaxed. It's where the energy of urban life meets 1,200 green acres and Lake Michigan. All of which makes the Lincoln that unique place where the rhythms of a great city can be felt, savored and adopted as your own. The Lincoln's 184 rooms are classic Chicago seen through an eclectic, contemporary lens. They're on the preppy side, designed and furnished with modern and vintage details, including original art from local artists. Rooms on the highest floors - 9 through 12 - feature the hotel finest views, especially when facing east toward Lincoln Park and the lake.

Onsite parking $44.00 per night Offsite parking $25.00 per night

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Park View Room - 1 King or 1 Queen Bed
Relax amidst unobstructed views of Lincoln Park, Chicago's largest public park, including the Lincoln Park Zoo. One King or One Queen Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Guest Room - Two Double Be
Experience Chicago's local flavor with a partial or full view of the Lincoln Park neighborhood. Two Double Beds. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Junior Suite - One King Bed
One King Bed. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View - Queen Bed
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Lake View Junior Suite
Enjoy the hotel's most sweeping vistas of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space from these rooms on floors 8 through 12. Flat screen, 37" HDTVs, Views of Lake Michigan and Lincoln Park green space (60 percent of rooms), Stereo with iPod/iPad docking station, Work desks and chair, On-demand movies and music, Lather Modern Apothecary bath products, In-room safes
Standard Double
two Double Beds, work desk with free wifi, coffee, tea, and fitness center access. Each room is fully equipped with HD TV's in-room movies and games, iHome docking stations, in-room safes, iron and ironing board, and much more

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Second City: 0.5 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.7 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Opera House: 2.3 mi

Dining

Perenial Virant
Opened in May 2011. James Beard Award winning writer Mike Gebert called it, "The Best Restaurant of 2011," and Chicago Magazine called it "a damn good restaurant." Chef Virant was nominated for Best Chefs Great Lakes at the James Beard Awards in 2011, was named Food and Wine's Best New Chefs 2007, and has appeared on Iron Chef.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie F
Green Bay
Dec 21, 2012

What a treat

For the price I paid for this hotel I was worried, but I almost couldn't have asked for more. My room was awesome; the whole hotel is very stylishly decorated and my room had a cool velvet couch that made lazy mornings/evenings very attractive. The staff at the desk and on the cleaning crew were all friendly, and the little coffee shop in the lobby was very nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be doing a good business. Overall the whole place had a boutique atmosphere that made my stay feel special. The location is maybe a little odd for tourists; there are great bus connections though, and you don't have to go far to find interesting shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't one of those "guest guide" books in the room; most amenities are not things I would want so badly to call down to the desk to ask about, but if I could look it up in the room I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Greer Chicago is a really neat little store selling cards and paper goods, right around the corner on Wells Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron C.
Business
N/A
May 3, 2015

Just Depends on What you Like

Good location. Next to Lincoln Zoo and park. Near business district. Staff courteous. Rooms extremely cramped. Don't know how they put a king size bed in the room. Ran into bed frame several times. No closet space. Small bathroom. Restaurant was expensive and not to my taste. I prefer meat and potatoes. New age feel to premises and cuisine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SirDublin
Business
Puyallup
Mar 14, 2015

Lincoln Hotel Stay

I booked this hotel last minute when a flight of mine was grounded in Chicago. The Lincoln Hotel was in a prime location and offered everything that a smart person would expect from a hotel - and it even looks quite stylish, inside and out. The room was smaller but, let's face it, when I travel I spend very little time hanging out in the hotel. Besides, I only paid about 100$ for the room. Again, there were lots of great shops, parks, restaurants, pubs, bakeries/cafes, and so forth all within short walking distance. The doorman provided me with some great hidden gems (non-tourist places) to check out. All in all, I would certainly stay at the Lincoln again in the future. Cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica B.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Family Trip

Great location. Great price. We would definitely stay again. It was even dog friendly which was really cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeVonna F.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

In City Getaway

Can you say, "interesting?" Hotel Lincoln is definitely that...interesting. It's different, in a good sense. From the moment you walk in the lobby, you think...interesting. Wonderful staff, from the front desk to valet-very accommodating. The rooms, well....New York small-bathrooms even smaller! Other than that and Chicago overpriced parking rates, no complaints. I woke up to a great Lincoln Park view (and Lake Michigan). Be sure to check out the Rooftop. No worries, it's enclosed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeVonna F.
Business
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

In City Getaway

Can you say, "interesting?" Hotel Lincoln is definitely that...interesting. It's different, in a good sense. From the moment you walk in the lobby, you think...interesting. Wonderful staff, from the front desk to valet-very accommodating. The rooms, well....New York small-bathrooms even smaller! Other than that and Chicago overpriced parking rates, no complaints. I woke up to a great Lincoln Park view (and Lake Michigan). Be sure to check out the Rooftop. No worries, it's enclosed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fly away Jay
Business
Oregon
Nov 22, 2014

Great place, nice location

Only prob was had to pay for Internet. Other than that great area. Lots near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leland Stanford Jr
Business
Palo Alto, California
Oct 23, 2014

Perfect for 1st Time Visitors

The hotel is less than two miles from downtown and near the lake in the fantastic Old Town/Lincoln Park neighborhood. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a great experience for a 1st time Chicago visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy live comedy, visit Second City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utopia007
Business
Chicago, Illionis
Oct 4, 2014

Great spot to visit Old Town

Great night, great service, great location, If you want a nice boutique hotel in a great part of Chicago you have found it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To all Bars, Comedy club, cure hangover by walking around the Zoo grounds in the Morning !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cazguy
Business
Madison County, New York
Sep 24, 2014

Great location, great staff.

This was my wife's and my 4th stay at the Hotel Lincoln since we were guests the first week they were open. The staff as usual were wonderful from housekeeping through the front desk and the bell men. The location is great, right across the street from Lincoln Park and the Saturday morning farmers market. The only negatives that I have to report were a bed that bothered both our backs, and an AC unit that didn't AC. This is the second time that I've experienced that problem at the hotel. The hotel is pet friendly, check for drawer of dog biscuits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel coffee shop is great, and the street behind the hotel has 2 more great breakfast locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lincoln a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessabeth
Business
Queens, NY
Sep 19, 2014

Amazing Hotel

The staff were beyond helpful and such a pleasure to deal with. The rooms were cozy and clean. And the location was perfect. Absolutely will stay there again on my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lincoln Park Zoo across the street is free- and definitely worth checking out. The beach is also a great place for a picnic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top