$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

3 stars
1244 North Dearborn Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Excellent Unique Experience

All of the rooms have a unique look. They're very stylish & colorful. Nice location near the mag... See full review

  • Cam19
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great Chicago Hotel

The Hotel Indigo was small enough to feel like a B&B but large enough to have all the amenities we... See full review

  • Anne T.
  • May 28, 2013
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast - The newest member of the InterContinental Hotels Group family. Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet, Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, Starbuck's coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly, and has numerous amenities for your travel companions, so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

41.9054 -87.6304
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 16.10, MI; Midway International Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Second City: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.1 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • City Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Macys: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.6 mi
  • State Street: 1.6 mi
  • Opera House: 1.6 mi

Dining

1244 Bar and Bistro
1244 Bar and Bistro offers American comfort food with local flavors. It serves breakfast and dinner. The restaurant is available from Mon Fri 6am11am for breakfast and Sat Sun 7am to noon. Dinner hours are from 5:30pm to 10pm everyday of the week.Room ser
1244 Bar
1244 Bar is located at the lobby level on the first floor of the hotel to the right as you enter the front doors. It is a fun, social bar environment open weekdays Sun-Thu 5pm-10pm and weekends Fri-Sat 3pm-noon. It features seasonal cocktails, beer and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cam19
Chicago
Aug 9, 2014

Excellent Unique Experience

All of the rooms have a unique look. They're very stylish & colorful. Nice location near the mag mile as well as north ave beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meggie May
Michigan
Jul 9, 2014

DO NOT USE THE PARKING STRUCTURE!!!!

Over all it was a good stay. The bed was very lumpy. I will not go back if I have a car. The parking was horrible for in and out. It took a good 20 minutes EVERYTIME. I even asked our last evening at 11pm, if they could have the car ready at 7am-and needless to say if wasn't-again a 20min wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cambridge Don
Cambridge
Jul 6, 2014

Friendly staff, great location

Having stayed here twice, I look forward to returning. The hotel is on a quiet side street, but very close to everything, from restaurants to the subway (Red Line). Saturdays, just around the corner, is an open-air market. It's hard to believe how much is going on within a block. Staffers are accommodating and professional. The room was small, but well maintained. The only issue is with the AC, that kicks on now and then and can be a little noisy. But who spends all the time in a hotel room when there's so much going on?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't have much luggage, take the subway (Blue Line, then the Red Line (three stops after you get on).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asian Retiree
Fremont, CA
Apr 20, 2014

Good and safe hotel

Close to EL Clark/Division station (5 minutes walking). Felt safe. Room is small. No complimentary breakfast. Grocery Jewel Osco is next to EL station. Will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jewel Osco for grocery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
In town traveler
Chicago, IL
Mar 17, 2014

Not good for respiratory issues.

The room was comfortable, but there was a significant leak in the front entry of the hotel and the hall on the fourth floor smelled like mold. I was scheduled to stay two nights, but decided to leave early due to the moldiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rixeem01
Business
Minnesota
Dec 16, 2013

Not what I was expecting

I checked into this hotel expecting that it would be a great stay- good location, rooms looked nice, etc. What I was not expecting was no off street parking, no parking ramps nearby, and when I asked the lady at the front desk for parking suggestions her reply was "I don't drive" so she couldn't help. I was tired, and it was late, so we ended up utilizing the valet next door, which is $45 for an overnight! We then tried to check in and found that the hotel had cancelled my reservation, as my credit card had been declined when I initially reserved my room online. The hotel however, did not notify me that my card had been declined and I had received an email reservation confirmation, only to arrive and find out I had no room! The front desk, to their credit, quickly rectified the problem and gave me a room. I dropped off my things in my room and came back later that night after dinner to watch a movie. As I settled in, I heard someone at my door and the next second someone was opening the door! The man opened the door (which had been locked but not deadbolted) stuck his head in, and he apologized and closed the door without an explanation. I ran to the peep hole and saw him duck into the elevator. I quickly went down to the hotel lobby and explained to the front desk what had happened, and the lady at the front apologized and said that she had not given out any other keys to the room. I described what the man looked like and she told me it sounded like an employee (who apparently didn't feel the need to tell the front desk or let me know what exactly they were doing peeking into occupied rooms?). She gave me a new set of keys and I asked her to let me know when she talked to the employee whether or not it was in fact him. For peace of mind, I expected she would follow through. I went back to my room and the lady at the front desk called to ask if I had gotten in with the new keys, which obviously I had, and I asked if she had talked to the employee. She told me that he "wasn't here". I replied, "So, let me get this straight. An employee keyed into my room, ran into the elevator, and then fled the hotel?" Doesn't sound like an employee to me! She then explained he wasn't at the front desk, to which I asked if she could then contact him, as they all had walkie talkies. She then told me she could not help me and hung up. About an hour later, ANOTHER person tried to key into my room, and this time the door was bolted and the key card did not work. I ran to the peephole and a different man was leaving my door and heading to the elevator. Needless to say, the front desk never called me to let me know about either incidents, and never apologized or offered compensation. The hotel was not clean either- I woke up the next morning and found that my shower had mold on the ceiling, hair on the floor and the upon opening the closed toilet seat, found hair as well. The comforter on the bed, when pulled back, had deep colored, large stains in multiple places. If the customer service at the hotel wasn't already horrific enough, the unsanitary conditions certainly pushed this hotel over the top for me. I sincerely hope that you would consider another hotel nearby before this one. I stay all over the country in many different IHG family hotels and this is by far the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cassandra84
Ohio
Dec 1, 2013

Great location, great staff, needs a little work

I want to start off by saying that the staff at this hotel is excellent. They are friendly, accommodating, and efficient. The hotel's in a great location too -- really near all of the State St. & Rush shops and very close to Michigan Ave, but it's in a really pretty residential area so it's quiet. That being said, the rooms themselves could use some work, particularly the bathrooms. We liked the wood floors, which feel cleaner and more modern, but there were tufts of hair floating around when we checked in. And the corners of the green shag area rug were curled in--that rug had definitely seen better days. The tile in the shower was actually gross. It needs to be re-tiled asap. I felt like I might get some sort of fungus from it. And the wallpaper behind the sink was very dirty--I imagine it's years of toothpaste, makeup, etc. stuck to it. I would stay here again thanks to the location (I have family who lives about a block away), the staff, and the price, but I really hope they freshen up the bathrooms at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Birmingham, AL
Nov 14, 2013

Great time in Chicago

Convenient to transportation, surrounded by lots of good restaurants, the Hotel Indigo suited us very nicely. The room was small, but it worked well for our purposes. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant was good, but there are dozens of restaurants two blocks or less from the hotel with a variety of prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheesehead Traveler
Wausau, Wi
Oct 28, 2013

Getaway weekend

The location was within easy walking distance of the Hancock building. Beautiful area of older but well kept townhouses. The hotel is decorated in a Florida Keys theme with bright beach colors. While the room was clean and comfortable, it needed to be updated. When traveling to Chicago, I'd prefer decor fitting to the location and age of the building with a retro feel for the 1920's and 30's. With no carpet in the room, and only one rug, the floor was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Indigo CHICAGO DOWNTOWN GOLD COAST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyches
San Jose, CA
Sep 30, 2013

College Reunion

Six of us stayed at the Hotel Indigo. We have stayed at this same location when I was under another name. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The rooms are comfortable, but need some updating. The location can not be beat! It is right around the corner from Division and Rush Streets. There are restaurants, taverns and bars a very, very short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search