$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gibby5
Family
Hilton, NY
Apr 21, 2010

Great service and location

This Homewood Suites Chicago is just one block off Michigan Ave. close to many great restaurants and shopping. It is also just 2 blocks from the CTA Grand Ave station making it easy to get to by train from Midway and O'Hare. The location is also in walking distance to many other popular areas and attractions. It's also very easy to get a taxi outside the front door when you want it. The complimentary breakfast buffet every day was so appreciated with our family of five and nothing was lacking. We even enjoyed the complimentary dinners for two nights which are catered by local restaurants. The staff were always welcoming, helpful and knew us by name. The suite was perfect for our family and we enjoyed the heated indoor pool and the views from the pool deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased City Passes online and really enjoyed every attraction included. The savings and special treatment using the City Pass were appreciated too.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kansas City Missouri
Apr 13, 2010

Great location and views

This was our first family vacation and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The hotel was great. We would definitely stay there again! We walked all over Chicago and enjoyed all the sites and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Rochester, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Home Sweet Homewood in Chicago

We stayed for (5) days with our 18 yr old son and we were sorry to have to leave. The staff was so friendly and helpfull and the hotel so well cared for and managed that we could have happily lived there! It is conveniently located , no matter which sites you plan to enjoy (only a 12 minute walk to Navy Pier), surrounded by excellent restaurants/ shopping and only a 1/2 block from a full a service grocery and the entrance to the Red Line train of the "L".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The complimentary breakfast and light evening meal were a handy, tasty way to save time and money. It allowed us to go to nicer, more expensive eateries while out in the city.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tampa, FL
Mar 15, 2010

AMAZING!

Most amazing stay ever. Went to Chicago on spring break and couldn't have been happier! The staff, hotel and location were all amazing. Free breakfast AND dinner Monday-Thursday. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great Hotel....rip off parking

Wonderful hotel.....will go back long as I don't need a car and only have to work downtown. Parking fees of $42 per night are outrageous taking away the value we felt we got with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunda.....great restaurant

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect for family get away

We went to Chicago for a quick visit right before Christmas and found this hotel to be perfect. From O'Hare airport, we were able to take the subway into donwtown, transfer once and then walk one block to the hotel. Once there, everything we wanted or needed was either within walking distance or easily reached by public transportation. It was wonderful to have full kitchen facilities, a roomy and separate sitting area, an indoor pool and breakfast buffet each moring. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. It made for a great holdiay visit and one we hope to repeat in the years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pentastar1
Friends
rockford IL>
Dec 6, 2009

great weeekend getaway

great hotel and great location. walking distance to major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street from nordstroms and a mall.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony & Olga
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 30, 2009

Great Hotel for the price & location

We were very surprised to get such a good rate for a hotel this good in downtown Chicago! I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shopping on Mich Ave or the clubs on Rush.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
columbus, ohio
Nov 29, 2009

convenient to shopping

all in all, no problems. Was very busy and stressed morning breakfast. but was okay. Very convenient to the El.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Nov 9, 2009

Nice and Convenient

We had tickets to see a show, and Homewood was recommened by some friends. It was easy to get to from the interstate and a short walk to the theater. Walking back after 11:00 pm was safe. The staff was helpful pointing out plenty of good places to eat very near the hotel. We spent the next day shopping on Michigan avenue, also a very short walk away. I was worried when we got the room closest to the elevator, but we didn't hear anyone the whole time we were in our room. Room was great, with a full kitchen, living area, and a separate bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Three days including a show, shopping, and a visit to the park without needing any car, cab, or transportation other than shoes.

Back to menu Return to top