$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location, Very Family Friendly!!!

We arrived early at 10am (check-in is at 4pm) and they immediately had our room ready and our luggage taken up. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful with directions, hailing cabs, and offering suggestions for restaurants (with giving us coupons!!) The pool was awesome as it is on the top floor (19th floor) and my 7 year old daughter thought that was just totally cool! Even though it was very chilly in the windy city, we had a blast and would recommend to anyone that this hotel is amazingly priced, well located between everything, and had a nice hot buffet breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Weber Grill was fantastic, the hotel even gives you a coupon for a free kid's meal. However, I will definitely make reservations otherwise you will have to wait about an hour to be seated.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Jan 22, 2011

The Absolute Best Experience

Our experience at this hotel was nothing short of perfect...from allowing us early check in to late check out. We used to live in Chicago and planned this weekend to visit with all our old friends. Not only were the rooms spacious (we entertained 9 friends,) but the hotel brought us extra chairs to accomodate "our guests". It was like entertaining at home, except for the clean up..haha. We were made to feel very comfortable and truly,have NEVER had such a pleasurable hotel experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a mall and several restaurants within 2 blocks - an unbelievable "plus" when it is was 12 degress outside! The "Red Line" train was 2 blocks away as well, allowing us to get ANYWHERE -- took it to China Town and Wrigley Field

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Jan 3, 2011

Had a great time.

No grand entrance lobby must allow this hotel to give great perks, such as free breakfast and dinner (free wine and beer) with every nights stay. The room was updated,clean,spacious and the hotel is a great central location. The employees I interacted with were very pleasant and helpful. A downfall would have to be that the elevators were the slowest I have seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love authentic Italian and Quartino's fits the bill perfectly, can be done affordably or extravagantly.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS,LA
Dec 14, 2010

great price, great location,great hosts!

m

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SB, IN
Nov 14, 2010

Convenient location

Many good restaurants within steps, as well as shopping...we were able to walk to Chicago Theater with the good weather...always a plus when breakfast is included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uhclem
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 4, 2010

Great hotel for families

Hotel is in a great location near the Mag Mile. It offers many perks for families, including a great breakfast buffet and dinner/drinks on weeknights. Service was solicitous and genuine, and the prices were very competitive with nearby properties. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Chicago with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sable is a hip gastropub with a great cocktail list. Shaw's is spendy but a fantastic seafood experience.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Great Chicago Hotel!

Great hotel...highly recommend it! Sidenote...had issues with American Airlines. Fly Southwest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see an improv show at the iO in Wrigleyville (just about a block from the field). Hillarious and cheap!

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcmani mom
Business
denver, co
Jun 14, 2010

Great value, Nice people.

Perfect location for an impromptu reunion with friends from all over the country. The bell hops in the lobby were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little busy, but plentiful and good. Nice to have full refrigerators, and the suite set-up worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KCMO
May 18, 2010

Great service and location

We arrived early to Chicago, the hotel immediately began to accommodate us with friendly service. Everyone was kind, friendly and willing to help my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gibby5
Business
Hilton, NY
Apr 21, 2010

Great service and location

This Homewood Suites Chicago is just one block off Michigan Ave. close to many great restaurants and shopping. It is also just 2 blocks from the CTA Grand Ave station making it easy to get to by train from Midway and O'Hare. The location is also in walking distance to many other popular areas and attractions. It's also very easy to get a taxi outside the front door when you want it. The complimentary breakfast buffet every day was so appreciated with our family of five and nothing was lacking. We even enjoyed the complimentary dinners for two nights which are catered by local restaurants. The staff were always welcoming, helpful and knew us by name. The suite was perfect for our family and we enjoyed the heated indoor pool and the views from the pool deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased City Passes online and really enjoyed every attraction included. The savings and special treatment using the City Pass were appreciated too.

Back to menu Return to top